PDA

View Full Version : VOIP8551B/36 - Where are the other country codes?



CRMX
01-02-2013, 01:23 PM
Hi,
I am a frequent traveller staying abroad in different countries for extended periods of time. I just bought a VOIP 855 set to use with Skype. Set up was very simply but I am unable to set up the country I am currently in. The country list in the manual is quite extensive, however the list on the handset is limited to NL, NO, SE, BE, DK & FI only. I bought the phone in Belgium, but cannot believe that I would not be able to use it in Germany or UK. When I choose belgium and take the phone abroad it only wants to use the Belgian international country code and since I cannot change to anything else than the 5 countries listed on the handset I cannot use it when travelling to other countries. How can I override the country code list that is pre-set on the handset to something else than the 5 countries in the list?

Suggestions?

Thx!

juju
04-04-2013, 09:37 PM
Hi,
I am a frequent traveller staying abroad in different countries for extended periods of time. I just bought a VOIP 855 set to use with Skype. Set up was very simply but I am unable to set up the country I am currently in. The country list in the manual is quite extensive, however the list on the handset is limited to NL, NO, SE, BE, DK & FI only. I bought the phone in Belgium, but cannot believe that I would not be able to use it in Germany or UK. When I choose belgium and take the phone abroad it only wants to use the Belgian international country code and since I cannot change to anything else than the 5 countries listed on the handset I cannot use it when travelling to other countries. How can I override the country code list that is pre-set on the handset to something else than the 5 countries in the list?

Suggestions?

Thx!

No suggestions for solutions unfortunately, but a comment:
I bought mine on amazon.uk and it was shipped by a German company called sotel. It has countries such as the UK, Germany and France, but not your Belgium or The Netherlands, the latter bieng where I live! Some weird policy of Philips?

Brian_M
10-31-2014, 09:28 AM
OK so this is a configuration issue. It is not a Firmware issue, becuase this would mean separate Firmware releases for "Northern Europe" "Southern Europe" etc.
My 855 has Firmware v66.26 Skype 1.10.847 which is the latest release, but it only offers me Switzerland, Turkey, Austria, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Portugal, Spain.
Now, someone in Philips will know how to program the unit to select a different region.
The question is, will they appear here, and let it be known?

Brian_M
10-31-2014, 11:09 AM
OK, just had an extended online chat with Philips. There are several discrete models, designated by the /nn suffix.
I have a /26 which appears to be Turkish in origin, the /36 appears to support Nordic countries only.
The /05 version is for UK & ROI
Although there will be a manufacturing option to set this "region" it isn't obvious in the service manuals, so looks like a dead end.
And in that respect, we should watch out for Microsoft with their acquisiation of Skype - they are not renowned for maintaining support for "out of date" hardware...