PDA

View Full Version : Cannot stream foto's or music from PC tot TV



walter van thienen
01-06-2013, 10:08 PM
Hi all,
I recently purchased a 37PFL4007H/12 TV which is connected with a HDMI cable to a HD TV decoder from Belgacom for the TV programs and connected with a PTA01 wireliess USB adaptor to my home network (a Belgacom B-Box2 modem/router). I have also a video recorder connected with a SCART cable and a DVD player connected with component video cable. Everything works fine. TV programs are received without problems. I can go to internet and use the apps. Video recorder and dvd player work as espected.
Last week I installed the advised Twonky media server on my PC (which I downloaded from the Philips support site from my TV) in order to stream photo's, music and films from my PC to the TV. My PC is also connected wireless to the Belgacom B-Box2 modem/router. When I entered the My Network function of my TV, the TV did not find any media server on my home network. The TV keeps on searching. The problem remains the same when I installed Twonky media server also on my laptop.
So, my PC and TV seem to be correctly connected to my home network, because both can access internet via the modem/router. But, the media server on my PC is not found by my TV.

Then I tried to ping from my PC the TV URL address. This didn't work! I received a time-out. I'm able to ping my router.
Disabling the firewall on my PC didn't help.

Is there someone who can provide help? I'm out of ideas.

Walter

robertdemuynck
01-07-2013, 09:25 AM
I have had a similar problem. One of the problems I found, was to switch off "AP isolation" in my wireless router. This enables wireless devices to see each other on the network. This also solved the problem that the MyRemote iPad application would not see the TV.

walter van thienen
01-07-2013, 08:49 PM
I have had a similar problem. One of the problems I found, was to switch off "AP isolation" in my wireless router. This enables wireless devices to see each other on the network. This also solved the problem that the MyRemote iPad application would not see the TV.

Thanks Robert for your advise. I checked my router which is a Belgacom B-Box2), but there is nothing which indicates "AP isolation" or "client isolation". Your suggestion is however very useful, because I do think this is the problem. When I was trying to ping my laptop, also this didn't work. So, it seems that all traffic between the devices connected to my home network is blocked. And because the router is in between, the problem sits there.
I will contact Belgacom to figure out how to de-activate the client isolation on there router.

Thanks again for the new idea!
Walter

chrisham
01-07-2013, 08:52 PM
On my wireless router (Fritz!Box), there is an option to 'Let connected wireless devices communicate with each other'. It was off by default with my router - most likely for some sort of security reason.

Perhaps your router has a similar option, which also needs to be manually enabled?

walter van thienen
01-07-2013, 09:19 PM
On my wireless router (Fritz!Box), there is an option to 'Let connected wireless devices communicate with each other'. It was off by default with my router - most likely for some sort of security reason.

Perhaps your router has a similar option, which also needs to be manually enabled?

Thanks Chrisham, I thaught the same, but cannot find such option. I contacted Belgacom support and will post also the result on this site. It might help other people as well.
Thanks again,
walter

walter van thienen
01-08-2013, 09:03 PM
Belgacom support seems not to be very supportive. They told me that they do not handle such problems.
Anyhow I try my luck via Belgacom BBOX2 forum.
If someone knows how to get this damned BBOX2 modem/router to support a home network, don't hesitate to tell!
Walter