PDA

View Full Version : TIPS: on “Philips server not found, please try again later”



Philips - Mark
01-07-2013, 04:07 PM
Our products follow (UPnP (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Plug_and_Play)) standard. Most consumers are not aware of all the complex technology required to set up an optimized internet connection.
They just hook-up in their network and it works.

What if you are stuck in the “Philips server not found, please try again later” error message on TV or BluRay player when accessing Smart TV?

TIPS:

First install the latest software on your device.
Go to website WWW.P4C.Philips.com
Search for the type number of your device.
Check if there is a newer software version than the one in your device.”
(For 2010 TV see exception here (http://goo.gl/W70ey))


If the software of your device is up to date and you still cannot connect, try all possible reset options via the TV's menu;

- Clear Net TV memory (2009 TV’s) Clear Apps memory (2010 & 2011 TV’s) or clear Internet Memory (2012 TV’s).

- Reset to factory defaults

- Reinstall TV.


If that did not bring result; `

Change settings for “Dynamic IP” into “Static IP” or vice versa in your TV (or Bluray player).
These settings can also be adapted in your router and need to be aligned with the TV settings.

If still no results in connecting to Smart TV:

Adapt the “Maximum transmission unit” in your Router.
Read more about this on Wikipedia here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maximum_transmission_unit).

Find an example on Tweaking MTU settings in this YouTube video:here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-1p3hZeGpA)

Do the MTU ping test: here (http://help.expedient.com/broadband/mtu_ping_test.shtml)

If you Google on “Router MTU settings” or you search this in YouTube, you will find many examples how to do this for various brands of routers.

bogdyss
01-08-2013, 10:15 AM
Hi Mark,

My Philips machines are: TV 40PFL9705H/12 and BDP5200. They both works fine with the SMART TV until the last update 000.140.048.000 for the TV. Now, after this update, the TV won't connect to the SMART TV. No problem at all for the BluRay Player. Both are connected on the same router (like all other gadgets in my home).
I've tried the downgrade procedure for the TV, the problem is that 000.140.034.000 firmware is not recognized by the TV.
I've tried changing with the Static IP , reinstall the TV, clearing the Net TV memory ... the only message received is “Philips server not found, please try again later”. When changing to Static IP, I was able connecting and passing the step with the Registration ... but no Icons on Smart TV, only the blue screen. I found also that the TV is not detected by the Philips MyRemote installed on my IPodTouch (again, no problem for the BluRay to be detected) ... not detected by the Wifi MediaConnect installed on my laptop ...

I feel like I'm the only one having this issue with the SmartTV on my TV and I don't know what I'm doing wrong ... Please help ...

Philips - Mark
01-08-2013, 03:00 PM
The software downgrade will be the solution for your 40PFL9705H/12 TV.
Try this:
Unzip the 140.34 software file at the bottom of this (https://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20120516113411_130.138.227.53&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=32PFL9705H/12&dct=FAQ&refnr=0092846&ctn2=Q551.1ELA&faqview=1) side.
Take a USB memory stick.
Create a directory called “upgrades” on this stick.
Put the *.UPG file, that you retrieved from the ZIP file, in the “Upgrades” directory
Insert the stick in the TV.
Via the menu of the TV choose: Setup – Software – local software upgrades.
Now select the software file for upgrading.

bogdyss
01-08-2013, 03:10 PM
Hello again Mark,

Thank you for your replay!
I will try again your procedure even if I'm sure that I've already done this before (creating the 'upgrades' folder inside the USB disk) ... and I'm also sure that the TV still not finding the 'autorun.upg' file ... But, who knows, maybe I'm wrong ...
I'll let you know tonight if it's working or not.

Toengel
01-08-2013, 03:20 PM
Hi,

always use a USB stick - not a USB HDD... the smaller the USB stick, the better... format with FAT...

Toengel@Alex

bogdyss
01-08-2013, 03:43 PM
Hi,

always use a USB stick - not a USB HDD... the smaller the USB stick, the better... format with FAT...

Toengel@Alex

Hello Toengel,

Thank you for the replay.
I was wrong writing 'USB disk', you're right ... I've never used a HDD disk ... Maybe I will use the same USB memory stick I've received with the 3D transmitter (I suppose that one is 'small enough').

bogdyss
01-08-2013, 04:34 PM
The software downgrade will be the solution for your 40PFL9705H/12 TV.
Try this:
Unzip the 140.34 software file at the bottom of this (https://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20120516113411_130.138.227.53&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=32PFL9705H/12&dct=FAQ&refnr=0092846&ctn2=Q551.1ELA&faqview=1) side.
Take a USB memory stick.
Create a directory called “upgrades” on this stick.
Put the *.UPG file, that you retrieved from the ZIP file, in the “Upgrades” directory
Insert the stick in the TV.
Via the menu of the TV choose: Setup – Software – local software upgrades.
Now select the software file for upgrading.

Hello Mark,

As I told earlier, I've just tried your procedure for the downgrade. NOT WORKING! I've done step-by-step what you sugested ... same EMPTY folder ... I've tried with two different memorya sticks, one at 2GB and the other was the one I've received with the 3D transmitter ... firmware not recognized by my TV ... any other sugestion please ?!?