PDA

View Full Version : PFL8605 and HTS 7140 undefined



Cabbina
02-09-2011, 08:19 AM
Hello,
i've got a trouble with HDMI connection between TV PFL8605 and HTS 7140. When i try to connect to the amplifier tv says that the tv speakers are active and i cannot use the amplifier.
I've tried to reset tv but the connection doesn't work well, when i make the automatic device search The HTS is not recognized on HDMI ARC but on an undefined channel.

I've added the device manually and i can see the hts menu on screen but i cannot use easylink and the sound seems to don't work on HDMI.

How can i fix it?


EDIT:

It seems like the Audio Return Channel (ARC) doesn't work
Is there a way to try it?

Nettle
02-09-2011, 08:56 PM
Have you connected the HDMI Cable of the SOundbar to the HMDI 1 ARC connector of the TV?

I've got a Philips soundbar too and, after the connection to the HDMI 1 ARc connector, the HTS5120
is recognized immediately.

Have you activated the EasyLink function in the SetUp menu?

regards

Cabbina
02-09-2011, 10:05 PM
Hi Nattle,
yes i've connected to the HDMI1-ARC, i've bought tv and soundbar 1 month ago and until yesterday everything work fine.
Yesterday i've changed the option Easylink>TV Speakers from Easylink to Easylink Autostart and now it doesn't work. I've tried to change back the option but it still doesn't work.

I've tried also to change the cable... i don't know what else try

Regards

Toengel
02-10-2011, 07:39 AM
Hi,

everytime I switch off my TV and BDP via the main switch my easylink connection is lost, too. It takes several days! that my system is fully recovered...

Toengel@Alex

Cabbina
02-10-2011, 09:36 AM
Hi Toengel,
thank you for information.

Today i've understood that the problem is in the TV option and exactly in the Easylink mený!
I'm sure that the problem concern the TV Speakers option, i've used the soundbar with a music CD and i've tried to switch between the two options "Easylink" and "Easylink Autostart" and it works: i can listen the CD either from tv speakers or from amplifier or from both.

Now i've to understand why it doesn't work with the HDMI-ARC source instead of the CD source, when i've changed source the amplifier was mute...

Nettle
02-10-2011, 10:53 AM
Hi Cabbina,

suggestion: have you tried to upgrade the firmware of your soundbar to the latest verison?

It needs a USB key and a couple of minutes for it.

regards

Cabbina
02-10-2011, 10:59 AM
Thank you for suggestion but i've already updgraded to the latest firmware.

Regards

Nettle
02-10-2011, 12:03 PM
Ok. regards

jielse
03-15-2011, 03:09 PM
Hi,

I have te same configuration (PFL8605 and HTS 7140) using the HDMI-ARC and most of the time it works well, i.e. it switches to the external speakers (soundbar via HDMI-ARC). However, in between (too often) it doesn't start when switching on the TV or if I played e.g. radio when I started the TV, I need to manually select the external speakers (or actually switch back and forth) to get the TV sound via the external speakers.

I had the problems with earlier version, but I see that V51.1 for 7140 even made it worse.

regards

Cabbina
03-15-2011, 03:26 PM
Thank you Jielse,
i've solved reseting the TV and the Sound Bar. I've pulled out the power cable for an hour and then i've restored the tv to the factory settings. Now the problem is that i cannot turn on the soundbar using the speakers menu but i've to turn on the soundbar selecting one of his function, the dvd reader for example, and then come back on the tv channel.

Nettle
03-15-2011, 04:45 PM
..........

jielse
03-16-2011, 08:00 AM
Hi Cabbina,

Good it works, but sounds not really user friendly to always use a workaround like that.
I have a iPhone docking station for the 7140 and when I play music from an app streaming from the internet, the are no sound. Then I toggle the auto volume on-off on the 7140 and normally the I get sound. At least it worked better before V51.1. Will take it with the local support and see what they suggest.

regards

Nettle
04-28-2011, 11:01 PM
I've solved the issue: the TV was not recognized via HDMI for the following reason:
inside the Setup menu of the HTS7140 there's the "Easylink section", the last line is the "Mapping audio inputs" and you have to scan all the connection available between the TV and the sound bar.

In that menu there was nothing indicated.
I've started the scan and the TV has found the HDMI ARC connection available.

Now I switch on/off the TV and the soundbar switchs on/off by itself (there's no need to use 2 remote controls anymore watching the TV).

Tomorrow I'll test the TV+soundbar in order to verify if the sound drop issue occurs!

regards

Cabbina
04-30-2011, 05:12 PM
The issue is back. I've told you that i've solved the problem but few days ago it's back: the TV doesn't recognize the sound bar.

I've tried also to set the "Mapping audio inputs" but nothing.

I'd try to make an hard reset but i don't know how...

fkoehn
09-29-2011, 10:27 AM
Exactly the same issue here:

- updated both Philips TV and HTS 7140 (both brand new...) to latest firmware
- activated EasyLink
- mapped audio inputs (HDMI ARC)

And it`s still not working (it did initially).

Do you need a special HDMI cable to make ARC work?

Very disappointed.



The issue is back. I've told you that i've solved the problem but few days ago it's back: the TV doesn't recognize the sound bar.

I've tried also to set the "Mapping audio inputs" but nothing.

I'd try to make an hard reset but i don't know how...

fkoehn
09-29-2011, 10:32 AM
OK, something I just discovered: in order for ARC to work it seems you need a HDMI 1.4 capable cable (defined in spring 2010), otherwise the audio back channel may not be supported.

Frank.

Cabbina
09-29-2011, 12:40 PM
OK, something I just discovered: in order for ARC to work it seems you need a HDMI 1.4 capable cable (defined in spring 2010), otherwise the audio back channel may not be supported.

Frank.

Thank you Frank but i've always used HDMI 1.4.

I've finaly solved the problem, i use a little trick that always works:

When the TV doesn't recognize the soundbar, i turn off the electrical panel of my entire home for 30 seconds. When i turn on the power the TV and the soundbar works again.

Don't ask me why, i don't know. Remove the electric plug it isn't enough.
I've discorvered this trick accidentally.

fkoehn
09-29-2011, 12:54 PM
Sorry, but that's really not an option. This needs to work consistently, otherwise I'd rather get something from a different manufacturer that does.




I've finaly solved the problem, i use a little trick that always works:

When the TV doesn't recognize the soundbar, i turn off the electrical panel of my entire home for 30 seconds. When i turn on the power the TV and the soundbar works again.

Cabbina
09-29-2011, 01:27 PM
Sorry, but that's really not an option. This needs to work consistently, otherwise I'd rather get something from a different manufacturer that does.

In effect if i could turn back time i'd change manufacter...

avnoorel
10-26-2011, 06:39 PM
Hello,

My 40PFL9705 and my Yamaha RX V667 AV Receiver have a similar problem. I can't get a sound signal through the HDMI connection. The coaxial digital signal works fine but there's no respons when connected only by HDMI.

I use HDMI1.4 cable, latest firmware of the TV, all possible settings but never any sound.

I'll try the Philips helpdesk soon, maybe they can help.

B|G1
11-07-2011, 06:38 PM
Double post

Nettle
11-07-2011, 09:22 PM
Hello,

My 40PFL9705 and my Yamaha RX V667 AV Receiver have a similar problem. I can't get a sound signal through the HDMI connection. The coaxial digital signal works fine but there's no respons when connected only by HDMI.

I use HDMI1.4 cable, latest firmware of the TV, all possible settings but never any sound.

I'll try the Philips helpdesk soon, maybe they can help.


I have the same problem with my Philips 55PFL7606 and receiver Onkyo TX-NR709. :-( Optical cable works but not HDMI 1 ARC

Have you checked if your devices (Yamaha and Onkyo) are HDMI 1.4 or 1.3?
In the second case iit could be a problem: the 9705 and the 7606 are HDMI 1.4.

Before the actual HTS7140 (HDMI 1.4) I had a HTS5120 (HDMI 1.3) PHilips soundbar with issues regarding the HDMI ARC recognition.

regards

B|G1
11-07-2011, 09:28 PM
OK, something I just discovered: in order for ARC to work it seems you need a HDMI 1.4 capable cable (defined in spring 2010), otherwise the audio back channel may not be supported.

Frank.

HDMI 1.3 and 1.4 cables are the same. As long as you can play 1080p you have a "high-def" cable.

Nettle
11-07-2011, 09:38 PM
I was thinking about it too.

In my case the HTS5120 (1.3 hdmi) soundbar was giving me sound drop issues with my 1.4 hdmi TV.

regards