PDA

View Full Version : TV is intermittently loosing sound



nemesis53
03-03-2011, 06:26 PM
Hi there. I'm from Turkey.

I have 32PFL5405h/12 tv and my TV is intermittently loosing sound when you connect an external device via HDMI. I use ps3 and pc connection via hdmi and both of them having this issue every 10-15 minutes for 4-5 seconds. This is really annoying. It's a brand new tv (purchased on 02.18.2011) and latest firmware installed (140.029).

I looked at the changelog and this problem claimed to be fixed with the 140.027 version. What is the problem should i return my tv?

Thank you.
---------------------------------------------------------
140.32 installed.

Uptade 6:

Today i tested 2 movies in a row (total: 210 mins). NO DROPS! I think philips solved hdmi issue on the 5000 series wih 140.32. I wish they fix other series too soon. Best regards.

Uptade 5:

Last 2 days i have tested 3 different ps3 games (DMC4,PES11,NFS) at least 4 hours for each (it was Fight Night Champion before). AND NO DROPS!! This means F.Night has a bug (i found a few complains about this game too. Even non-philips tv owners having this issue) but one of the forum members marcus stll having this problem with his AVR via HDMI. Now i'll test PC to HDMI sound. And sorry for the wrong alert.

Uptade 4:

Third sound drop after 28 minutes again.

Uptade 3:

Second sound drop after 20 minutes again (Still testing).

Uptade 2:

First sound drop after 2 hours of playing (Still testing).

Update.1:

I'm trying 140.32 now (with a ps3 connected via hdmi). It has been 60 minutes still no problem with the sound. I'll test it more tomorrow.

Toengel
03-03-2011, 07:50 PM
Hi,

wait for firmware 140.32 which will (hopefully) be released soon...

Toengel@Alex

nemesis53
03-03-2011, 08:51 PM
Tnx.
i hope so.

Nettle
03-03-2011, 09:31 PM
Hi there. I'm from Turkey.

I have 32PFL5405h/12 tv and my TV is intermittently loosing sound when you connect an external device via HDMI. I use ps3 and pc connection via hdmi and both of them having this issue every 10-15 minutes for 4-5 seconds. This is really annoying. It's a brand new tv (purchased on 02.18.2011) and latest firmware installed (140.029).

I looked at the changelog and this problem claimed to be fixed with the 140.027 version. What is the problem should i return my tv?

Thank you.

Dear Nemesis,

welcome in the DPU: "Disappointed Philips Users" club.

Same issue of mine with my Soundbar via HDMI or via SPDIF.

regards

nemesis53
03-04-2011, 04:18 PM
Dear Nemesis,

welcome in the DPU: "Disappointed Philips Users" club.

Same issue of mine with my Soundbar via HDMI or via SPDIF.

regards

So you're saying this problem is permanent? Even after so many software updates?
I didn't expect from philips such thing. I wish i have bought samsung.

Toengel
03-04-2011, 06:47 PM
Hi,

a few minutes ago, firmware 140.32 has been released for 5000, 6000 and 7000 series... try that one...

Toengel@Alex

markus
03-04-2011, 09:52 PM
140.32 does not fix the problem.

JJones
03-04-2011, 10:20 PM
So you're saying this problem is permanent? Even after so many software updates?
I didn't expect from philips such thing. I wish i have bought samsung.

I posted a Topic "I will never again purchase another Philips product!" My tv has been broken since the day I bought it, I have been on the phone, writing emails, posting blogs on their Facebook page, for over a month about my issue. Philips has bugs with their tv's, they have horrible customer service, and the 1 year warranty is worthless due to all the bull crap you have to go through and the hoops you have to go through for this company. Take a look at my post and see all the stuff I have gone through for just a Trailing/ video issue with my tv! I wish I would have bought a samsung!

JJones
03-04-2011, 10:23 PM
Yea they told me a software update would of fixed my issue too, it didn't! Then they wanted to blame the settings on the tv, that was not it either. Then they wanted to blame the connection type to the tv, that was not it. Then they blamed it on the main board in the tv, that was not it. It is the crapy product that they are pumping out and not taking credit for!

JJones
03-04-2011, 10:25 PM
Dear Nemesis,

welcome in the DPU: "Disappointed Philips Users" club.

Same issue of mine with my Soundbar via HDMI or via SPDIF.

regards

I would like to be voted in as president of the "DPU"!

nemesis53
03-04-2011, 10:47 PM
I'm trying 140.32 now (with a ps3 connected via hdmi). It has been 60 minutes still no problem with the sound. I'll test it more tomorrow.

billbond4
03-07-2011, 09:17 AM
I have the the firmware on my TV for over a week and havent noticed any sound drops (32pfl5405h/05)

Fan_TV
03-07-2011, 12:03 PM
I have 32PFL5405h/12 tv and my TV is intermittently loosing sound when you connect an external device via HDMI. I use ps3 and pc connection via hdmi and both of them having this issue every 10-15 minutes for 4-5 seconds. This is really annoying. It's a brand new tv (purchased on 02.18.2011) and latest firmware installed (140.029).


I have the same problem with PeerStation SIG220, media player Fantec MM-FHDL and other devices...
My TV is 46PFL9705H/12
FW: 140.029...

Philips
03-07-2011, 01:26 PM
Hi all,

Software 140.32 for the 5000, 6000, and 7000 series is available .
This version will also address the "audio loss" issue.

Software 140.32 upload for the 8000 and 9000 series will start soon.

Nettle
03-07-2011, 04:33 PM
I'm not saying that the problem is permanent.

I'm telling that I'm experiencing this problem since my purchase of a 37 PL 8605 M/08 (end December 2010): in the meantime I've installed the 140.29.0.0. fw release and the sound loss problem wa not solved.

I'm waiting for the next 140.32.0.0 fw release.

regards

Fan_TV
03-07-2011, 05:07 PM
I'm not saying that the problem is permanent.

I'm telling that I'm experiencing this problem since my purchase of a 37 PL 8605 M/08 (end December 2010): in the meantime I've installed the 140.29.0.0. fw release and the sound loss problem wa not solved.

I'm waiting for the next 140.32.0.0 fw release.
regards

I'm happy for you.
But I have this problem with my 46PFL9705H/12.

Sir_Four
03-07-2011, 05:09 PM
nemesis53, Nettle, Fan_TV and others
Please test this file (14 Mb) with and without Home Theatre System through HDMI ARC or COAXIAL digital sound output.
http://slil.ru/30498543

140.32.0 installed

When I'm playing this file by TV internal player I have loosing sound every 2sec or less with HTS and no problem without it.

How about you?

Toengel
03-07-2011, 05:14 PM
Hi,

what HTS do you have?

Toengel@Alex

Sir_Four
03-07-2011, 05:19 PM
that is not important. it's not HTS problem
100%

but Sony BDV-E 870 in my case

please, just try and lell me about test result

Toengel
03-07-2011, 05:21 PM
Hi,

works perfect on my 58PFL9955H/12

Toengel@Alex

Sir_Four
03-07-2011, 05:24 PM
Toengel
did you play it by tv internal player with using HTS as sound system only?
did you connect HTS through digital out?

Sir_Four
03-07-2011, 05:26 PM
may be 9000 is rather better than my 7000 in that case

Toengel
03-07-2011, 05:35 PM
Hi,

I played with internal speaker and coax out. MKV was on USB-HDD directly connected to TV...

Toengel@Alex

Sir_Four
03-07-2011, 05:38 PM
ok, thx

now it would be usefull to see xxPFL7605H results

nemesis53
03-07-2011, 07:39 PM
Last 2 days i have tested 3 different ps3 games (DMC4,PES11,NFS) at least 4 hours for each (it was Fight Night Champion before). AND NO DROPS!! This means F.Night has a bug (i found a few complains about this game too. Even non-philips tv owners having this issue) but one of the forum members marcus stll having this problem with his AVR via HDMI. Now i'll test PC to HDMI sound. And sorry for the wrong alert.

zupft
03-08-2011, 10:36 AM
If you use the digital receiver from cablecom you should also consider to change it to the digital recorder. Cablecom has confirmed that their digital receiver has audio drops and they offer now the digital recorder for the same price to solve the problem! http://www.digi-tv.ch/cablecom/7023-tonausfall-bei-cablecom.html

Before I had the Philips repair partner in Switzerland (Setronics) let exchange the tv mainboard. After the problem still persisted I brought the 46pfl7605back to the repair center. They checked it and didn't find a problem. They suggested to check my hdmi cables and the digital box. Although this didn't work for me I finally could solve the problem with the firmware Q5551_0.140.27.0.

markus
03-08-2011, 11:06 AM
zupft, I'm using the TV's internal DVB-C decoder with CI+ card. I bought the card in order to get rid of all those external boxes that cause trouble. I thought problems would be minimized if one single device controls all functions from receiving to decryption to decoding to HDMI output.

BaYRoLeX
03-09-2011, 06:26 PM
Firmware 140.32 is installed and i still have sound lost with HDMI connection. I'm very disapointed with this TV. 42PFL7695 From TURKEY

nemesis53
03-09-2011, 10:02 PM
Firmware 140.32 is installed and i still have sound lost with HDMI connection. I'm very disapointed with this TV. 42PFL7695 From TURKEY

Which devices are you using?

shankly1985
03-09-2011, 11:07 PM
Installed yesterday, not had one problem since :) am happy

BaYRoLeX
03-09-2011, 11:27 PM
Which devices are you using?

with this receiver. it works ok when try different TV via hdmi.

https://www.teknolojix.com/images/urun_ozellik_resim2/uydu%20sistemi/Seoul_X3_1.jpg

Nettle
03-14-2011, 09:51 AM
nemesis53, Nettle, Fan_TV and others
Please test this file (14 Mb) with and without Home Theatre System through HDMI ARC or COAXIAL digital sound output.
http://slil.ru/30498543

140.32.0 installed

When I'm playing this file by TV internal player I have loosing sound every 2sec or less with HTS and no problem without it.

How about you?

Dear Sir_Four,

is not necessary to test your file. The sound loss happens to me with every DVB-T / video file pleayd on the TV with the Soundbar switched on via HDMI or SPDIF.....and the Soundbar that I have is a Philips HTS5120.

Unacceptable and shameful.
I could understand a different soundbar model (incompatibility could happen for other vendor's models) but not a PHILIPS Soundbar!

regards