PDA

View Full Version : BDP5100 Subtitles are incomplete (.mkv)



karun
03-21-2011, 11:57 AM
Hi!

I own a bdp5100 and its great. I had some issues with FW (now i have 1.31) but now i have another one.

SUBTITLES!

When i start a film(.mkv) and press the button subtitles on remote it works great. The problem that i'm from Slovenia where we use (đščćž) and those letters are not there. Sometimes the whole word is gone!? I tried to go to Tools and set it on Central Europe (because that works fine with other files) but there is no button.

So what do i have to do to make it work?

Im sure there are other people that share this same issue.

Ty

Toengel
03-21-2011, 12:10 PM
Hi,

see this FAQ for the BDP9600 - I think it will also apply to your Player:

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=EN&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20101209040434_146.140.8.46&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=BDP9600/12&dct=FAQ&refnr=0070396&faqview=1

Toengel@Alex

Carin
03-21-2011, 03:20 PM
hi again karun

is your subtitle file an original one?
you know i have a bdp5100, and i try to play slovak subtitle and it seemed quite well...

ok have to admit i don't know slovak/ slovene or more languages with similar names... but can you check?


http://www1.picturepush.com/photo/a/5300929/img/5300929.jpg
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/5300962/640/5300962.jpg
http://www5.picturepush.com/photo/a/5300978/img/5300978.jpg

so if your file is not an original one. solution is easy. just try download it from different source. that helps i guess.

karun
03-22-2011, 03:24 PM
Hi! Tnx for responding.

How do i know if the subtitles are original or not? I download subtitles from www.podnapisi.net.

When im not playing. Mkv file i can choose character set on Central Europe and then subtitles work properly.

Tnx again for the help
Cheers

Toengel
03-22-2011, 03:27 PM
Hi,

you are saying, that you are not able to change character set when playing MKV? Or did I miss something?

When you are playing a MKV you should be able to change the character set via option menu button... or?

Toengel@Alex

karun
03-22-2011, 09:15 PM
Yes you understood me right. When i play a normal xvid (.avi) i press tools and i can choose character set. But when i play hd movie (,mkv) and press tools there is no option for character set.
Should it be there?

Ty

Toengel
03-23-2011, 08:10 AM
Hi,

since I don't have any MKV with subtitles I cannot test...

But maybe the BD forum moderator could say something about that...

Toengel@Alex

christopher
03-25-2011, 09:58 AM
I dont have any MKV file with subsitles also...
My practice is to download a MKV and also download the subtitle file (.srt) of that particular movie. and then rename them with the same name: e.g.kungfupanda.mkv; kungfupanda.srt and then the file will be played with the correct subtitle.

You may also choose the language of subtitle to download... so for you slovenski?

karun
03-25-2011, 10:53 AM
Tnx for responding.

The problem is not that my player wont play the subtitles. That works fine. The problem is that the subtitles wont show me any č,ž,š,ć,đ. When i play a normal xvid movie i can choose character set and set it on Central Europe, but when i play .mkv(HD) file i cannot choose character set. There is no option for that.

Is that a firmware mistake or the player doesnt have that option for .mkv ?

Nice day

Toengel
03-25-2011, 12:25 PM
Hi,

since it is implemented, i think it is e error in the firmware...

Toengel@Alex

Toengel
03-26-2011, 09:38 AM
Hi,

I checked it on my BDP9600 - the character set option is not available with MKV files. So I think, htis is a bug...

Toengel@Alex

Carin
03-28-2011, 03:42 PM
Hi Karun,
can you see these č,ž,š,ć,đ missing when watching a blu-ray disc?or it's just missing when you have that particular mkv file? to my understanding, yes, for the avi file, you can see the subtitle with the file per se. but when it's mkv, you wont have the option of subtitle.it's made that way. (let me know if my understanding is incorrect) subtitle is usually an external one. so it depends on what languages you download and if that subtitle file is completed (so depends on your source)

i have a bdp5100 with v1.53 firmware and when i had avatar blu-ray disc, i can see Slovak as shown in the pic above.
so, i think it s likely to be just that particular file prob. what do you think?

Toengel
03-28-2011, 03:46 PM
Hi,

I think it is the following problem:

- AVI + SRT -> option menu -> character set option IS available
- MKV + SRT -> option menu -> character set option IS NOT available

Toengel@Alex

Carin
03-28-2011, 04:13 PM
Hi Toengel,

I see. What you have descried is true for my BDP5100 as well. Never thought this is a bug, thought it is made this way... anyway, Philips moderator has to clarify on this. :)

Thanksss.
Best regards, Carin

Philips
04-01-2011, 12:38 PM
Dear customers,

Thanks for informing us about your product issue.

We hereby confirm that the issue “character set option IS NOT available in the option menu for MKV“ is valid and hence will solve this problem in our next firmware release.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Toengel
04-01-2011, 01:11 PM
Hi,

that is fantastic!

@All

We HAVE the possibility to do something!!! And Philips acknowledge that!

Toengel@Alex

stoyan89
04-05-2011, 02:09 AM
Hi,
It's great that this issue will be solved, but I have another problem with the same player (FW: 1.53). It can't load subtitles (external, .srt, same filename as video) to a video streamed over DLNA and for some reason .mkv files don't appear when browsing my PC. Is it even possible to load external subs to streaming videos?

Thanks.

quapor
04-07-2011, 09:26 AM
I have a BDP5180 and have the same problem
MKV + SRT -> option menu -> character set option IS NOT available

Toengel
04-12-2011, 05:35 PM
Hi,

just installed firmware 1.56 on my BDP9600.

MKV+SRT -> option menu -> character set option IS AVAILABLE

@all
Can you verify that on your (different) players?

I think, we all together did a great job! THANKS ALL!

Toengel@Alex

quapor
04-25-2011, 04:17 PM
I'm still waiting for new version firmware, actual is V1.54 for bdp5180 and V1.53 for bdp5100

iacant
06-30-2011, 10:58 PM
We have the same problem with our soundsystem HTS9140 and you still didn't answer us...
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?1022-Philips-HTS9140-Subtitle-issues&p=8742#post8742

Dear customers,

Thanks for informing us about your product issue.

We hereby confirm that the issue “character set option IS NOT available in the option menu for MKV“ is valid and hence will solve this problem in our next firmware release.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

stoyan89
06-30-2011, 11:25 PM
Dear customers,

Thanks for informing us about your product issue.

We hereby confirm that the issue “character set option IS NOT available in the option menu for MKV“ is valid and hence will solve this problem in our next firmware release.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

This problem is still not resolved for the BDP5100/12. Are you planning to release a firmware update soon?

Andrija32
08-14-2011, 09:38 AM
I just upgraded my player to new 1.57. Caracter set still not available. My problem is little diferent, I'm trying to use caracter set with .mp4 file.

kwinnie
08-15-2011, 06:53 AM
is that a different problem? any one tried with .mp4 ?

Toengel
08-15-2011, 07:15 AM
Hi,

i think the Firmware hasn't enabled the "characters set" option for all kinds of file extensions... From my side, this is a bug ^^

Toengel@Alex

kwinnie
08-15-2011, 07:17 AM
let me try somewhat later today.
i m downloading one, (.mp4+srt)

by the way, i tried mkv... it works...

Toengel
08-15-2011, 07:24 AM
Hi,

MKV + SRT was fixed with the latest firmware... before the option was also missing...

Toengel@Alex

kwinnie
08-15-2011, 09:09 AM
hi toengel,
yes i know that s missing before and am glad that we can finally play it back.

hi all,
i have tried a mp4 +srt file.
it does work on PC but it doesn't works for the BDP5100. maybe you check your device as well, maybe for more devices, this is not supported...

Andrija32
08-16-2011, 07:06 PM
Maybe it would be easier for users to set in some general divix subtitles options character set. I am using CE character set and i have to set it up for every movie.

quapor
09-30-2011, 08:30 AM
I'm still waiting for new version firmware, actual is V1.54 for bdp5180 and V1.53 for bdp5100
where is firmware upgrade for the BDP5180 ?
six months and nothing new