PDA

View Full Version : PFL865M/08 + HTS7140: sound drop issue happens or not?



Nettle
03-31-2011, 04:41 PM
Dear all,

this afternoon Philips Customer Sevice has called me: in order to solve the sound drop issue of my PFL8605 M/08 TV + Philips soundbar mod. 5120, they are proposing me to change my actual soundbar with the model HTS7140 with no additional costs.

This bring me to a conclusion: actually there're no solution for the sounddrop issue with my actual HTS5120. :-(

Has someone else experienced such substitution? Was it a good solution? Or does the sound drop still occur?

They've told me that Philips has internally tested the HTS7140 with my TV and they've experienced no sound drops via HDMI or SPDIF.

On the other side, if I remember well, there was someone with complaints regarding the missing recognition of the HTS7140 from my TV model. Isn't it?

Are you aware if some Philips users are complaining the sound drop issue?

Thanks a lot for the feedback. Regards

Nettle
04-01-2011, 11:08 AM
No one???????

regards

Jomsp
04-20-2011, 12:57 PM
If you Google, you'll see that the problem of "sound drop" is very common, and other brands that are not Philips.

Probably it is a problem between different versions of HDMI firmware on one or other device.
Does that explain why some will pass and not others?. I guess.

Nettle
04-28-2011, 03:49 PM
I've just received the HTS7140 soundbar from Philips technical center (in substitution of my HTS5120), I've activated all the necessary Easylink menus (as made in the past with the HTS5120). I've updated the soundba fw release too.

The TV screen shows the message:"Trying to connect to the external device" but after 2 second a new message appears:"Operation not successfull, internal TV speaker active".
Between the Audio source available (Aux, SUB, Disc, Coaxial, etc..), the HDMI is the only one that is not dsplayed.
The HTS7140 has got even the HDMI ARC 1.4 as the TV so it should work.

Regarding the sound drop issue, Philips has proposed me to substitute the HTS5120 with the "powerful" HTS7140 and is not possible to connect it at all.

I'm very very disappointed.

Please give me a tip in order to solve this shameful behavior.

Thanks a lot, regards

Toengel
04-28-2011, 03:55 PM
Hi,

delete all entries in the Home menu. Switch hard off both devices. Switch on TV (wait until boot process has finised). Start up HTS...

Toengel@Alex

Nettle
04-28-2011, 04:41 PM
Dear Toengel,

I've tried the suggested steps and I had no results.

Same messages:

"..trying to connect to the external device"

but after 2 second a new message appears:

"Operation not successfull, internal TV speaker active".

I'm so disappointed!

Toengel
04-28-2011, 08:01 PM
Hi,

I think this can be fixed be changing some easylink options... what is your easylink audio setting?

Toengel@Alex

Nettle
04-28-2011, 08:42 PM
Dear Toengel,

I've put:

1) Easylink --> ON

2) Remote Control Easylink --> ON

3) Speaker TV --> Automatic Easylink

4) Pixel Plus ---> ON

5) HDMI 1 ARC --> ON

What else?

regards

Toengel
04-28-2011, 09:08 PM
Hi,

I would suggest to test all options under 3)...

Also you can set up the TV speaker sound via the adjust button (|||)...

Toengel@Alex

Nettle
04-28-2011, 09:21 PM
Hi,

I would suggest to test all options under 3)...

Also you can set up the TV speaker sound via the adjust button (|||)...

Toengel@Alex

I've solved the issue: the TV was not recognized via HDMI for the following reason:
inside the Setup menu of the HTS7140 (not the setup menu of the TV) there's the "Easylink section", the last line is the "Mapping audio inputs" and you have to scan all the connections available between the TV and the sound bar.

In that menu there was nothing indicated.
I've started the scan and the TV has found the HDMI ARC connection available.

Now I switch on/off the TV and the soundbar switch it on/off by itself (there's no need to use 2 remote controls anymore watching the TV).

Tomorrow I'll test the TV+soundbar in order to verify if the sound drop issue occurs!

regards

Toengel
04-29-2011, 07:26 AM
Hi,

Excellent!

Toengel@Alex

Nettle
04-29-2011, 11:13 PM
I've tested the soundbar HTS7140 several hours today: no sound drops at all!

The reason of the osund drops was the old soundbar HTS5120.

Seems to be that my problem is solved at the end.

Kind regards

Lech1
05-09-2011, 07:27 AM
I have similar issue, however with no soundbar but with Philips satellite receiver DSR 6201. There are no issues when connected via HDMI to 46PFL8605 but there are sound drops when connected to 32PFL5405. Both TV's are 2010 models and have the newest software. I wonder, what the inconsistency on Philips's side in implementation of HDMI standard.

Nettle
05-09-2011, 08:03 AM
I have similar issue, however with no soundbar but with Philips satellite receiver DSR 6201. There are no issues when connected via HDMI to 46PFL8605 but there are sound drops when connected to 32PFL5405. Both TV's are 2010 models and have the newest software. I wonder, what the inconsistency on Philips's side in implementation of HDMI standard.

Have you sent a complaint to the Philips Forum Moderator?

regards

Lech1
05-09-2011, 01:23 PM
Just advised him about the issue. Rgds.

Nettle
06-29-2011, 12:20 AM
Have you received feedbacks on your topic?

regards

damir
07-31-2011, 01:42 PM
Hi all,

I have the same problem but I my LCD TV doesn't support easylink (altough it is in Setup menu and it is turned on) and I don't know what do to here. On both devices I have the newest firmware. When I do than audio scan on my Soundbar it offer me everything except Easylink.

And also I can't find out what would be best connection between LCD TV, Soundbar and Set Top Box ScenGate 8000 (Albis technologies). Between STB and TV I must have HDMI cable because via SCART picture is to bad. So now I need best possible connection for all 3 devices.

At the moment I have audio (chinch) cables connected from Soundbar to STB. But as I said i have hugh sound drop issue. First few months everything was workin fine but now sound drops after 5, 10 or even 30 minutes. But it drops every time for sure.

Any ideas?

Br,

Damir.

damir
07-31-2011, 01:43 PM
Hi all,

I have the same problem but I my LCD TV doesn't support easylink (altough it is in Setup menu and it is turned on) and I don't know what do to here. On both devices I have the newest firmware. When I do than audio scan on my Soundbar it offer me everything except Easylink.

And also I can't find out what would be best connection between LCD TV, Soundbar and Set Top Box ScenGate 8000 (Albis technologies). Between STB and TV I must have HDMI cable because via SCART picture is to bad. So now I need best possible connection for all 3 devices.

At the moment I have audio (chinch) cables connected from Soundbar to STB. But as I said i have hugh sound drop issue. First few months everything was workin fine but now sound drops after 5, 10 or even 30 minutes. But it drops every time for sure.

Any ideas?

Br,

Damir.

I forgot to mention. TV is Phillips 26PFL3403D/10 and Soundbae is Phillips HTS5110/12