View Full Version : philips mcm309r

06-19-2013, 04:53 PM
My system is sbout 4-5 years old and player #3, top right, won't play, it sometimes spins and skips to player #4, or spins and gives error #2 or 3. I've tried cleaning the lense to no avail, anyone else have this problem. I'd just buy a new one, but they're $60 more than 5 years ago for a discontinued model!

06-21-2013, 12:06 PM
hi massoman, this looks like a mechanical issue rather then a problem with the lens. i would probably try to take it to the repair service so they can have a look for you.

Philips - Katerina
08-24-2015, 08:49 AM
Hello participants of the thread and forum members in general!

Hopefully your issue was dealt with and you are no longer facing it. Since the thread has been silent for some time now, I will proceed by closing it. If you still have the same question about the same issue or any similar issues arise feel free to start a new thread or contact one of us moderators to open this thread again.

Kind regards
Philips Katerina