PDA

View Full Version : Log-on problems (very slow/impossible)



Jan Mensink
04-03-2011, 01:33 PM
We have a 32PFL9705 since Novemeber 2010. The first month NetTV worked very well. The logon to the Philips server was fast and we could enjoy the applications.
Since a few weeks the logon is very slow and sometimes impossible. Then we get the message "Philips server not found, try later". The strange thing is that when we try immediately after this message we get from time to time connection with the server.
Installation of the latest firmware for our set did not solve the problem.
Has anyone the same problem or does anyone know what is going on?

Jan Mensink
32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)

Toengel
04-03-2011, 02:33 PM
Hi,

maybe you should try to delete your Net TV memory. Maybe it could help...

Toengel@Alex

Jan Mensink
04-04-2011, 10:07 AM
Hi Alex,

Thanks for the advice, but I did delete the NetTV memory already, without any success.
I get the impression that the Philips server is sometimes overloaded, which is the reason that the logon is slow and sometimes impossible. But as said in my original message immediately after the "Philips server not found" message the logon is can be successful.

Jan Mensink
32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)

JohnnyQ
04-04-2011, 03:22 PM
I wonder if there changed something in your network. Did you change firewall settings?
Do you use it wireless, is the wifi signal strong enough?
When connected wired: When you see the loading icon and no progress, unplug the network cable from the TV and put it back immediately, you see the wizzard-pages coming by (1, 2, & 3) and then it usually connects.

Jan Mensink
04-11-2011, 10:04 AM
Hi Johnny,

Thanks for the reaction.
Since the original installation of the 32PFL9705H nothing was changed in any setting.
As said the first months NETTV worked perfectly fast and well. I have a cabled connection to my router and also tried the wireless, without any difference. The signal strength ok, maximum, and the speed 65Mps.
I also tried unplugging the wired cable and then it works but next time I have the usual problems.
I also get now from time to time message that I have to switch-off/on the set, but also this does not give a permanent solution.
Our computers connected to the router all work fine.
I also tried to connect directly to our glassfiber modem, so without any router in between. Also this did give a fast connection as we enjoined originally.

Toengel
04-11-2011, 10:43 AM
I also tried to connect directly to our glassfiber modem, so without any router in between. Also this did give a fast connection as we enjoined originally.

Hi,

so something with your router seems to be the problem... did you update your router?

Toengel@Alex

Jan Mensink
04-12-2011, 10:25 AM
Hi Alex,

Thanks for the advice.
In the meantime I also contacted Philips NetTV and Philips Service is going to analyse and log the problem in my home.

Jan Mensink
32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)

canzeber
05-31-2011, 07:48 PM
We have a 32PFL9705 since Novemeber 2010. The first month log cabins for sale (http://www.fallcreekland.com/) NetTV worked very well. The logon to the Philips server was fast and we could enjoy the applications.
Since a few weeks the logon is very slow and sometimes impossible. Then we get the message "Philips server not found, try later". The strange thing is that when we try immediately after this message we get from time to time connection with the server.
Installation of the latest firmware for our set did not solve the problem.
Has anyone the same problem or does anyone know what is going on?

Jan Mensink
32PFL9705H/12 (Q551-0.140.32.0)


I have the same issue with service in the mountains where I live

Toengel
05-31-2011, 07:50 PM
Hi,

you can try to unplug and plug again the ethernet cable... maybe also a newer firmware helps...

Toengel@Alex

daL
05-31-2011, 10:14 PM
Jan, we experience exactly the same delay on our pfl7605h (latest firmware). We watch NetTV on a daily basis and since a few weeks it is very very slow. There is nothing wrong with our cabled network. Just did a test:

1. Turn on TV
2. 24 seconds later: sound & vision
3. Select NetTV, after a few seconds progress bar appears
4. 196 seconds later: progress bar disappears, advertisement is being loaded
5. 16 seconds later: advertisement has been loaded: NetTV ready to use

4 minutes load time is not a good user experience

After temporary disconnecting the cable and a cold boot, I repeated the test. Same results.

(BTW, we live in the same flat country as yourself...)

bta
07-10-2011, 08:43 PM
Hi Everybody,

I've just use measured the time between selecting NetTV in home menu until NetTV home is ready with a watch:
1 minute and 45 seconds - that is s***.

I use NetTV most likely to "surf" arround while the TV programm is interruped with commercials, but when it takes near 2 minutes to start NetTV there is no fun in unsing NetTV.

Philips if you want that users have fun with NetTV please improve the log-in time (this includes the time that is needed to load the advertisement at the NetTV pages).

I add this poll
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?1901-evaluate-NetTV-time-for-ready-to-use&p=9003&viewfull=1#post9003
(http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?1901-evaluate-NetTV-time-for-ready-to-use&p=9003&viewfull=1#post9003) to gather your feedback.

regards
bta
(40pfl7605h at 140.37)

Toengel
07-11-2011, 07:41 AM
Hi,

I have some similar problems with my Cinema. However, my problem is sometimes also the network connection. You can find my whole story at (sorry German only): http://58pfl9955.wordpress.com/2011/07/06/mein-philips-cinema-219-58pfl9955h12-geht-auf-reisen/

Toengel@Alex

Huub
07-30-2011, 03:50 PM
Hi Toengel,

I've read your story on your homepage. I have two questions:
1) Your TV is still out for repair?
2) Is it certain that the problem is software related?

Greeting,
Huub

Toengel
07-31-2011, 10:05 AM
Hi,

the technicans told me that Philips has "found" the issue and it's software related and they will work on it to release a new firmware for that issue. Since I'm on holidays I havn't received my TV back...

Toengel@Alex

Huub
07-31-2011, 03:51 PM
Hi Toengel,

Thanks for your answer.
Enjoy your holiday :-)

Huub

smart
08-05-2011, 01:22 PM
I had a similar problem as Toengel described. On my side, they exchanged the mainboard and this gave a significant speed up in performance to start-up NetTV. Also I do not see the step 3 screen for logon purpose. NetTV feels also to be a little faster. Videociety startup is also much faster.

smart
08-05-2011, 01:23 PM
Before this mainboard exchange, I also have to wait, sometimes retry because server was not reachable. Now it starts much faster. Also IP-EPG is much faster.

bta
08-05-2011, 08:50 PM
Hi smart,

nice to read - which FW runs on the exchanged board.
Is it 140.039 or is it a older one?

Lets have a look how long this improvement will stay.

regards
bta

smart
08-06-2011, 08:05 AM
Firmware is: 0.140.39.0. This was already preinstalled before it was put into the TV. I did not have to update.

HaraldvanDriel
08-06-2011, 09:39 AM
Hi,

I have the same issue. I got my TV in March and initially NetTV was accessible and quick, but now I can only login 1 out 10 times with a long login period. As a result i am considering to no longer us it!

I hope Philips fixes this issue since it is unacceptable!

smart
08-06-2011, 10:03 AM
It was the same on my side. It took 12mins to see the NetTV Apps screen the first time after starting the TV. Several retries to load it. Is was unusable, because it was too slow and sometime did not start/find the Philips server.

Replacing the mainboard helped for my TV. Not sure what the real root cause is. Might be several root causes leading to the same issue or just a combination of particular hardware/software combinations.

kembser
08-23-2011, 06:39 PM
Hi,

I had exactly the same problem on my 37PFL7605/H12. I contacted Philips Support here in France. Today a service guy came to change the mainboard. Firmware is 000.140.39.0, but Standby firmware changed to 84.64.1.0. NetTV and IP-EPG are working quickly now, like they did some months ago. :cool:

Huub
08-26-2011, 04:26 PM
Dear all,

Yesterday I updated my TV with Firmware version 000.140.040.000.
Guess what? The NetTV problem is solved!
For all the people from this forum who put some effort in this: Thanks!

Best regards,
Huub

HaraldvanDriel
09-06-2011, 09:57 PM
All,

Philips provided me with version 140.040 to tackle the NetTV login issue. As Huub already indicated this version has addressed the issue for our 7605 series TV. It is not yet available for the 7000 series on the support site but if you log a case you will get it through support.

Toengel
09-07-2011, 07:39 AM
Hi,

it is already available on the support websites for 7000 series...

Toengel@Alex

mratfeld
09-20-2011, 07:20 AM
Downoaded 140.040 for 9000 Series - 46PFL9705K/02 with same issue. Prolblem was fixed immediatly :)
Just wondered why the new firmware didn't show up when i was trying to update via network connection.