PDA

View Full Version : Feature request: Headphone volume controlled via remote control buttons



AndresG
04-18-2011, 11:42 AM
Hi,
My model: 40PFL7605H (last firmware upgraded).
Headphone volume level can be set via a menu option, but it's "statically" set; with this I mean.. after setting volume level in TV menu (with 2 o 3 steps :( ),after plugging headphones on, audio is ok, but is impossible to control volumen,ie, you cannot change volume "dinamically" on headphones using remote command buttons (+ volume, - volume). Only option is to go again to menu/options/..
So, this is annonying!. Think about it.. you're watching a TV show or a movie, and audio suddenly increase or decrease, and you cannont change it :(:(:(

I would like to know if maybe this can be enhanced by Philips, maybe with a future firmware release, or if this is 'as is' and it will never change. ..

carlosfm
04-18-2011, 02:26 PM
For me, it's ok as it is.
As my Philips 37PFL7605H/12 doesn't have line outputs (!!!), either by RCA or through any of the SCART plugs, the only way to connect the TV's analog audio output to my stereo system is through the headphone out, which I have at exactly mid level.
No sound drops BTW, and it sounds much better than I expected. It's a Hi-Fi source, really.

Please Philips, don't remove the option to have the headphone output statically configured, otherwise the TV doesn't have a line output.
Even my almost 20 years old Philips CRT had line outputs through the SCART plug...

AndresG
04-25-2011, 08:59 AM
Hi carlosfm,
I don't understand your point. What I am asking for is the possibility to increase or decrease headphones volume using remote control buttons. If you're using your headphone output to connect your stereo system, you could continue to use it this way, but as well as you can increase/decrease volume in your stereo, you could also increase/decrease volume using TV remote control...So, I don't really understand the problem and I think it would be a nice feature to have in our TVs

carlosfm
04-25-2011, 06:34 PM
Hi carlosfm,
I don't understand your point. What I am asking for is the possibility to increase or decrease headphones volume using remote control buttons. If you're using your headphone output to connect your stereo system, you could continue to use it this way, but as well as you can increase/decrease volume in your stereo, you could also increase/decrease volume using TV remote control...So, I don't really understand the problem and I think it would be a nice feature to have in our TVs

I need a line output, which means fixed volume.
I have it connected to my system and of course when the system is playing I reduce the volume of the TV to 0.
Do you see the problem?
I need to be able to mute the TV speakers, without muting the headphone output. They are independent now, and it's ok for me.

I wouldn't need the headphones output IF the scart plugs had audio output. In the schematic they have (pins 1, 3 and 4 - Audio out right, left and audio ground), but no sound comes out of it.
This is an issue, I will open a thread about this.

AndresG
04-26-2011, 08:47 AM
I need a line output, which means fixed volume.
I have it connected to my system and of course when the system is playing I reduce the volume of the TV to 0.
Do you see the problem?
I need to be able to mute the TV speakers, without muting the headphone output. They are independent now, and it's ok for me.

I wouldn't need the headphones output IF the scart plugs had audio output. In the schematic they have (pins 1, 3 and 4 - Audio out right, left and audio ground), but no sound comes out of it.
This is an issue, I will open a thread about this.

Ok.. I understand now what you need. But what I'm asking Philips to improve would not be against your interest.. I mean.. I'm not asking for volume control being dependent one each other (TV volume, Headphone volume). They MUST be independent, so you can mute each different output independently and change volume on each different output independently (maybe with differente buttons on remote control?) (I'm thinking for example... a person with hearing problems watching TV with headphones connected at a volume level higher than standard TV, for the rest of the family; another situation (for what I requesting this).. been able to change headphone volume easily from r. control (but without changing anything else that could harm actual TV uses, like you're doing :) )... Anyway, I'm not sure if Philips will take these suggestions into account :(

pano
08-07-2011, 09:49 PM
indeed, i just bought a Phillips TV 42PFL7676H and i was quite surprised that the volume of the headset could not be controlled through the remote control. Good i found this post as it is annoying.
My LG Tv has that option and i do not understand why Phillips has designed it this way?

thank you for your consideration
Cheers
P

carlosfm
08-07-2011, 10:20 PM
I'm much more anoyed that the SCART plugs don't have audio out.
I've connected a small LG TV this way to a stereo system in my son's bedroom but the $$$ Philips TV doesn't have line output.
Ridiculous.

Toengel
08-08-2011, 07:12 AM
Hi,

the Philips SCART does only have outputs if you use analog channels... (as far as I know).

Toengel@Alex

Verklagekasper
09-07-2011, 11:02 AM
I just got my 42PFL7486K recently, only to find out that there is virtually no way to change the volume of external speakers by the remote control. This is IMO the single biggest flaw that Philips TVs are suffering from (as well as TVs from other brands, telling by the many complaints in the internet about this very problem).

Attaching active speakers to the audio-out of LCD TVs is not an exotic use case but standard since the speakers of LCD TVs are notoriously thin sounding. So why does Philips make it so difficult to use external speakers? Why not give us an option to make the volume of the audio-out/headphone adjustable by the remote control?

Having to fight through several nested menus to adjust the headphone volume is not an acceptable solution, nor is the advice to buy a "HDMI-CEC" home theater system that costs as much as the TV. Please give us a little "Adjust headphone volume by remote control" checkbox in the menus that can be checked such that the audio-out volume is controlable by the remote control.

a_Tom
09-07-2011, 11:34 AM
Attaching active speakers to the audio-out of LCD TVs is not an exotic use case but standard since the speakers of LCD TVs are notoriously thin sounding.

okay there are 2 possible options...
1st: you never have heared the Sound of a Philips mid or High End TV system.
2nd: you dont have found the Audio Setup yet...

however, by saying :


nor is the advice to buy a "HDMI-CEC" home theater system that costs as much as the TV

it is clear that you are not intereset in having a Solution....
nowadays almost every HTS System, Providing HDMI Connectors do support CEC no matter if they cost 100€ or 1000....

Verklagekasper
09-07-2011, 12:00 PM
okay there are 2 possible options...
1st: you never have heared the Sound of a Philips mid or High End TV system.
2nd: you dont have found the Audio Setup yet...

however, by saying :

it is clear that you are not intereset in having a Solution....
nowadays almost every HTS System, Providing HDMI Connectors do support CEC no matter if they cost 100€ or 1000....
I stick with option 3: As the TVs have become thinner, audio has suffered. It's a plain matter of physics. And it's great for you that you're happy with your HTS system. Still, there are people who'd rather have ordinary speakers, particularly if they already own such speakers, if you don't mind.

a_Tom
09-07-2011, 12:13 PM
thats why philips is inventig sound year by year and is getting awarded for, this is what philips stands for no matter all the problems there are known for also.
thus far, youd rather complain instead of giving the sound a Chance. okay, thats up to you but dont blame anyone for this than yourself ;)

Verklagekasper
09-07-2011, 12:15 PM
thats why philips is inventig sound year by year and is getting awarded for, this is what philips stands for no matter all the problems there are known for also.
thus far, youd rather complain instead of giving the sound a Chance. okay, thats up to you but dont blame anyone for this than yourself ;)
Yes, and your Dad can beat up my Dad. It's great that we've settled this, so we can return to the topic, which is a simple and perfectly valid feature request. :)

Toengel
09-07-2011, 12:32 PM
Hi,

just post a "one liner" in the following post: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?2223-Important-Bugs-which-need-to-be-fixed-in-2010-firmware-(TV550R1)

Toengel@Alex

Verklagekasper
09-07-2011, 12:40 PM
@Toengel: Thanks for the hint, I've done so.