PDA

View Full Version : Philips TV and HDMI = Sound loss



Zwaf
04-20-2011, 06:57 PM
Hi guys,

I have been experiencing an annoying problem with a 42PFL5405 television I own.
Apparently, when I connect it via HDMI to my laptop and play sound, there is a clear sound loss for about 2 seconds rather often. It does not seem to occur within the first few minutes when the TV is turned on and appears to be affected by whether the television was in stand-by or not.

There are a number of people around me I know complaining about this problem with their similar televisions (which I advised them to buy...)

I have upgraded the firmware numerous times, and am now on 140.034, and so are the rest of the people I know.
Unfortunately, we are still experiencing the same problem.

I would like to address some of my colleagues (yes colleagues, as I work at Philips Research Eindhoven myself :)) to solve this issue or inform me on what I am doing wrong/could be doing to prevent this.
I am in doubt on whether I should file the television as defective and request a new model.

Thanks in advance

Toengel
04-20-2011, 07:26 PM
Hi,

it is already known that there exist a sound loss issue and Philips TV software development is fixing this since 3-4 firmware releases. This happen with various 2010 TV series...

Toengel@Alex

Lech1
05-09-2011, 07:33 AM
In my case the same issue: 32PFL5405 and Philips satellite receiver DSR 6201 via HDMI. At least Philips device should "communicate" well with Philips device.

mgpro
05-12-2011, 07:37 AM
Hi,

I have the same problem with a mediacenter pc. The problems occur more often, if i turn on the meciacenter pc after the the TV (8000 series 52" with version 34 firmware). Sometimes it helps to turn off/on the TV and the problem vanishes for some time.

The sound system of my mediacenter pc is based on a NVIDIA chip. What sound hardware do you have in your laptop?

I have read many posts about this topic. My impression is, that certain HDMI-input hardware does not work well with Philips TV. If i connect my mediacenter PC to an other TV (other brand), the sound problem does not occur.

Jeroen61
05-14-2011, 03:16 PM
Hi,

Sound drops also still exist in Holland. 32PFL9706H12 and the STB Cisco 8455 don't work together where HDMI is involved. No problems when I use my Philips blu-ray disc player.

Toengel
05-14-2011, 03:20 PM
Hi,

did you installed already firmware 140.36? If the problem persists do the following described here: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?1539-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0.140.36.0-for-8000-and-9000-series-(2010-models)&p=6762&viewfull=1#post6762

Toengel@Alex

johny_sk
05-23-2011, 04:54 PM
Its final position on this problem Philips?

niyo
06-01-2011, 07:17 PM
I Have Same Problem With My Laptop. Nvidia GT 220 M I installed last driver but still same problem. I think Philips Dont Care about this feedback.

niyo
06-02-2011, 03:57 PM
I solve the problem. First I downloaded last driver from nvidia and after installation from nvidia control panel under display change resolution has a enable disable hdmi audio I anabled and job is done.

mgpro
06-02-2011, 08:41 PM
I have sound drops with the newst version of NVIDIA drivers (275.33). In the release notes of the NVIDIA driver it is written:

"... the NVIDIA driver disables HMDI audio for all Philips HDMI TVs, as these have been identified as having issues with GeForce 9 series and earlier, and GeForce GTX 200‐series NVIDIA graphics cards."

I just wonder, what kind of "issues" and who is responsible for the problems (NVIDIA or PHILIPS)?

niyo
06-03-2011, 06:20 PM
I think Reponsible si philips because a have tryed alreadi with Samsung,Sony,LG an Loewe and I had no problem. Philips has a lot job to do for R&D department in Eindhoven.

niyo
06-03-2011, 06:20 PM
Most of Tv are Plug and play.