PDA

View Full Version : 46PFL9705H Streaming and "Browse PC" problems



Amired
04-24-2011, 01:22 AM
Hi :)

I just got my new 46PFL9705H.
The MediaConnects' FAQ says that TVs from series 9000 doesn't need any usb dongle (PTA01) and that this option is built into the TV (as written here (http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/faqview?scy=US&session=20110423211353_93.172.144.236&slg=ENG&ctn=PTA01/00&dct=FAQ&refnr=0078844&faqview=1).

I've tried streaming videos through my pc but without any luck.
The "Browse PC" option on the TV just keeps searching a computer and can't find any, and MediaConnect on my computer is always "Searching for TV on the network..."
The TV is connected to the network (wireless connection, and it's strong enough), and NetTV works fine - just Browse PC won't.
I have D-Link 2650U with UPnP enabled.
I found here someone who recommended enabling media sharing in the media player through the "Library" tab, and I've done that too.

Under network settings, "Show PC Media files" is enabled, but I can't seem to know what is the effect of this setting.

I've tried to give as much relevent information as I could think of, please tell me if you need more.

would love to get help,
thanks :)

pisasax
04-24-2011, 06:36 AM
Hi,
have you checked you firewall configurations?

Amired
04-24-2011, 08:44 AM
Hi, Thanks for the reply :)
I don't think that this it the problem. I have ESET and I've turned it off, and disabled the windowss' firewall. Only thing that's left is the router, but what do I have to check in its settings?

Stewart
04-24-2011, 11:55 AM
Maybe not relevant in your case but I had the same issue. I have 2 wireless routers fed from the same cable internet source. The TV was synced with one, the laptop with the other. Both worked fine independently but the PC Mediaconnect software constantly searched for the TV without success. The TV and the PC need to be on the same router (IP address).

Jomsp
04-25-2011, 07:47 AM
Hi Amired and Stewart,

Verify that access to the NetTV service is good. If not, before proceeding, it would be wise to seek solution for access to NetTV service, to ensure that communication is established between the TV and the router.

In any case, Log on to Windows with an Administrator User, and perform the following tests:

Ping the IP of the TV from the PC to ensure that the PC does not detect the TV, the following procedure:
With the remote control the TV, go to the Network Setup menu on your TV and record the IP that is assigned to the TV.
Enter the PC> Click Start> All Programs> Accessories> Command Prompt> Type the command ping and the IP address of the TV you've recorded and Enter.
ping XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
"XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX is the IP address of the TV.
If communication is available, return a response message with a set of values. If you do not get a reply within a couple of seconds, it means that the TV is not recognized the network.

If no communication by pinging, most likely the problem is with the router, its configuration. And you can continue testing the following:

1) Check if both the router and the PC are configured with DHCP (automatic IP assignment). DHCP is recommended.

2) Check if you turned on Plug and Play in the router.

3) To check if the problem could be found in the router's wireless settings, connect the TV to router with ethernet connection via cable, instead of via WiFi, and try again if the PC detects the TV.

4) Also, if it were possible, you can use another router to connect, and check if this "new" router is the connection of network TV.

5) Get in touch with technical support service from your ISP, and ask how you should configure the router to connect a TV with DLNA to your LAN.

If there is communication by pinging, disables antivirus from your PC, and then test if the communication is established, because the problem would be a "software" has damaged the network discovery, and the first candidate to damage the network connection are third-party antivirus programs.

To see if your PC recognizes the TV, open the Network and Sharing Center, and check if your TV is featured in network doing the following on the PC:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/View-the-status-of-your-network

Enable network discovery, if not have it enabled:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Enable-or-disable-network-discovery
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/What-is-network-discovery

If, once activated for the network, your TV is not on the network map, it means the PC can not detect the TV. In this case, to check if the router detects your TV, connect to it from the PC as follows:
Open your browser (IE8, FF, Chrome, etc), and type the IP address for the router, it will be "http://192.168.1.1/."
The following window appears requesting entry to the router username and password, which, by default, can be "admin" for both the user and the password (see your router's manual or ask your ISP).
Menu appears router options, one of which shows you the computers that are connected, one of them will be the PC, and must be the TV, if there is no connection problem is between the TV and router.

If your TV is on the network map, your PC detect the TV. And then, test the following:

1 - Use the TV (Browse PC network start menu), instead of Wifi Media Connect software, to access folders on the PC and play media files to check if the connection between the TV and the PC is correct. If you can not access and play your PC folders from TV (Explore PC network start menu), the problem would be that the PC does not detect the TV, and this must be addressed prior to use Wifi Media Connect.
2 - Disable the antivirus completely, which usually cause many problems of this type.
3- If W7, play from your PC with WMP Play-To, as described in the following article: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/products/features/play-to
If not played with Play-To WNP the problem is not Wifi Media Connect, and if it plays, then after test Wi-Fi Media Connect.
4 - Connect the TV and the router with ethernet cable to rule that the problem is the wireless connection.

You can read, related to the issue, the following items:
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=ES&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20110325062447_194.140.3.55&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=PTA01/00&dct=FAQ&refnr=0080308&faqview=1
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=ES&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20110325062447_194.140.3.55&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=PTA01/00&dct=FAQ&refnr=0078037&faqview=1
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=ES&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20110325062447_194.140.3.55&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=PTA01/00&dct=FAQ&refnr=0080293&faqview=1
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=ES&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20110325062447_194.140.3.55&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=PTA01/00&dct=FAQ&refnr=0080318&faqview=1
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=ES&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20110331072207_194.140.3.55&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=40PFL8605H/12&dct=FAQ&refnr=0075136&faqview=1

If W7 do not see the option Play-To in WMP because you have not activated, in Windows, Sharing Multimedia Stream network devices. And in that case, the problem is not Wifi Media Connect, or anything to do with the Philips TV, but must be configured to allow W7 multimedia file sharing network.

Streaming Media To activate, log on to Windows with an Administrator user, and do the following:
1. Click the Start button, click All Programs, and Then click Windows Media Player.
Currently if the player is open and you're in Now Playing mode, click the Switch to Library button in the upper-right corner of the Player.
2. Click Stream, And Then Click Turn on home media streaming.
Turn on home media streaming Will not Be available on the Streammenu if streaming is Already Turned On.
3. Media streaming options on the page, click Turn on media streaming. If you're prompt for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or confirmation Provide.
4. Click OK.
This activation procedure Streaming Media, is described, for example, in the following article: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Stream-your-media-to-devices-and-computers-using-Windows-Media-Player

Streaming Media Once activated, be shown the option Play-To in WMP.
And, most important, now, the PC will detect the Philips TV and can access shared folders via the option "Explore PC network" in Philips TV start menu.

Another way to activate Media Streaming is marked active "Multimedia" on "Change advanced settings sharing" option that can be accessed from “Network and Sharing Center”.

If the PC detects the TV and Streaming Media is enabled for the device Philips TV, but TV does not detect the PC, remove ALL DEVICES and uncheck Media Streaming. Then repeat the procedure from scratch for sharing media: Check the option Streaming Media (Network and Sharing Center) and select the device Philips TV.

mike tv
04-26-2011, 04:40 PM
I was going through my router settings and I noticed a feature called "AP Isolation" and it had an on/off setting choice. When I read up on it, it said if it was switched on it would stop each computer on the network from accessing each other. They would still be able to access the internet but not each other. Sounds something like what your experiencing ?

Jomsp
04-27-2011, 07:53 AM
I was going through my router settings and I noticed a feature called "AP Isolation" and it had an on/off setting choice. When I read up on it, it said if it was switched on it would stop each computer on the network from accessing each other. They would still be able to access the internet but not each other. Sounds something like what your experiencing ?

Sorry, but:
What's your problem related to this thread?.
If you have a problem with this thread, specific step by step your tests, so we can help you.

If your problem is not related to this thread, open a new thread to not confuse those who need help in this thread.

mike tv
04-27-2011, 09:12 AM
Sorry, but:
What's your problem related to this thread?.
If you have a problem with this thread, specific step by step your tests, so we can help you.

If your problem is not related to this thread, open a new thread to not confuse those who need help in this thread.

Hi Jomsp,
Believe it or not I was actually trying to help the original poster solve his issue with his "Streaming and "Browse PC" problems ". I didn't realize my post was so confused. Sorry.

The piece of advice I was trying to give him was that he should check his router and see if it has a feature similar to the one I have on my router called "AP Isolation". If he has, and if it is enabled it will prevent the computers* on his network talking to each other, but would still allow his computers* access the internet. This would tally with the symptoms the OP described.


*Where I say computer you can read Philips TV as well