PDA

View Full Version : SCART plugs - no audio out



carlosfm
04-25-2011, 07:47 PM
Dear Philips,

I have a 37PFL7605H/12 TV and I need to connect analog audio outputs to my stereo system.
Presently I use the headphone out and it works but I would prefer to use one of the SCART plugs (with an adaptor plug to RCA).
The problem is that no audio comes out of both SCART plugs.
There should be audio out in pins 1 (Right audio out) and 3 (Left audio out), as can be seen in this block diagram.

http://i.imgur.com/Y4R1G.gif

Was this disabled by firmware?
Or should I contact Philips service because it's a problem of my TV?

Thanks in advance.

Lake292
04-25-2011, 07:52 PM
scart connectors are used only for input

carlosfm
04-25-2011, 10:31 PM
scart connectors are used only for input

No, they are not.
TVs always had input and output signals on the scart plugs.
I had my 15+ years Philips CRT TV connected to my system, taking the audio outs from the scart plug.

Check the block diagram I've posted, it's from the service manual of this TV, it has audio outputs on the scart plugs, as any TV.
Why don't they work?

And by the way:

http://pinouts.ws/scart-pinout.html

Toengel
04-26-2011, 07:38 AM
Hi,

I heard also from some users, that the SCART does NOT output audio. I think only Philips can clarify this, if sound output is supported via SCART - independent of what is written in the service manual.

Toengel@Alex (Toengel@Alex)

RenzoEllul
04-26-2011, 10:01 AM
As far as I know Scart plugs in TVs are only input, however I might be mistaken. What one could try is the Scart to RCA converter with the in/out switch. This allows a 2 way function on the adapter.

petasis
04-26-2011, 11:42 AM
Scart plugs supports both input + output of stereo audio + Composite + S-Video image. Now, what Philips supports is another issue...

Toengel
04-26-2011, 12:40 PM
Hi,

you should set up the SMARTTONE to standard (Stereo) and not to extended (Multichannel). Then the audio output should work via SCART.

Toengel@Alex

carlosfm
04-26-2011, 02:24 PM
As far as I know Scart plugs in TVs are only input, however I might be mistaken. What one could try is the Scart to RCA converter with the in/out switch. This allows a 2 way function on the adapter.

I've tried several of those adaptors. Nothing works.
I've even checked for continuity on those adaptors, between pins 1, 3 and each RCA. Everything is ok.
It's not the adaptors, it's the TV that has no audio out on the scart plugs.
When I've opened this thread, I was already sure.

carlosfm
04-26-2011, 02:26 PM
Hi,

you should set up the SMARTTONE to standard (Stereo) and not to extended (Multichannel). Then the audio output should work via SCART.

Toengel@Alex

SMARTTONE?
What is that?
Where is that located, on the setup menu?
I can't find the word SMARTTONE on the english user manual.

Toengel
04-26-2011, 02:49 PM
Hi,

sorry:

home/configuration/channel configuration/languages/preferred audio format

Toengel@Alex

carlosfm
04-26-2011, 08:05 PM
Hi,

sorry:

home/configuration/channel configuration/languages/preferred audio format

Toengel@Alex

Hi Toengel,

Thanks for trying to help.
I've just checked and I already had it at "Standard".
There is no audio out on the scarts with any source: Watch TV, NetTV, Browse PC (DLNA), HDMI3 (my cable TV box).
Audio output is always muted, on the scarts.
I don't understand why, because the hardware is all there, it costs nothing to activate the audio out on the scarts.

BTW Philips, if you know Mr. Guido Tent, send regards from me, I know him for many years, bought many of his clocks. What a nice guy.
Here's a link:

http://www.tentlabs.com/Aboutus/index.html

hansje
04-26-2011, 10:20 PM
hi carlos,
the blockdiagram is multi functional and therefore correct.
if you have digital reception then the audio/video output is not supported, this is for legal reason.

Only with analogue reception you can have audio/video output, but you have to select decoder function.
If decoder is activated in the menu then the audio/video is routed via scart.

kind regards,
hans

carlosfm
04-27-2011, 12:41 AM
hi carlos,
the blockdiagram is multi functional and therefore correct.
if you have digital reception then the audio/video output is not supported, this is for legal reason.

Only with analogue reception you can have audio/video output, but you have to select decoder function.
If decoder is activated in the menu then the audio/video is routed via scart.

kind regards,
hans

Hi Hans,

You mean only with analog TV channels?

I've found this in the user manual:

"Channel decoder
Before using a SCART digital channel decoder, select the channel to decode and assign the decoder to the SCART connector.
---
2. Select [Setup] > [Channel settings] >
[Decoder] > [Channel].
3. Set the channel you want to decode.
4. Select [Status], then the location of the
decoder.
5. Press OK."

That doesn't suit my needs but thanks for clarifying.
Those sometimes silly "legal reasons" (I know what you mean) don't prevent headphone output, I guess...