PDA

View Full Version : Bizarre lip sync problem with Philips 46PFL9705H/12



mike tv
04-26-2011, 04:26 PM
Hi

I have a new Philips 46PFL9705H/12 with firmware 0.140.034. I have a Humax Foxsat HDR feeding it via HDMI. I have noticed some very strange lip sync issues. For some, only some programs serious lip sync problems occur. It is Standard Definition programs that have the issue. And it doesn't occur on most of the programs I watch, and even stranger it gets worse in different scenes of the problem programs (and gets better in other scenes).

After a lot of time and effort I am 99.9% sure it is the new Philips TV that is at fault (I tried the Humax via HDMI on a Sony TV and there was no problem (with the same programs - they're recorded on the Humax)

After attempting to trouble shoot the issue I discovered switching the TV's picture mode to "Game" solves the lip sync issue but I don't want to use "Game" mode because the picture quality is inferior.

Has any one else come across a similar issue? Thanks.

Quaddy
05-07-2011, 07:20 PM
yes i have reported this issue on another thread with my 58PFL9955, it varies, sometimes worse than others, i also have foxsat HDR and it doesnt happen on another panel. - very frustrating indeed

MrColobus
05-24-2011, 03:14 PM
Hello

I also have a 46PFL9705 too, and a Foxsat HDR.

Are you using an AV amp? If so then see if your amp has an option to adjust delay time. 160ms should be sufficient.
If you're not using an AV amp or can't change it's delay then I think there's also a delay setting on the Foxsat HDR. Try changing this instead.
Also, is your Foxsat HDR set to output everything at 1080i? This will reduce the up-scaling the TV has to do on SD stuff, and possibly reduce delay.

The delay on the TV is caused by the 400hz mode and the motion processing under the Pixel Plus menu. The reason game mode is okay is because these two modes are turned off in this preset to allow responsive gaming.
This is normal for a lot of TVs, particularly those with hefty motion processing.

I have had sync problems occasionally from the Foxsat but they also happened on my previous (Samsung) TV too. By doing the above it is minimised, I very rarely notice it, if at all.


Hope this helps

Quaddy
05-29-2011, 10:46 PM
just speaking for myself, i am using internal speakers only. and some of my sources dont have a built in audio sync adjustment - so nothing can be done.

also turning all processing off or all on doesnt make a difference - same thing.

its minimal on my foxsat, but very noticeable via xtreamer and philips BDP9600 either via hdmi audio or toslink

i sure wish philips would care to pass comment on this thread.

JethroUK
05-30-2011, 07:36 AM
just speaking for myself, i am using internal speakers only. and some of my sources dont have a built in audio sync adjustment - so nothing can be done.

also turning all processing off or all on doesnt make a difference - same thing.

its minimal on my foxsat, but very noticeable via xtreamer and philips BDP9600 either via hdmi audio or toslink

i sure wish philips would care to pass comment on this thread.

I have much older Philips Plasma and can't it use with external amp at all without turning the sound completely off the TV - the sound sync is wildly out

You would think that with all the TV peripherals about nowadays that sound sync control should be essential setting for all modern TV's

mike tv
06-21-2011, 01:33 PM
Sorry for not replying sooner. I've been away for the past few weeks.


yes i have reported this issue on another thread with my 58PFL9955, it varies, sometimes worse than others, i also have foxsat HDR and it doesnt happen on another panel. - very frustrating indeed
Quaddy, thanks for confirming the issue. It's good to know that it's not just my TV.


Hello

I also have a 46PFL9705 too, and a Foxsat HDR.

Are you using an AV amp? If so then see if your amp has an option to adjust delay time. 160ms should be sufficient.
If you're not using an AV amp or can't change it's delay then I think there's also a delay setting on the Foxsat HDR. Try changing this instead.
Also, is your Foxsat HDR set to output everything at 1080i? This will reduce the up-scaling the TV has to do on SD stuff, and possibly reduce delay.

The delay on the TV is caused by the 400hz mode and the motion processing under the Pixel Plus menu. The reason game mode is okay is because these two modes are turned off in this preset to allow responsive gaming.
This is normal for a lot of TVs, particularly those with hefty motion processing.

I have had sync problems occasionally from the Foxsat but they also happened on my previous (Samsung) TV too. By doing the above it is minimised, I very rarely notice it, if at all.


Hope this helps

No I'm not using an external amp. And unfortunately I can't set a delay on the Humax because it only happens on certain channels and even then only on certain programs.
You make a very interesting point about the 400Hz being the culprit. I'll check it out when I get home this evening.
I'll also check that the Humax Foxsat HDR is set to output everything at 1080i. That could explain why I don't see the issue on HD channels, but only on certain SD channels.

Thanks for the reply Mr Colobus, I appreciate it.

mike tv
06-21-2011, 07:23 PM
I tried different V Format outputs from the Humax (520i, 520p, 720p and 1080i) but none of them made any difference. The issue was just as bad no matter what (It was already set to 1080i).

I am pleased to say switching off the 400Hz fixes the issue :) (pleased that I have a work around- but not pleased that a function off my brand new TV has to be disabled)

(I had the (weird) motion processing setting off anyway)

Thanks again Mr Colobus

mike tv
10-07-2011, 01:57 PM
The lip-sync issue seems to be fixed with firmware 140.40. I had been using the TV with the 400Hz off. It just came to mind to test it and it's fixed.

There have been some other firmware updates prior to 140.40 and I'm not sure if the issue was fixed in those.

The good thing about the Humax PVR was I have the exact same "problem" programs recorded to test with and in firmware 140.40 it's fixed. Thanks Philips :)

Philips - Thomas
11-22-2011, 09:26 AM
[closed, due to no activity]