PDA

View Full Version : HDMI with separate audio input



Kevin
04-28-2011, 11:39 AM
I recently got a Philips 42PFL5405h/12.

I connected my Macbook Pro with a minidisplayport to hdmi cable to the television.
I get a perfect image on the television! :cool:

Since this older model (late '09) Mac doesn't support audio through the minidisplayport I connected a separate cable to transfer the audio. This is a cable from the headphone output on the Mac, to the Audio in on the Philips TV.

The only problem is I don't get any audio on the television when the HDMI connector is connected. When I disconnect the displaycable, the TV plays the sound. But when I plug the HDMI connector back in, the sound is lost again.

It seems like the television thinks the audio is coming from the HDMI input, then switches off the separate audio input.


Does anyone have a solution for this?

pistoiaa
05-03-2011, 10:40 AM
Unfortunately I have no solution yet, but only a confirmation that I have the same problem by connecting my notebook (FujitsuSiemens) to my 37PFL7605 via DVI port-->DVI Cable-->DVI/HDMI Adapter-->HDMI port (for video) and AudioOut-->minijack stereo cable 3,5 mm-->VGA/DVI Audio Input (for audio). If I change the video connection going through VGA, all works fine.
The only "serious" answer I got from Philips is that the DVI cable or the HDMI/DVI adapter could introduce some noise, making the TV believe it is receiving audio on HDMI port.
What I think, instead, is that the TV was wrongly designed, so every time it detects an HDMI connection it disables the VGA/DVI Audio Input. But it seems Philips does not intend investigate (and fix) this issue... grrrrr...

Kevin
05-03-2011, 10:53 AM
Thank you for your response. I think your conclusion is correct.

Anyway, I solved the problem with an external speakerset. So now I have sound, better yet, high quality sound!

Toengel
05-21-2011, 06:13 PM
Hi,

what happens if you switch for a short while to e.g. Sat-TV and then back? I read in other forums that this worked sometimes...

Toengel@Alex

pistoiaa
05-23-2011, 09:35 AM
I will try, but I don't expect great results.
Anyway, thanks for support, Toengel.

pistoiaa
05-26-2011, 03:52 PM
Well, I have to acknowledge that this time it was not a Philips fault, but a NVIDIA driver bug. See this post and following ones:
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?1539-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0.140.36.0-for-8000-and-9000-series-%282010-models%29&p=7376&viewfull=1#post7376

pistoiaa
06-06-2011, 04:35 PM
I finally found a fix for my problem, well, actually I found two fixes: one for Linux (Ubuntu 10.10) and one for Windows (XP Pro SP2). I tried both of them on my dual boot netbook and both worked: I finally have audio on my Philips TV when connected via DVI/HDMI! :cool:

If someone is interested, here are the links:

LINUX SOLUTION
http://analogbit.com/fix_nvidia_edid
it can be useful also:
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Configuri...nd_DVI_to_HDMI

WINDOWS SOLUTION
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=99932
I followed "Part III - Spoofing the EDID signature"

Toengel
06-06-2011, 05:44 PM
Hi,

GREAT - thanks for the findings!

Toengel@Alex