PDA

View Full Version : 8605 - Picture Format - Watching SD from antenna in 4:3 ?



bloodcell
05-10-2011, 07:23 PM
Hi all,

Is there a way to watch SD tv broadcasts coming in through the TV's antenna input in 4:3 aspect ratio?
(which I believe is the ratio these broadcasts naturally have, but there is no 'unscaled' picture format option in the TV's menus).

When I use 'Auto fill' the TV starts out for a few seconds at 4:3 and there switches to a different aspect ratio (fills the screen), which causes the top and bottom of the picture to be cut out.
'Auto Zoom' and other available options don't display the picture in 4:3.

No way this sophisticated TV can't accomplish that ... (?)

carlosfm
05-11-2011, 11:39 AM
I would also like to have the Unscalled option in "Watch TV".
It's strange that it doesn't have this possibility.
My TV is a 7605, btw.

quapor
05-20-2011, 07:36 AM
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/faqview?scy=SK&subrequest=1&mid=Link_FAQs&new_tmpl=1&view=aa12_view_full.html&desc=Philips+LCD+TV+37PFL8404H+37%22+Full+HD+1080p +digital+TV+with+Ambilight+Spectra+and+Pixel+Preci se+HD&session=20100316165025_78.98.204.97&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&refnr=0077572&refdisplay=MTV_LCD_E_TV543_QAC_77572&dct=QAC&ctn=37PFL8404H/12

bloodcell
05-28-2011, 05:17 PM
Hey dude, thanks for answering,
but the page on the link you provided gives instructions that I cannot execute since the menus I'm seeing are not the ones the page refers to.

I downloaded a software update, what I got now is version Q5551-0.140.34.0

My menus have no mention of "AUTO FORMAT".
All I have are the options under SETUP > Picture > Picture Format :

- Auto fill (not want I want - cuts out parts of the picture)
- Auto zoom (shows SD broadcasts in 4:3 for a couple of seconds and then zooms-in)
- Super Zoom
- Movie expand 16:9
- Wide screen

I have no PC connected to the TV like the page you provided mentions.

What do I do ???

quapor
05-29-2011, 10:51 AM
Question
My picture format keeps changing with different channels. How can I set a specific format?
Answer
When the TV picture format is set to AUTO FORMAT, you have the option to set the picture format to automatically fill the screen or to display the format according to the broadcast format.

If you wish to set a specific format, press the button on the remote control repeatedly to select WIDESCREEN option or any other format that you feel comfortable with.

NOTE: The 4:3 option only appears in the list of available picture formats if you connect a computer by VGA or HDMI. If you want to view TV channels or material from other sources in the 4:3 format, you need to set the picture format to ´AUTO FORMAT´ and select ´AUTO ZOOM´ in the AUTO FORMAT MODE menu.

Follow these steps to set the AUTO FORMAT MODE;

1.Press the button on the remote control to access the home menu.
2.Use the cursor button to select SETUP and press the cursor 'OK' button to confirm.
3.Press the cursor down to select PICTURE and press the cursor right.
4.Press the cursor down to select PICTURE FORMAT and press the cursor right.
5.Select AUTO FORMAT and press the ‘OK’ button to confirm.
6.Press the cursor down to select AUTO FORMAT MODE and press the cursor right.
7.Select the option according to your preference and press the ‘OK’ button to confirm.
◦When AUTO FILL is selected, the picture will expand to fill the screen regardless of the broadcast format, eg 4:3 or 14:9. No black bar is visible.
◦When AUTO ZOOM is selected, the picture will be displayed according to the broadcast format, i.e. TV will display 4:3 broadcast in 4:3 format & 14:9 broadcast in 14:9 format.
8.Press the 'BACK' button to exit the menu.

quapor
05-29-2011, 10:57 AM
or change the source, philips 2009 + 2010 models unable to change the image format if the source is HD

http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?1040-BUG-Auto-fill-and-auto-zoom-feature-doesn-t-work-on-HDMI-after-power-cycle

bloodcell
05-29-2011, 07:20 PM
Hi, thanks again for your responses,

yet, like I said, I don't have the PICTURE > AUTO FORMAT and PICTURE > AUTO FORMAT MODE menu options, all I got is the PICTURE > PICTURE FORMAT ...

Is Philips serious? No fixed 4:3 mode for SD broadcasts on the 40PFL8605?