PDA

View Full Version : Cannot turn on my 21:9 TV with myremote running on apple ipad



rutton
06-16-2011, 07:35 AM
I enthusuastically downloaded the myremote app onto my ipad to control my 21:9 cinema tv.
To my surprise and dissapointment, i found that although the remote worked perfectly, it was capable of turning my TV off, no matter what i tried it would not turn the TV on and i had to use the original IR remote that came with it to turn it on!!!
in reading the fine print, i did notice that philips does state that all devices need to be turned on before myremote can work!!
So whats the ppoint? it defeats the purpose as i still have a clutter of original remotes..
Has anyone found a workaround for this?
Philips, are you working on a workaround?

Toengel
06-16-2011, 08:09 AM
Hi,

think about that technically! When the TV is in standby, the LAN and WLAN is disabled/shut down. How should the TV receive your command from MyRemote?

Toengel@Alex

rutton
06-16-2011, 09:00 AM
Hi,

think about that technically! When the TV is in standby, the LAN and WLAN is disabled/shut down. How should the TV receive your command from MyRemote?

Toengel@Alex



Hi Alex,

Thanks for this,
Now understand what the issue is, but does this not mean that the system architects at philips did not take this into consideration during desigbn? would it not be a simple thing to fix in software? a lot of web based appliances (eg printers, NAS, media servers etc) send the wifi/ethernet module into a sleep mode which wake on activity.If it can react to an IR signal, why not to a WiFi signal?
This should be fairly easy to impliment specially if the TV is considered to be part of the Home network right?
Would be great if someone from Philips would react to this...

rgds

rutton

smart
06-16-2011, 09:00 AM
Hello,

sure, Toengel, at a first thought that is correct. This might be how it is implemented from Philips in the TVs. Very simple, no power for Ethernet parts or USB devices in standby to reduce standby power.

But, if I think technically, I see possibilities to solve that :).

The TV is not the only device which might be woken up by LAN/WLAN. There is a good technical article on Wikipedia on how this can be done: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wake-on-LAN

So thinking technically makes me look at a solution, but Wake-on-LAN seems to be not implemented on the TVs today. There might be several reasons for that...

smart
06-16-2011, 09:03 AM
@rutton: This is not just a software thing in most cases. If you want to save power, you need a hardware solution which requires minimum power. Running software means to give power to a processor, RAM and so on. So such things have to be planned carefully...

carlosfm
06-16-2011, 09:07 AM
When the TV is turned off, it has no OS (linux) and no LAN services running.
It's unavoidable.
How did you want your TV to consume just 1W in standby?
What you are asking would require much more power consumption in standby, because only the LCD panel would be switched off, everything else would need to be working.
The original remote is infra-red and turns on the TV.
myremote is not infrared, it works through your wireless network and the TV must be already powered on, to have network (wired to your router, or wireless).

Toengel
06-16-2011, 09:23 AM
Hi,

sure - it could be solved. But I think the actual architecture is not build for that. And the power consumption - as stated above - should be very low in stand by.

Toengel@Alex

rutton
06-16-2011, 10:23 AM
Hi,

sure - it could be solved. But I think the actual architecture is not build for that. And the power consumption - as stated above - should be very low in stand by.

Toengel@Alex

Thanks everyone for clarifying this...
There are some (actually many!) really smart cookies at Philips, and i can only hope they see this post and recognize this as a valid use case that needs to be addressed on the next generation of products...

rgds

rutton

diddl14
01-05-2013, 03:14 PM
Hi,

sure - it could be solved. But I think the actual architecture is not build for that. And the power consumption - as stated above - should be very low in stand by.

Toengel@Alex

Looking at the 2011/2012 models Service Manual, it looks like the TV hardware supports WOL. The power board, network interface and standby module are all connected to an "ENABLE-WOLAN" signal.

Also, the flowchart showing all state transitions explicitly checks for WOL being enabled or not.

All in all it looks like this is more a software than a hardware issue...

Has anybody looked at the 2011/2012-models service menu (the thing with the warning that warranty is void) to see if WOL is configurable?

What would be the proper way to contact Philips for these type of firmware-"feature" requests?