PDA

View Full Version : Your experiences with FW v0.10.94.1 for 6xx6T and 7xx6H/K/M/T series (2011 models).



Toengel
06-17-2011, 05:18 PM
Hi,

Please share your experiences with this new SW version here in this topic. Channeling your input will make it easier for users to search and find relevant info.

Discuss here all your experiences when upgraded to the new version (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?1699-Software-overview-for-6xx6T-and-7xx6H-K-M-T-series-(2011-models).&p=7517#post7517): new, old, positive, negative.... (e.g. the "black screens during zapping" problem is solved!).

TeunVR
07-06-2011, 01:38 PM
Currently the 7-series does not support playback of 3D content via USB (according to the manual).
Is 3D playback also not supported over DLNA?
And are there plans to support 3D playback from USB/DLNA in a future firmware-release (if so, when?).
According to a Greek review-site Philips told them this support is coming. See http://www.fullhd.gr/2008-03-14-21-37-34/in-depth-review/8752-philips-42pfl7606h12-review.html , you might need to use google translate :)

Toengel
07-06-2011, 02:02 PM
Hi,

at the moment, you can use a 3D Blu-ray player to watch 3D contect from USB...

Toengel@Alex

TeunVR
07-06-2011, 02:17 PM
Hi,
at the moment, you can use a 3D Blu-ray player to watch 3D contect from USB...


Yes, i can imagine that :)
But i don't want to buy an extra 3D bluray player as i am going to use my PS3 for that.
I have to decide if i want to go for the 7-series Philips or an LG 5500/570/650.
LG can play 3D content from USB/DLNA.
If Philips is going to add it (and there are rumours that they will) it makes the choice LG<->Philips harder (currently my plan is to go for LG).

Philips - Thomas
07-06-2011, 02:37 PM
Hi TeunVR

None of our current TV Models is capable on 3d Playback either via USB or Network.
3D Playback is possible via the Build in DVB-Tuners (S/C) or a HDMI Connection.

If you already have a PS3 for instance, you can use this one to Playback 3D(Games/Blu Ray) content.

Regards
Thomas

subtitles
07-17-2011, 05:55 AM
No external subtitle support with USB?????????????????????
Please implement this ASAP, every brand has this except for Philips...

sandango
07-22-2011, 11:13 AM
I just received my 7906K yesterday and found myself confronted with a use model which I think could be improved in many ways.
Here are my inputs:

* pressing keys in the lower rows one handed is very difficult. Either the remote should be longer at the bottom or the center of gravity should be lower so that it is balanced better.
* The OK button should have the function of the search key when in normal viewing mode. Many other devices do it that way and it is ergonomic and intuitive.
* ALL menus should circle around, i. e. if I am at the 1st item and go up I expect to get to the last item and vice versa.
Instead most menus are like ladders which you have to climb up and down. That is a nuisance. The same applies to left/right menus.
* When I set the language to German the next item was asking for the country. I'd expect that Germany would be selected as the countries default value by the previous language selection but that was not the case. Instead I had to search for Germany in an unsorted! list of countries.
* The satellites were not pre-configured but I had to search for satellites first before I could search for stations. This was not obvious from the installation guide.
* The station selection does not allow to de-select the search for encrypted stations. This clutters the station list unnecessarily.
* Arranging stations is quite intuitive and ergonomic. Better yet would be if I could do it on my PC.
* Marking stations as favorites is very awkward. It would be better if I could enter a favorite mode and then mark many stations as favorites before leaving the favorite mode again.
* If I have marked my favorite stations and select to only show favorites I would want that I could sort that reduced list. This would be much more logical than sort in a cluttered list of 500..1000 stations.
* It would be more intuitive to have channel up/down keys instead of channel left/right keys. Instead of having two rings around the OK key one ring and 4 extra keys would be better. The inner ring should be channel up/down and volume-/volume+ as on many other devices.
* when I was playing with the settings I often ended up with a blank screen and the back did not get me out of it. I had to use the home key to get back to viewing mode.
* the configuration screen should show more clearly which item is selected. It often looks as if SAT is selected but instead the cursor is somewhere else.

Tnolv
07-28-2011, 01:53 PM
Sound drops

I have a Technisat Digit Isio S1 Receiver connected to a 42PFL7696K02 by an HDMI-cable. My AV-receiver is connected to the tv-set via toslink. With this setup, sound-drops occur on a regular basis (tv and internet media). No sound drops occur with a direct connection between Technisat and AV-receiver, so obviously this a bug in the signal processing of the tv-set.
The sound format in the Technisat is set to Bitstream and Dolby Digital. I believe I have read about this issue concerning the 7...5-series but thought, it had been solved on newer sets...

Another issue is the HDMI-CEC-feature of the Philips. The Technisat can control the Philips but not vice versa. It would be nice, if the Philips could switch the channels at least.

Zikzik
07-29-2011, 03:12 AM
Hi TeunVR

None of our current TV Models is capable on 3d Playback either via USB or Network.
3D Playback is possible via the Build in DVB-Tuners (S/C) or a HDMI Connection.

If you already have a PS3 for instance, you can use this one to Playback 3D(Games/Blu Ray) content.

Regards
Thomas


Don't make any sense what you said, every 3D models of LG/Samsung/Sony/ (last update Panasonic) support the 3D playblack except for Philips apparently and if you can read the MKV 1080p you can read the MKV 3D.

3D playback is possible from the USB, you just don't want to update the Philips to make this possible

Like the 7xx6 can support the 2D->3D but you don't want ever to force the people buy a more expensive one tv..

Remember that, if you have this reaction, nobody would be interested by your product.

I have actually a 7xx6 and i regret to don't have the same support like the another company

Next time please to say wrong information

Add 3D playback, 2D->3D, support of subtitles, more settings for the colors, etc...

You would make happy the people and the people would make pub for free

petasis
07-29-2011, 09:20 AM
Don't make any sense what you said, every 3D models of LG/Samsung/Sony/ (last update Panasonic) support the 3D playblack except for Philips apparently and if you can read the MKV 1080p you can read the MKV 3D.

3D playback is possible from the USB, you just don't want to update the Philips to make this possible



Please, be more accurate when you are writting something, as writting wrong information may be unfair.
Both panasonic and sony TVs do not support NTFS, thus they can handle files up to 4 GB, which means they cannot support most of the files containing a 720p movie.

Furthermore, all sony TVs do not support at all the matroska (MKV) container. The HX920 (their top model) supports: AVCHD [mts, m2ts], MP4 (AVC) [mp4], MP4 (MPEG4) [mp4], MPEG1 [mpg], MPEG2 [mpg], DivX [divx, avi].

So, how can they play 3D from USB?
(I don't know much about the Korean brands though...)

And with 3D, I assume you mention half resolution 3D (i.e. side by side files). The MKV container does not support a full resolution 3D format...
Only bluray disks can provide that (which you should consider if you like 3D...)

Gerhard
07-29-2011, 09:41 AM
Sound drops

I have a Technisat Digit Isio S1 Receiver connected to a 42PFL7696K02 by an HDMI-cable. My AV-receiver is connected to the tv-set via toslink. With this setup, sound-drops occur on a regular basis (tv and internet media)...

This is quite interesting as I thought this touches only the 2010 models and not the newer ones. I have a similar setup using a Technisat DigiKorder K2 connected via HDMI to the 40PFL9705 - latest fw - and still sound drops, esp. when having 5.1 sound.

The only question I have here is: Will that ever been solved by a fw update or as stated somewhere here around by a hardware upgrade?

Cheers,
Gerhard

Zikzik
07-29-2011, 11:14 AM
Please, be more accurate when you are writting something, as writting wrong information may be unfair.
Both panasonic and sony TVs do not support NTFS, thus they can handle files up to 4 GB, which means they cannot support most of the files containing a 720p movie.

Furthermore, all sony TVs do not support at all the matroska (MKV) container. The HX920 (their top model) supports: AVCHD [mts, m2ts], MP4 (AVC) [mp4], MP4 (MPEG4) [mp4], MPEG1 [mpg], MPEG2 [mpg], DivX [divx, avi].

So, how can they play 3D from USB?
(I don't know much about the Korean brands though...)

And with 3D, I assume you mention half resolution 3D (i.e. side by side files). The MKV container does not support a full resolution 3D format...
Only bluray disks can provide that (which you should consider if you like 3D...)

Panasonic/Sony do not support NTFS ? i try the GT30 for few days before i choose the 7xx6, just to let you know, the Panasonic have a full support NTFS and work good ! MP4/MKV container work beautiful on it !

And my friends have a sony 720 and this one (even the HX920) can play the MKV 3D and MKV anyway, DIVX HD Certification (un DIVX HD support MKV/MKV 3D) both (panasonic/Sony) support the NTFS and the MKV 3D.

This is unfair to say the true ? come on, stop lying and give the true information, if you want to have more people interrested to your product, make better update for your screen, every company support the NTFS and MKV/MKV3D

The Panasonic have the THX 3D Certification too, you don't have this one.

Like i said, i was thinking to give back my Philips 7xx6 (problem of clouding) and you don't give any good update support, you say wrong information, it's not because philips change the company than you need to be like that.

I can give you proof of what i say if you want about both screen

Even the LG LW4500 i saw support everything format of media and have the 2D->3D, i don't understand why philips lie like that about this possibility, when you know you use the same stuff of LG on your screen ! your screen Passive is from LG.

You know a bluray is a bluray... use the container MP4/H.264 etc... i probably know better than you that, because i work for it and i work on the movie industrie

petasis
07-29-2011, 07:18 PM
Panasonic/Sony do not support NTFS ? i try the GT30 for few days before i choose the 7xx6, just to let you know, the Panasonic have a full support NTFS and work good ! MP4/MKV container work beautiful on it !

And my friends have a sony 720 and this one (even the HX920) can play the MKV 3D and MKV anyway, DIVX HD Certification (un DIVX HD support MKV/MKV 3D) both (panasonic/Sony) support the NTFS and the MKV 3D.

For me, this info is not true. Panasonic & sony do NOT support NTFS, and sony does NOT support mkv.
Can you please post a link to an official page, saying what you say?
Or can you post a picture of a sony playing an MKV file, from an NTFS disk?
Or a panasonic, reading an NTFS disk?

This is from the VT30B manual (page 116):

USB Flash Memory (for playing back in Media Player)
USB Flash Memory format : FAT16, FAT32 or exFAT
A USB HDD formatted by PC is not supported in Media Player.

If your friend's 720 can play mkv from NTFS, I would like to see a photo that proves it...



I can give you proof of what i say if you want about both screen

Yes, I would like that, because all owners report the opposite of what you report.



i probably know better than you that, because i work for it and i work on the movie industrie

Ok, I am waiting for some proofs then, that support your claims...

To my understanding, Philips doesn't want to add new features, for any reason. I am not sure if asking to do miracles with a TV helps. A 2D -> 3D conversion needs hardware to do it, it cannot be added to a TV that doesn't already have it. Supporting MK3D is a reasonable request, but claiming that competition has it when its not, makes the claim less valid. MK3D is a very new protocol, that event media players do not yet widely support it. Let alone TVs...
I think that you have mistaken the ability of some makers (i.e. the Korean ones) to select side-by-side when playing mkv files from usb, as mk3d...

Anyway I think that your request is:
a) Add 2D -> 3D to 7606
b) Support for side by side/up down when playing mkv files from usb

The Korean brands do these (the Japanese brands don't), and Philips should answer your request...

Zikzik
07-29-2011, 08:00 PM
petasis :

You really don't know what your are talking about, i just said before i tested a GT30 few days (i have little problem with it and i don't like the 3D active) but every medias work good ! GT30 have a DIVX HD/THX 3D Certification like the VT30 or G30, they support the FAT/FAT32/EXFAT/NTFS !! how you explain my storage NTFS (1To) work on the GT30 ? how you explain the MKV etc... work good ?... tell me.

Like i said you don't know what you are saying, every actual brand support now the container MKV and even the NTFS, about the Sony the last update firmware make the NTFS possible.

Before i bought the Philips 7xx6, i have the GT30 and a LG before that and a C750 Samsung, only the Philips don't accept the NTFS/MKV and 3D playback, the 3 screens before Philips can read eveything without problem, the only problem actually i saw about the medias, it's the DTS ! this you can say don't have the support on every brand but whatever you can encode to AC3 o ACC.

About the 2d->3d conversion is not a problem hardware but software ! you need to update the algorithm of the passive, how you think you can make the dual gaming possible ?...

Come on this stuff is my work, you don't go explain to me how to do my job, thanks.

If Philips want to say wrong information for save customer, it's really a bad reason to show the philips have better product.

Now Philips again, if you want more people interested by your product give the same offer than the another company.

Philips use LG Passive screen low range on the 7xx6

And stop to show fake manual please and just before you say Panasonic don't support 4gb+, did you know the Exfat is like the NTFS ?...

Anyway the Panasonic support both... whatever about that and support every actual medias

Contour66
07-29-2011, 08:42 PM
I get the impression that Zikzik thinks that Petasis works for Philips, but is he really? What I read from his posts sofar, he is not.....
But anyhow, if he DOES or DOESN'T work for Philips, let's keep the tone friendly, we are just here to help each other......

Zikzik
07-30-2011, 04:54 PM
I Still thinking to give back my Philips 7xx6.

The reasons :

Philips don't give any full support of the product, no 2D->3D Conversion, No 3D playback, etc...
I have some problem of clouding really annoying and it's impossible to fix the problem by a update
The pixel HD work bad, the picture is not clean ! have a big problem of aliasing, pixel mapping, etcc... the quality of the 2D SD is bad even on a HD

I try every setting on it, i accuse the screen passive to make problem for the 2D picture, have some visible line of the passive on 2D.

I saw the same problem on a LG LW4500/5500, i was thinking maybe Philips fix the problem and with a better traitement but apparently not.

Be sure you take the good choice to take a Passive screen because the passive make some problem in 2D

petasis
07-30-2011, 05:02 PM
Well, I cannot leave uncommented that every other maker supports MKV 3D, while only the Korean brands actually do. We have to be as accurate as we can...

I am still waiting for a photo of 720 playing an MKV file, from a USB NTFS disk...

Zikzik
07-30-2011, 06:57 PM
Well, I cannot leave uncommented that every other maker supports MKV 3D, while only the Korean brands actually do. We have to be as accurate as we can...

I am still waiting for a photo of 720 playing an MKV file, from a USB NTFS disk...

Im tired, stop lying please... every actual brand support the MKV/NTFS.

Samsung support MKV/NTFS, LG Support MKV/NTFS, Panasonic support MKV/NTFS, Sony with a recent update support NTFS and already the MKV, Sharp i don't know i never tested, even some low brand support the MKV/NTFS, come on don't check the screen from 5 years ago but the actual screen of 2010/2011 please..

Only Philips don't give a full support, that's why i'm complaining about Philips, it's not because Philips change the company they need to don't give a good support !

Ok Philips have ambilight but don't make any sense to have this technology if you don't offer a good 2d quality picture

Actually the only media can't read on every brand is DTS, except Panasonic can read the DTS with severe frame skip but they work on it to give a update for this media.
the new VT30 series has improved media file type playback via DLNA/USB/SD and TV USB socket supports 1TB extrenal HDD/NTFS

Now stop go back the past and live on present, actually have only Philips don't give a good support, i still waiting Philips to give a good update, anyway i'm already like i said thinking to give back this Philips 7xx6 is the worst tv i have, i'm pretty disaspointed about the product

Philips release something not even finish, no good support, problem of clouding/lose light/problem of pixel mapping and a big aliasing problem, i never see that before on a screen but like i said i accuse the passive technology make problem for the 2D picture mixed with a technology like P+, make more problem to reproduction a clean picture for the SD and even for the HD.

To fix this on the Philips 7xx6 you need to put the sharpness at 0 ! even at 0 it's not enough to fix this big problem.

I ask everybod to test the model Passive of philips and compare the quality 2D picture with every another screen even with another model philips don't have passive.

Philips - Thomas
08-01-2011, 07:26 AM
Hey Guys,

please stay calm.
It is okay if you discuss in here and it is also okay and absolutly comprehensible that you put lots of erfforts in it.
But! what i have to read here is getting more and more on a personal base.
Again, please calm down and keep the Discussion on a professional base.
The last thing i want to do is to delete posts or ban users but thats whats going to happen if this will go on. Okay?

Thanks
Thomas

Zikzik
08-01-2011, 08:07 AM
Thomas

I'm not against Philips and just want to have a product work good but this make me disaspointed, i know Philips can do better than that.

Some questions for you

Are you thinking to support the 3D playback SBS-Up Over/Under on the Philips series 7xx6 ? (i'm sure you can do it)
It would be nice to have a new algorithm Passive can give more control of the 3D
Can you fix the P+ ? the filter passive from LG inside your Philips make some problem of Line and Aliasing on the picture, can you fix this ?...
Another problem, have some problem of turn on/off when the Philips are connected to the HDMI and the HDMI Side don't give
the possibility to use all the options P+/Picture control
Do you think is normal i have 3 dead pixel and some lost light on the right corner and under the tv near than the logo Philips

I don't want to give the Philips back for some reasons, the 3D Passive better than the 2D active and Design/Ambilight... but the this serie of Philips need some strong update to be really good.

I wait a strong update from Philips to fix some problem and give more support

TeunVR
08-13-2011, 10:09 PM
I bought a 47PFL7606 and i am almost happy with it.
There is a very annoying noise in the audio. If i mute the audio the noise is gone.
If i set the volume very low the noise is there everytime there is audio.
It looks to me like a software (audio decoding) issue, but i found out on hifi-forum.de that another guy with a 7606 is having the same issue, while somebody with a 7696 does not have it. Since the 7696 has different speakers it might be hardware related.
This is not acceptable, this tv is going back i think.
Especially since i bought this set because my Panasonic plasma was generating annoying noises.

Ge Someone
08-17-2011, 12:12 AM
This was the firmware version the 42PFL7606H came with. So far I discovered 2 flaws (in the first week).

first the short one: the "lounge light" function always switches off after about 10 seconds. That means it can't be used.

secondly the problems with the (HDMI) Audio Return Channel. In the Philips TV this is activated in the Easylink settings. It is connected to a recent Onkyo receiver which supports ARC over HDMI. After I figured everything out, it did work but only ONCE.
Later it started to annoy me that the TV would switch on when there was a HDMI signal, the volume from the TV changed the volume on the receiver too even if it was on a different program (like radio). So I changed the settings until the devices were independent again. Except the (builtin)TV speakers would not get back on (I had to switch off the receiver and the TV after disabling all Easylink features).
The idea was of course that I would switch the ARC back on whenever I would want the TV sound over the receiver. That seems impossible however. So I gave in and connected an optical cable from the TV to the receiver for those cases.
Still the TV sound will sometimes stop working (one time it was just very distorted), even being unavailable in the Adjust menu. When this happens it is after watching something from an other input of the receiver (like the Eminent 7080 media player) and then switching back to watching TV. Switching the TV off/on brings the sound back.

Tnolv
08-31-2011, 04:48 PM
I bought a Panasonic DMP-BDT110EG-K Blu-ray Player recently ;).
Similar to my sound problems with the Technisat the setup

Blu-ray - HDMI - 42PFL7696K02 - Toslink - PioneerAVR

doesn't work without sound problems :(.

Obviously the Philips does pass through HDMI sound signals properly...
Is there hope for a fix by an firmware update?



Sound drops

I have a Technisat Digit Isio S1 Receiver connected to a 42PFL7696K02 by an HDMI-cable. My AV-receiver is connected to the tv-set via toslink. With this setup, sound-drops occur on a regular basis (tv and internet media). No sound drops occur with a direct connection between Technisat and AV-receiver, so obviously this a bug in the signal processing of the tv-set.
The sound format in the Technisat is set to Bitstream and Dolby Digital. I believe I have read about this issue concerning the 7...5-series but thought, it had been solved on newer sets...

Another issue is the HDMI-CEC-feature of the Philips. The Technisat can control the Philips but not vice versa. It would be nice, if the Philips could switch the channels at least.

tovalb
09-01-2011, 09:24 AM
I got the same issue as TeunVR

"There is a very annoying noise in the audio. If i mute the audio the noise is gone.
If i set the volume very low the noise is there everytime there is audio."

I think this came after upgrading to the latest firmware.. Its not a big problem but its there

rofl
09-03-2011, 08:56 PM
When I mark my analogue presets from 1 to 30 as favourites, then after a while (1 or 2 days), the favourites mark is gone.Other favourites marks (digital presets 101 to 110) are preserved.

Shulaf
09-09-2011, 10:04 PM
Switching from nettv to tv satellite tv hangs very often, could this be fixed

Toengel
09-10-2011, 10:02 AM
HI,

did you try the new 10.105 firmware?

Toengel@Alex

Shulaf
09-10-2011, 11:29 PM
Yes tried that with no succes

JanPhilips
09-11-2011, 02:00 PM
Best Toengel,

On the internet I read some reviews on the 42pfl7606h about the standard settings concerning image settings from the manufacturer. It seems they are not really optimized.

So my question is what are the best settings concering image quality on this type of philips TV?

see links : http://www.digitalversus.com/philips-42pfl7606h-p364_11608_53.html


greetings JanPhilips

Toengel
09-11-2011, 02:51 PM
Hi,

each person has individual preferences... so there are no best settings...

Toengel@Alex

SevenW
09-17-2011, 08:33 AM
Hi,

I am experiencing many sound drops when using TV audio over ACR to a Marantz SR7005. Similar issues are reported many times before. It looks like it is solved for the xxx5 2010 line by a FW upgrade in april. So why do I have to sound drops on my new 42PDL7906?

Some additional information:
Sound drop occurs on DVB-C channels having audio in AC-3. (The ZIGGO HD channels mostly)
Sound drops do not occur (at least not observed) on DVB-C channels having audio in MPEG-1 layer2 (mp2) (The ZIGGO SD channels)

frequency of drops on HD channels is around 1 drop per 1-3 seconds.
No drops when audio is routed to the TV speakers.

Philips: Please get this solved in FW asap or give me any other advice to get this sorted out.

PS: Also the HDMI switching - no sound (or often distroted sound) problem bugs me!

SevenW

Toengel
09-17-2011, 09:32 AM
Hi,

did you tried the latest firmware 10.105? (This thread should be closed due to: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?2402-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0.10.105.0-for-6xx6T-and-7xx6H-K-M-T-series-(2011-models))

Toengel@Alex

SevenW
09-18-2011, 09:48 AM
Hi Toengel

Actually I already installed 105 FW, and the problems remained. So I posted the same on the proper thread.

There seems to be no history of changes available for the 105 FW.

Toengel
09-18-2011, 10:28 AM
Hi,

Q5551_0.10.105.0 (Date published: 2011-09-02)

• With this software your TV is CANAL READY certified.
• With this software your TV is ZIGGO certified.
• Vertical black bars appear onscreen with certain picture formats.
• Improvement on the channel installation stability.
• Improvement on the USB recording feature.
• Irish language is added to the menu language.
• Portuguese OSD translation error is corrected.
• Video delay (lipsync) observed through SCART and Component (Y Pb Pr) connection.
• Picture is over-stretched while watching certain channels. (Only applicable to country, UK)
• Audio drop-out when switching between digital channels. (Only applicable to country, UK)
• TV has no picture when switching between digital and analog channels. (Only applicable to country,UK)
• Subtitle is not display correctly. (Only applicable to country, UK)

Toengel@Alex

madlive
10-02-2011, 11:39 AM
Hi there,

It seems I am unable to install any newer firmware on my 42pfl7676/12. I use the installation instructions as stated in the online manual but, nothing happens upon insertion of a USB stick. When trying to flash from the menu I get the following error:
The identification file has not been written to the usb memory device

Any ideas as to what might go wrong here?

Toengel
10-02-2011, 04:27 PM
Hi,

can you play a MP3 file from this USB stick?

Toengel@Alex

madlive
10-02-2011, 04:55 PM
Hi,

can you play a MP3 file from this USB stick?

Toengel@Alex
Hi thanks for they reply (on a sunday), I tried another USB stick, and voila it worked out!

thanks!