PDA

View Full Version : Philips GoGear Muse 3rd Generation



Philips - Gary
07-07-2011, 12:31 PM
291


Enter, the third generation GoGear Muse MP4 player; CES Innovations Award Winner.

Here are a few of the features that wowed the judges:

• SafeSound technology which analyses listening and informs of potentially damaging volumes
• Sound Personalization, an intuitive way to change the equalizer settings
• LikeMusic, a feature in Philips Songbird which creates perfect playlists based on your listening

http://download.p4c.philips.com/files/s/sa3mus16s_02/sa3mus16s_02_pss_eng.pdf

kwinnie
07-26-2011, 09:17 AM
SafeSound seems interesting. Would like to know how that works... So basically you set somewhat of "volume barrier" and the device wont let you go across that volume level?

a_Tom
07-26-2011, 09:42 AM
a bit :)
you can set up a max sound and the Device would not go higher in the Volume.
There is also an option where you can set up a "safe sound zone" while using the Player, you can set the Volume to a high level, but the Player will always go back to that "safe zone" smoothly.
There is also a Statics option, where you can so for a Track if you heard this track too loud and how long youve heard it to loud.

kwinnie
07-26-2011, 09:54 AM
so will the device suggest what the "safe sound zone" will be? cuz by setting that myself, i think that's not gonna be too safe.
but i do like the idea of "the Player will always go back to that "safe zone" smoothly" , so i dont notice a drastic switch to the safe volume level

a_Tom
07-26-2011, 10:03 AM
oh sorry my mistake, i mixed that up with the "barrier". its an automatic which does that for you

Philips - Andrea
08-10-2011, 05:01 PM
Hi Kwinnie

Our new SafeSound feature has an auto safe sound volume setting, meaning it will gradually adjust the volume to a safe level.

Using the earphones provided, you can track your listening habits and view weekly statistics as a_Tom mentioned.

I'm really looking forward to trying it out over time!

Kind regards,
Andrea

Sync
08-11-2011, 03:44 PM
I found this interesting info on the website about the Muse and safe sound!

http://www.newscenter.philips.com/gb_en/standard/news/consumerlifestyle/20110707_gogear_muse_3_scores_a_hat_trick.wpd

ralphberner
11-25-2011, 12:37 PM
See bad ratings an Amazon. Totally unreliable product and absolutely useless hotline. I bought one but i littered that junk now. That was my bad joke for 2011 :mad:

kwinnie
11-29-2011, 07:55 AM
hi ralphberner,

how junk is it in your opinion... since here we would like to help each other...
i hv tried this device... seems to me that the sound is very good... iPod and iPhone cannot compare with this device.

for others,,, i may not have tested thoroughly

ralphberner
11-29-2011, 04:39 PM
You did't read the ratings on amazon, did you? :confused: The topic there is not the sound, but the firmware. I will post that comment after these lines especially for you. But before that i can share other experiences imade recently: Try this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=PLJDrs3j23c That video speaks for itself. 64 hours battery life for music and up to 64GB storage with additional sd card :cool: :cool:

And here is the comment from Amazon again to warn peaople against this gogear alpha prototype:
If these lines do't help you, close your eyes and ears and be happy.
-----------------
Frequent crashes / after switching it off (regular, no crash) it needs to press the reset button to boot again sometimes / firmwareupdate was not possible / hotline could not help / exchanged the product through Philips service / spare device came with even older firmware / firmwareupdate was not possible / I found out that the firmwareupdate was not possible on 64bit systems. The stupid songbird software didn't chweck this and the hotline was totally useless / did the firmwareupdate on 32bit system and it worked finally / This second device had same problems than the first device: / Device doesn't accept screen operations sometimes / It reacts on operations after a few seconds only sometimes. I never know if it got it now or not / Scrolling through albumcovers is very, very very slow. No bar to make fast moves or jumps / The Album cover is always(!) displayed as background screen too. You can hardly read white track information on white covers. This is an absolute stupidity, not only for those who have eye problems. Philips hotlines incredible answer: "You have to remove all covers from your tracks!" They mean that seriously. / Couldn't load the music onto the sd card in the device via usb. I had to remove the card and load the music through a card reader. / The device crashed again. It booted only if i removed the sd card after that crash. / I checked the card in my Pc with several tools. No problems found / Still did't boot with the card. I had to delete the whole music and copy it onto the card again to make the device boot again / If i switch the device on and do not make it play music within a minute, it crashes again --> reset button is my friend again / It crashes occasionally during playback --> reset button/ You can lock the device to avoid unwanted operations. a locked device can be unlocked by a certain movement on the screen. Due to the simplicity of the required movement, it unlocks itself when i keep it in my pocket an then i have the oh so funny random playback, which i love sooo much / 8 weeks after i bought it it crashed again today and booted without sd card only again. / Today, I let the thing drop on the flor and jumped on it several times, sweeped the remainings together and put it into the rubbish bin. That was great fun compared to the device itself.

People, let your fingers away from this!!!

Philips - Andrea
12-01-2011, 09:11 AM
See bad ratings an Amazon. Totally unreliable product and absolutely useless hotline. I bought one but i littered that junk now. That was my bad joke for 2011 :mad:

Dear ralphberner,

I am sorry to hear you have had a disappointing experience with your GoGear Muse, I'd like to reassure you that your experience is not representative of the product as we have received some great reviews of the product overall.

We do take these types of comments seriously and we will look into the problems you have reported.

Kind regards,

Andrea

ralphberner
12-01-2011, 09:49 AM
It didn't seem to me that Philips takes these comments seriously up to now and i don't believe in sudden changes. :confused: Well if it is so, you are welcome to send me a working device for free if it will erver work, wich i don't believe too.

I got my new Cowon J3 two days ago. I can tell you just 3 words. look and learn!

Philips - Andrea
12-01-2011, 12:00 PM
Dear ralphberner,

From what you have described, it would seem that your player is still inside the one year warranty our GoGear's come with.

So, in this instance I would recommend contacting your local customer support team to discuss your options to rectify the issue.

As you have not included your location, please find your local team from the link below:
http://www.philips.com/global/index.page#/headernav/support

Kindest regards,

Andrea

ralphberner
12-01-2011, 12:34 PM
As i wrote already:
I had two devices with identical problems. That tells me clearly that a replacement would be a complete waste of time again. This thing is engineered crap for shure as i decribed it in the review.

Furthermore it seems that you write a lot but read very little. Otherwise you had noticed that i littered that thing and there is no discussion about waranty any more.

Furthermore: If i look the very few ratings on amazon for the Gogear compared to the Cowon J3 for example, you can hardly tell me that this device is appreciated well. You better tell that to santa. lol

kwinnie
12-02-2011, 03:23 AM
havent tried that Cowon J3 and I seldom read reviews from amazon . :)
but i m glad that u find one that suits you :) and maybe yes as you said... lessons can be learnt

or you can tell us that are the main differences other than this : "64 hours battery life for music and up to 64GB storage with additional sd card" ?

ralphberner
12-02-2011, 08:44 PM
Well, if you really want to know the differences, there are many ways for enlightenment. Its not necessary that i repeat what you can find easily through friend google. I bet you didnt' watch the youtube video, did you?
If Philips is realy intrested to learn, 300 Dollar for a J3 shouldn't be a investment problem.
But just in short: All the trouble i had with the Gogear are vanished with the J3. It seems Cowon is able to write propper software in Korea. Sad enoght that Philips isn't.

zipias
04-05-2012, 02:21 AM
Hi
Iīm impressed with the sound quality of this player with my also great sony ex50lp earphones!!
The sound is bumping and it sounds hi-fi!

Nevertheless, I found some minor issues, like the lack of some within player smart playlists, like unrated music, year...and it has a sluggish album slide view.
Outside this, good player.

Hope Phillips will add new smart playlists on next firmware upgrade to easy navigate through files, for consumers full satisfaction ;)