PDA

View Full Version : Dark picture problem 42PES0001D/10



tkuyf
07-27-2011, 10:30 PM
Hi all,

I have been extremely happy with my Philips Essence but since a few days the picture in its standard settings becomes extremely dark I would have to put up brightness to 100 in order to see something. For instance I have tried the 123654 trick stated in an earlier message about the same TV model but that doesn't change (the brightness of) the colors. I am now looking at the CSM menus and I cannot read the text of the screen, thats how dark it is.

I have updated the firmware, resetted to factory defaults, took out cables and what not more, but to no avail. Please tell that this a buggy lightsensor or some other setting, because I do not think this is normal for a 2 year old premium model TV.

Any ideas or suggestions are more than welcome. There have been a few messages on the same model in the past days...is this coincidence?

T.Kuyf
Brussels

Philips - Thomas
07-28-2011, 06:28 AM
Hi tkuyf,

please get in contact with your Local Call Center.

http://www.support.philips.com/support/catalog_selector.jsp?COOKIE=off

Thanks
Thomas

JethroUK
07-28-2011, 07:42 AM
Hi tkuyf,

please get in contact with your Local Call Center.

http://www.support.philips.com/support/catalog_selector.jsp?COOKIE=off

Thanks
Thomas

I have the same problem and judging by your response it is a 'known' issue - shame you can't acknowledge it - presumably we'll get the same brush-off from Philips

tkuyf
07-28-2011, 10:38 AM
Hi tkuyf,

please get in contact with your Local Call Center.

http://www.support.philips.com/support/catalog_selector.jsp?COOKIE=off

Thanks
Thomas

Thomas,

Thanks for your reaction. I will get in touch with the support center and report back here.

ETell
07-31-2011, 06:18 PM
Hello,

I have the same problem. I had contact with the service center from Philips en de TV is now gone to be repaired.
I do not know the cause of the problem. Is your TV already repaired? Do you know what caused this problem? Did Philips give you details?
Thanks
Erik



Hi all,

I have been extremely happy with my Philips Essence but since a few days the picture in its standard settings becomes extremely dark I would have to put up brightness to 100 in order to see something. For instance I have tried the 123654 trick stated in an earlier message about the same TV model but that doesn't change (the brightness of) the colors. I am now looking at the CSM menus and I cannot read the text of the screen, thats how dark it is.

I have updated the firmware, resetted to factory defaults, took out cables and what not more, but to no avail. Please tell that this a buggy lightsensor or some other setting, because I do not think this is normal for a 2 year old premium model TV.

Any ideas or suggestions are more than welcome. There have been a few messages on the same model in the past days...is this coincidence?

T.Kuyf
Brussels

tkuyf
07-31-2011, 10:42 PM
Erik,
TV is going in for repair. Don't know what the problem is yet but I found a similar case on a forum where it was the control board which needed changing. Strangely since I pulled the plug out for a few minutes yesterday, the image seems fine, at least 24 hours and counting...
Would appreciate it if you share any news you will be getting if your tv gets repaired before mine. I must admit that even with the TV being out of warranty they have quoted me a reasonable fixed price for the repair and I don't think that amount will be enough if they do need to replace the control board...Even so, the problem is not supposed to be there in the first place on such a young tv.
Gr T.

ETell
08-01-2011, 06:49 PM
Hi T
I keep you informed. TV is to Ecare (firm) Duiven, Holland to be repaired. The lady on the phone from Ecare told me that there is a maximum I have to pay. Euro 272,00. I don’t know yet if that is reasonable. According Dutch common law we have ‘ conformiteitsvereiste’. Which means that the failure is not conform the life expectation that is reasonable for a machine like this. I already send a message to Philips about this, and I am waiting for a answer.
With regards
Erik

ETell
08-01-2011, 06:59 PM
Hi Bronse member,
Your message is from May. Is your TV already being repaired? Do you know what caused the problem.
Thanks.
With regards
Erik

ETell
08-05-2011, 06:29 PM
Hi TKuyf

Got the first message form e-care. They ordered a new front panel and LCD panel. I assume it's the monitor which caused the problem. They told me that these parts are expensive, but Philips will take a part in de costs. How much, I am not sure yet. But it seems that they have symphathy.

gr
Erik

ETell
08-12-2011, 09:10 AM
HTKUYF
Is there any news from your side??
greetings
T

tkuyf
08-21-2011, 12:10 PM
Hi Erik,

TV is being picked up tomorrow...so no news yet. Problem resurfaced though yesterday after a pause (unplugged) of 2 weeks while I was on holiday.

Will keep you posted
T

tkuyf
08-21-2011, 12:11 PM
By the way, did you already got your TV back?

ETell
08-21-2011, 03:27 PM
Hi Tkuyf
Nope. Not back yet. Made a telephone call Friday, to supplyer, Ecare and Philips.
Ecare is still working on it. They believe it will be fixed tomorrow. The expert was on holliday, grrrrr
They are waiting for him, because there is een change needed in the hub. Do not know what? He is back tomorrow.
So I expect a call tomorrow. Wait and see, nothing else i can do.
Keep you informed.
T



Hi Erik,

TV is being picked up tomorrow...so no news yet. Problem resurfaced though yesterday after a pause (unplugged) of 2 weeks while I was on holiday.

Will keep you posted
T

tkuyf
09-13-2011, 09:09 AM
Erik,

TV is being brought back tomorrow. They have replaced the entire LCD screen (which includes controlboard, etc). The good news is that they replaced it under warranty even though mine was just over the 2 year period!
Will report back when I actually get the TV back and have tested it.

Cheerz, T