PDA

View Full Version : BDP3200/12: no video on HD-DVB-C recording in mkv-container



flensrocker
08-02-2011, 08:52 AM
Hi,

I recorded some videos from german cable tv ("Das Erste HD", DVB-C, HD, 720p50 with AC3 audio). The video plays fine on my PC and on my second Blu-ray player (LG BD370). Unfortunately the BDP3200/12 (with firmware from 11.07.2011, serial begins with GS) doesn't show any video, audio is fine. It is connect via HDMI to a Denon AVR 1611 which is connected to a LG 42LD7020. Playing DVDs and Blu-rays or MPEG2 videos from USB is working fine.

I tried several tools to create a mkv- or avi-file (without reencoding the video, I would like to keep the original) from the elementary streams (demuxed with tsmuxer), namely mkvmerge, GDSmux, avidemux (on Windows platform).

Here's what MediaInfo says about the streams:

ID : 6010 (0x177A)
Menu ID : 132 (0x84)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=16, N=32
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 1h 28mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 3 209 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 11.5 Mbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 50.000 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.070
Stream size : 1.98 GiB (83%)
Color primaries : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177

ID : 6022 (0x1786)
Menu ID : 132 (0x84)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Codec ID : 6
Duration : 1h 28mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 448 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : 58ms
Stream size : 284 MiB (12%)
Language : German
Language, more info : Clean effects

Comparing the data to the manual it should be supported.

If I configure the player to use the native resolution on HDMI output my TV switches to 1280x720, so it seems it copes with the file in general. But all I see is the blu background image...

Has anyone successfully created a mkv-file with streams like these?
If you need more information, just ask. ;-)

Regards,
Lars.

Kiro
08-02-2011, 09:36 AM
Hi,

I would try with lower Reframes: 4 it should be ok.

let me know if it works ;)

flensrocker
08-02-2011, 10:03 AM
Hi,

I thought I could avoid reencoding the video because of loss in quality (and effort of time of course)... But I'll will give it a try for testing purpose.

Thanks!
Lars.

flensrocker
08-02-2011, 12:40 PM
According to http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/attachment.php?attachmentid=272&d=1305807479 the supported framerate varies from 6 to 30. I will also try a recode to 25fps the next days.

Lars.

Kiro
08-02-2011, 01:09 PM
Yep, you're right!

I didn't notice the 50 fps :rolleyes:


Andrea

flensrocker
08-02-2011, 06:31 PM
I reencoded the video with x264 and 50 fps but 3 ref-frames. Now the player has no problem. Seem's you were right. :-)

Now I can think about reencoding all my videos or find another solution...

Thanks!
Lars.

flensrocker
08-11-2011, 07:17 PM
Hi,

I made some tests with different encoder settings. The player plays 720p50 video with 5 ref-frames.

Here the info of a playable video:

Video
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 50.000 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Writing library : x264 core 94 r1564 a927654
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=hex / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.15 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-3 / threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / wpredb=1 / wpredp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=23.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
Anyone from Philips around who knows why the video from the first post isn't shown? It would be a pity if I have to reencode all my videos since there's always a lost in quality. And since there are Philips TVs which can display german DVB-C HD content (Das Erste, ZDF, arte) I'm sure it's possible to teach the player to also playing it.
Maybe I only have to patch a certain header field cause the firmware chokes on some bits?

Regards
Lars.

FSNAVI
08-15-2011, 02:44 PM
I contacted Philips support today with the same problem. The differences I found are in the GOP settings (GOP : M=16, N=32) which are not shown in the last file.
Still waiting for a response from Philips. I have several HD recordings from ARD, ZDF and ARTE burned on BlueRays. My old Samsung player has no problems with those disks, but my new BDP 5200-12 can' play those disks.

FSNAVI

Toengel
08-15-2011, 02:48 PM
Hi,

did you test it only from BD or also from USB... sometimes there are differences...

Toengel@Alex

FSNAVI
08-15-2011, 03:21 PM
Hi,

did you test it only from BD or also from USB... sometimes there are differences...

Toengel@Alex


I tested it from BD-R and also via USB. The same result. My test file is 20MB. I would very much appreciate to email this file somebody who can test this with the BDP 5200-12.


Regards
FSNAVI

Toengel
08-15-2011, 05:54 PM
Hi,

you can upload the video somewhere (e.g. megaupload)... and post the link.

Toengel@Alex

flensrocker
08-16-2011, 09:59 AM
Hi,

Nice to hear that I'm not the only one. Which tools do you use to get the video properties? Something different than MediaInfo?
I will try to re-encode the video with x264 and some settings to get as close to the original settings as possible to detect the culprit.
As written my LG BD370 plays this video without any problems, too.

Lars.

FSNAVI
08-16-2011, 10:28 AM
Hi,

Which tools do you use to get the video properties? Something different than MediaInfo?

Lars.

I'm using MediaInfo. Other tools show the same.


I will try to re-encode the video with x264 and some settings to get as close to the original settings as possible to detect the culprit.

I did that already and suppose that the gop structure is the culprit. *Format_Settings_GOP : M=16, N=32*

FSNAVI

flensrocker
08-16-2011, 12:08 PM
Hi,


I did that already and suppose that the gop structure is the culprit. *Format_Settings_GOP : M=16, N=32*
Yes, I read your post. I will double check, just to be sure.

Thanks for your help!

Lars.

Philips - Remko
08-23-2011, 10:28 AM
Hi flensrocker,

Please check your personal messages.

Regards

Philips - Remko
09-16-2011, 07:56 AM
Hi flensrocker,

You have a personal message.

Regards

flensrocker
01-15-2012, 03:52 PM
Hi,

My issues has been resolved with an upgrade to v1.72. Now it's possible to play recordings of german HD-DVB-C!!!

Thanks!

Lars.

Toengel
01-15-2012, 04:16 PM
Hi,

great - now Philips should integrate that fix into the 2010 devices, too ;-)

Toengel@Alex

joke
01-25-2012, 10:28 AM
@Remko: is this enhancement described in the SW history document?