PDA

View Full Version : 47PFL7606H / 12 1080p 60Hz 3D using PC source only 648p??



Maurice
08-06-2011, 08:10 AM
Hi all,

I tried using my PC as a source, it has an Asus Radeon EAH 6670 DC videocard and connected with the TV by with an ICIDU Ultra HDMI 1.4 cable.
PowerDVD is used as software to playback.
Everything has latest firmware and versions.
Desktop resolution is 1080p by 60Hz.

In powerDVD I changed the 3D display detection from 'Auto' to '120Hz time sequential'
After starting the playback the screen flicker for a moment and than comes back in 648p 3D with a large black ribbon. The TV recognised the 3D signal and 3D to 2D conversion is available in the menu.

I tried display detection setting to HDMI 1.4 3D 1080p and 720p without result (powerDVD crashes than)
I tried other desktop setting with no other result.

I hope someone knows what this behaviour of changing the resolution can cause.

Maurice
08-10-2011, 01:24 PM
Can someone confirm if the '120Hz time sequential' 3D mode at 1080p is supported with this #DTV?
If so I can continue troubleshooting on other fronts.

Toengel
08-10-2011, 02:00 PM
Hi,

I don't think 120 Hz is working on the TV...

Toengel@Alex

sngbcn
08-10-2011, 02:47 PM
Hi,

I agree with Alex, a 120Hz signal is not for LCD TVs but maybe for DLPs. Time sequential 3D is basically how a bluray stream would be send to the tv, and therefore the frame rate would be 48fps.

Regards,

Maurice
08-10-2011, 02:57 PM
Ok but basically it works but somehow something switches back to 648p @ 60Hz.
My graphics card supports the time sequential 3D.

So "sngbcn" you mean by that I should change my desktop setting to 1080p by 48Hz and try again?
Change to 24Hz or anything like 48Hz doesn't help either.

Thanks
Other options in powerdvd are:
Micro-polarizer LCD 3D (Row-interleaved) The video is shown but the effect isn't focusable
HDMI 1.4 enabled 3D TV (1080p 24Hz)
HDMI 1.4 enabled 3D TV (720p 60Hz)
HDMI 1.4 enabled 3D TV (720p 50Hz)
The HDMI options show all the error message "could not enable 3D playback try different device."
Non of then work at all.

Maurice
08-10-2011, 05:00 PM
I created a technical support ticket at asus.com. they're response was:


The 3D Resolution detection is tied to the Windows® desktop resolution.

1920 x 1080 resolution is limited to 24 Hz per eye over an HDMI connection.

1280 x 720 resolution is limited to 60 Hz per eye over an HDMI connection.

Maurice
08-10-2011, 07:15 PM
This was more a driver issue I fixed this by using the older driver provided by the manufacturer.
So now my desktop properties are 1920 x 1080 at 24 Hz and the setting in powerDVD is still '120Hz time sequential'. The TV changes to 3D mode and the resolution stay's now in 1080p.

sngbcn
08-11-2011, 07:05 AM
Hi Maurice,

When I wrote 48fps, this would be the same as 24fps per eye.

Just for curiosity: the HDMI1.4 options are still showing the error message?

If this is so I think it would be an indication that maybe the graphic card is not reading properly the EDID information of the TV or something like that.

Maurice
08-11-2011, 10:14 AM
Good question, I'll check that tonight.

Is there a tool that can show me the EDID information that the graphics card recieved?

sngbcn
08-11-2011, 10:43 AM
There are sw applications that can show you the EDID of the TV but that won't really give an indication of what the graphic card has read. That info (what the graphic card has read) would be shown in its control panel. But I don't know the path to the 3D options in the Catalyst center...

Toengel
08-11-2011, 10:45 AM
Hi,

see: http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/dump_edid.html

Toengel@Alex

sngbcn
08-11-2011, 10:52 AM
Hey Maurice,

Actually it seems there is an on-going issue with PDVD11 and HDMI 1.4 3D TVs:

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/30/17592.page

Maurice
08-11-2011, 06:32 PM
Just for curiosity: the HDMI1.4 options are still showing the error message?

I tested all modes:
HDMI 1.4 enabled 3D TV (1080p 24Hz)
HDMI 1.4 enabled 3D TV (720p 60Hz)
HDMI 1.4 enabled 3D TV (720p 50Hz)
And they work, everything works perfectly now.

Maurice
08-11-2011, 06:54 PM
@toengel thanks for the software.
@sngbcn I 've red that topic and I think too much of negative energy is released there. As in my situation, it isn't easy to find out where the error is hidding.

Thanks for your support here in the end it helped me out!

michaelu
09-28-2011, 07:11 AM
Hi, I am currently using PowerDVD 9 which was bundled with the BlueRay Drive, and I have the same problems when switching to 3D : "...try another device". When I understand Maurice correctly, then all he did was switch back to an older (!) version of the graphics driver, and now everything works fine? This does not really sound like a general solution for the rest of us.

Can someone please explain why PowerDvd says it "could not switch the display to 3D mode"? My rudimentary understanding is that the graphics card outputs 3D, and the TV detects the 3D and switches by itself. Are there really commands sent over HDMI to the TV to switch it? And the TV replies back? So is the problem between the graphics card and the TV, or between Power DVD and the graphics card?
I have a PDL9706K, and a Lenovo X121, Win7, 64bit. When playing 3D-Videos side by side , everything works fine, although I always must enable 3D on the TV manually. But the output of the BlueRay 3D via PowerDVD looks quite different on the screen. It seems the pictures for both eyes are sent, probably alternating, but the TV does not display the pictures for one eye only on the even/odd scan lines. Of course not, because it did not switch to 3D. And manually switching 3D on works only for side by side stuff.

I wonder if the graphics on the X121 is powerful enough. But then, why am I asked to try another output device? The Cyberlink BD 3D advisor stops directly after start, with the wonderful message "some resource is missing", so that did not help me either.

A trial download of PowerDVD11 did not even start. It asks me to register, I decline, and then nothing happens.

Given how easy it was to play "normal" blueray discs, I am quite baffled that 3D causes so much frustration!

michaelu
10-27-2011, 07:23 AM
After three days I gave up and bought a PS3. I did this after wading through lots of forum entries, especially on PowerDVD. There I read several recommendations that making 3D work is just not worth the effort, and even if it works once, it may stop working anytime, and worse, do other damages to the PC, e.g. suddenly the BluRay drive is no longer recognized as such. Instead of spending several dozen Euros/Dollars for PowerDVD, better buy a BluRay player for about the same amount of money.

Maurice
10-28-2011, 09:27 PM
For the record i had the same problem again. This issue is a driver problem. When i use the AMD/ATI catalyst driver the TV isn't recognised right. I downloaded the driver again from ASUS and now all is fine again. It is driver version 8.40