PDA

View Full Version : NP3500 Break between titles while playing via DLNA?



smart
08-13-2011, 12:58 PM
Hello,

I have read in the product feedback of amazon germany, that there is a break between titles while playing via DLNA. Is this really the case?

There are some albums which are mixed together, means that a break between two titles breaks the music experience. Like for audio CD, there are some having a break between titles of 2s-3s and some do not have that break.

So, I'm thinking about buying that NP3500 network player, but I don't want breaks between all the titles. Can this be turned of by settings, should that not be the case to have the break?

Somebody other experiences?

Greets and thanks for answers!

SoundWave
08-19-2011, 02:13 PM
I think that most streamium products will have a 'gap' in between songs due to the buffering process to be honest

kwinnie
08-22-2011, 07:18 AM
yes, i think having a break in between tracks is kinda normal for me, if that s not very long. i dont have this device, but i think for this kind of electronic devices (like what i have- BDP3200/ BDP5200/ BDP9600/ Philips MP3s), it's usually less than 1 second. that's acceptable?

yea, for my iphone as well, there s a break, but not a very long one...a lot less than a second...

smart
08-22-2011, 09:18 AM
Thanks for the answers!

I think having only a very small break might be ok for me. Some audio CDs have upt to 3s break. I thought the break is in that range. Smaller than 1s is better.

But I don't think, that it is impossible to remove that break because of using streaming.

Why does the buffering process lead to having a break? I think, the buffering should avoid breaks. You buffer the data to be resistant against network performance lags for example. So the player should be able to start buffering earlier/have a greater buffer to avoid it.

Philips - Gary
08-22-2011, 09:57 AM
Hi smart,

There will be a short gap between tracks but this should not be more than a few seconds as I see has been discussed. The reason for the short pause is the player needs to locate and buffer the next content for playback.

As you rightly mentioned this is to ensure smooth playback without any unwanted interference and lag. As the tracks are stored on your computer as individual files each one will need buffering before playback.

We would like to thank you for your valued feedback and we will look into whether we can reduce this gap in the future but cannot guarantee anything at present.

smart
08-22-2011, 05:41 PM
Thanks for you answer!

Would be great to have really smooth playback. There mix-CDs, classic concerts and there might be more music, which is seperated into different tracks to allow some navigation but should be listened without gaps.

kwinnie
08-23-2011, 07:37 AM
Hi Smart,

Hope you don't mind I summarize your suggestion here:
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?2027-Share-your-wish-list-here-What-features-would-you-like-your-audio-equip-to-have&p=11019#post11019

See if you have something to add. :D

Rgs, kwinnie

smart
08-23-2011, 11:41 AM
Done, thanks for the hint.

Oscar
08-23-2011, 12:15 PM
Agree with smart... Have about 100 mix cds and having breaks between tracks is very annoying