PDA

View Full Version : BDP3100 no home screen



dougal
09-04-2011, 09:33 PM
Hi folks, first time here.
I have a Philips BDP3100/05 blu-ray player.
It has been working well till now. I can't get the home screen to display and thereffore can't get to menus and such. It looks like the player is reading the disc because I can see chapters or whatever you want to call them and the amount of time passing.
Any ideas. I have removed the machine from the mains for about one minute to see if it will reset itself but, no luck. Is there another way to reset it before I take it back to the shop.
I don't think I have had a year out of it yet and its' not as if it gets used daily.

Thanks.

kwinnie
09-05-2011, 07:52 AM
ummm, sorry to have sounded stupid- but are you using the right source? and have you checked on your HDMI cable, maybe the signal lost?

dougal
09-05-2011, 08:57 AM
Thanks for the obvious kwinnie. At least you took time to try to help out.
Yes, I am very technical minded, having to deal with scientific equipment all day. I feel I have explored all that I can and just wondered if anyone knew some trick for perhaps resetting the player if that might be all that is required.
Thanks again.

kwinnie
09-05-2011, 09:05 AM
since to my knowledge, there are no reset available for Blu-ray.
You are already using the latest firmware right?

dougal
09-05-2011, 09:44 AM
kwinnie - I would love to check but, as I can't get to the Home screen I can't. Ho hum, I think I will take the player back to the shop and let them panic :cool:

dougal
09-05-2011, 09:45 AM
kwinnie - how do I get back to this Blu-ray forum without going round the houses again. I do find the forum site could be more straghtforward.

Thanks.

kwinnie
09-05-2011, 09:56 AM
I'm not sure if you mean to have a direct link to Blu-ray forum . If yes, the URL is www.philips.com/blurayforum

And sorry, my FW version question is stupid :o

dougal
09-05-2011, 10:01 AM
Thanks again.

dougal
09-06-2011, 09:23 AM
I feel like such an idiot... I decided to try the cable connection again last night before trying another cable if that didn't work.
Well it seems that the connection where the cable goes into the TV was not all the way in because I gave it a firm wiggle (note the technical term) and started the Blu-Ray player again, hey presto , I have a beautiful picture again.
Ah, life...

kwinnie
09-06-2011, 10:03 AM
glad you solved that