View Full Version : MyRemote and NP3900

09-19-2011, 05:19 PM

Sometimes MyRemote application on my smartphone Samsung sees the NP3900 and...sometimes it does not whilst Skifta (also running on my smartphone) sees it all the time. I can also access from my NP3900 music on my Twonky server and push music from Twonky to the NP3900.

So...obviously something wrong with MyRemote (as all other ways work).

09-19-2011, 05:34 PM
Today, after 3 - 4 unsuccessful attempts (restarting the application), it suddenly works. When it finds my NP3900, it is just fine, very handy, I can control all functions of my NP3900, good job.

10-21-2011, 07:59 AM
I can confirm this; I made the same expirience, this is very unstable.

10-21-2011, 08:20 AM
Well, since the new version of the NP3900, it works great with me, no complains. MyRemote works fine with my NP3900.

10-21-2011, 08:29 AM
New version of the NP3900? What do you mean? What is this new version? Or do you talk about the latest firmware?

10-21-2011, 08:43 AM
Yes, sorry, was talking about the new firmware.
Works fine now. Using it very frequently.
Some few problems time to time, but good enough.

10-21-2011, 08:50 AM
Do you use WLAN? If yes, how is the quality of the connection? How far is your NP3900 placed from the WLAN access point?

10-21-2011, 08:55 AM
Yes, I use WIFI.
I would say something like 10m away from my WIFI router and 2 rooms away.

10-21-2011, 08:57 AM
Does it work without problems? Do you have a stable WiFi connection? How is it encrypted (WEP, WPA, WPA2, ...)?
Im having issues with my WiFi connection and consider to return the NP3900 to the dealer, therefore I would be happy to read about your experiences.

10-21-2011, 09:23 AM
Yes, it works without any problems.
My WIFI is relatively stable, I need to reboot the router once a month...it is a router provided by Orange.
If you have WIFI issues, maybe it is related to your WIFI router and not the 3900.
Have you tried the NP3900 by placing it just next to your WIFI router?
WPA2 encryption.

10-21-2011, 09:33 AM
Thank you for the information. Other WiFi devices do not have any problems at all with my router, so I do not suspect the router to be the problem. But I will make some further tests ...

11-09-2011, 02:09 PM
(N.B., tez reports in another thread that he was able to work around the problem by replacing his router with another type.)


11-09-2011, 03:53 PM
@jdhood: You are correct; but what remains, that the NP3900 must not get into a situation, where it does not reconnect. Besides of that the WLAN access point used is no low cost product like many others, so it should work with the NP3900 in the same way it works with any other WLAN capable device!

11-21-2011, 03:45 PM
(N.B., tez reports in another thread that he was able to work around the problem by replacing his router with another type.)

http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ghlight=np3900 (http://cardrive.2kool4u.net)

Does it work without problems? Do you have a stable WiFi connection?

11-21-2011, 08:41 PM
The NP3900 has some Internet connection issues but it is not clear to me that these issues are any worse using Wi-Fi than when using CAT5 cabled Ethernet.

If you don't use MyRemote, SimplyShare, DLNA control point apps or Streamium Management and there is a good Internet connection then the player will run indefinitely.

If you use DLNA control point apps, SimplyShare, MyRemote or Streamium Management, or if you change channels a lot, or if you try to send a command before the previous one has completed, or if your Internet connection is intermittent then you run a chance of crashing the player.

11-21-2011, 09:06 PM
I changed from WiFi to cabled Ethernet; since I changed, I have no problems at all. With WiFi I had a lot of problems, like described above.

11-21-2011, 09:18 PM
I also stopped using the NP3900's Wi-Fi interface --- because the place where I want to use the NP3900 happens to have poor Wi-Fi reception. Now the NP3900 is connected to the LAN by means of cables and a pair of HomePlug AV powerline Ethernet adapters. This is a solution I would recommend to others in similar situations.

11-22-2011, 07:29 AM
I chose exactly the same solution, powerline Ethernet adapters.
It is very sad, that the NP3900 seems to be a great device (other than some of its predecessors), but Philips messed up the WLAN implementation. :(

11-22-2011, 11:20 AM
"Messed up" seems a bit strong. Its Wi-Fi reception is not outstanding and the NP3900 seems not to like some brands of access point, but within 15 meters of my Linksys WRT54G access point my NP3900 works equally well with Wi-Fi and cable Ethernet connections.

I wonder if we will start seeing built-in HomePlug AV in household electronic gear. It has advantages in comparison with Wi-Fi: easier to setup, more reliable, faster, less RF-polluting, better range in some cases.

11-22-2011, 11:32 AM
"Messed up" seems a bit strong...
The NP3900 is no cheap product. WiFi is no new technology. I do not own any other product, which has WiFi problems which are comparable with the NP3900.
Therefore from my point of view, Philips messed up with WiFi! Perhaps a later Firmware update brings corrections, but at this point Philips does not acknowledge any of the problems mentioned by me or other customers.