View Full Version : Problem BD playback, need advice.

09-28-2011, 08:57 AM
I recently purchased Fringe on Blu-Ray & although series 1 & 2 play & resume playback fine I'm having problems with series 3 discs, the first disc began fine but upon resuming playback the disc just spun in the drive for a few minutes then stopped, no picture or sound, tried accessing the menu with no result, display stated 'Playback', I tried the disc in my PS3 & there was no problem so it can't be the disc imo, inserting the other discs gives the same problem but immediately, it's as though it still thinks the first disc is inserted. Have tried other older BD discs with no problems.
Model: BDP3200/12, Firmware is 1.63.
My question is, is there a problem with the player or the discs or is it just a case of waiting 'til the next firmware update; can anyone say when that will be?

Thanks in advance.

09-28-2011, 09:24 AM
usually we will have some more testing...
1) do you have other blu-ray disc to try? does that play fine? in this way you can see if that's prob of your device....
2) do you have another blu-ray device? your PC supports blu-ray disc reading? in this way you can see if that's prob of your disc....

09-28-2011, 09:25 AM
if you cannot test scenario 1 and 2, maybe you have to leave the EAN (barcode) here...

09-28-2011, 11:23 AM
As stated all other BD play fine, even Fringe series 1 & 2 play fine, series 3 disc plays fine in my Playstation 3 & played fine in the philips player until I stopped it & turned if off, now whenever I try to play the disc nothing happens, tried removing the disc & reinserting it & have also tried the other discs from series 3 with the same result, being able to play the discs elsewhere & resume playback imo rules out there being a disc problem, that only leave a problem with the player which either can or cannot be rectified or requires a fw update & I already have the latest version.

09-29-2011, 12:15 PM
Do you have the EAN code so they can test it....

09-29-2011, 03:15 PM
Yes, there's several numbers so not too sure which is the ean #: 5051892028219. Catalogue# (from hmv.com website) 1000183318.
First time the disc played fine, it was only after I'd stopped the disc & then tried to resume playback all this began, tried the other discs from the set & none of them loaded either, now it doesn't seem to work at all no matter how often I remove the discs & reload.

09-30-2011, 07:13 AM
So all toher BDs you have (not fringe) work ok then?

Lets wait until they order them


09-30-2011, 08:10 AM

It seems you do not have the latest FW version installed yet. There is version V1.67 or V1.66 (depending on serial number).

Please check at the website the correct one and first install this.

Good luck!

09-30-2011, 08:37 AM
Running FW update on the machine says I have the latest version 1.63 so will try the online version & report back.

All my other BD play fine. The problematic BD playes fine on another player.

09-30-2011, 08:42 AM
then maybe you have to do a USB upgrade:

09-30-2011, 09:07 AM

if you do an update via USB, it is VERY IMPORTANT that you remove all discs BEFORE the process begin...


09-30-2011, 09:46 AM
The online update software seems to have rectified the problem, just shows that I shouldn't rely on the using the network update feature on the player.
Thanks to all for their advice & patience. :D

09-30-2011, 09:48 AM
Nice one :)

Think it shows how important it is that you ( almost ;) ) always have to make sure that you have the latest firmware installed

09-30-2011, 10:05 AM
Glad to hear that! :D

09-30-2011, 04:44 PM
True. when I bought the player the model # was 3200/05, I updated imediately & that changed to 3200/12 yet under my registered products it was still listed as 3200/05, it never occurred to me that when looking for update to search for 3200/12, I've now removed the original model # & added the new one.

09-30-2011, 10:04 PM
Spoke too soon, while disc 2 & 4 now seem to play disc 1 & 3 still don't load, also none of the extras will load as everything just freezes, can't move or do anything.

10-03-2011, 08:01 AM
disconnected internet already?

10-03-2011, 08:30 AM
That did work although the 4 disc's extras still freeze; I click on the feature I want to watch but nothing happens apart from everything freezing.

10-03-2011, 08:35 AM
for blu-ray disc, there s sometimes issue with the BD-live content. Imagine some of the content there is java for example and Blu-ray player does not read java originally...that's why some content cannot be played...

So when your device is connected to internet, it has a greater chance to hv playability issue...

see if this still persists without wifi dongle or Ethernet cable...

10-03-2011, 08:40 AM
The freezing still persists without the ethernet cable, the extra I want to watch is the Gag reel.

Philips - Remko
10-25-2011, 09:45 AM
Dear doctor9fan,

We have ordered the disc already some while ago but until today we have not received it yet. Once we
have the disc we will test it and come back to you with our testing results.


11-22-2011, 07:18 PM
We have had exactly the same problem on our player BDP7500BL/12. It has the latest firmware and I've reported it to support. hopefully they'll fix the problem soon.