PDA

View Full Version : Small flickering every 10 min while playing 3D through HDMI on Philips Cinema Gold TV



bluevoice
10-10-2011, 09:48 AM
Hi,

This is my setup: Philips Cinema Gold TV (50PFL7956H/12) and Bluray Player BDP 8000 (BDP8000/12). The bluray is connected to the tv through a Philips high speed HDMI cable (SWV3432S) via the HDMI (ARC) connection on the tv. The video output is 1080p/24Hz.

When you start to play a 3D Bluray the screen flickers once (seems that the TV detects the 3D signal) and asks if you want to enable viewing in 3D mode. When you choose to display the 3D version the screen keeps flickering briefly any 10 or 15 minutes. It seems like the tv is periodically checking to see of the signal is still 3d. You can also briefly see a white line on top of the tv. This occurs on all my 3D Bluray's (i.e. Legend of the Guardians, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs).

I contacted Philips support and they told me to reset the connection, to unplug the tv and bluray from electricity and wait a couple of minutes before plugging them back on.

This did not help in anyway. Are there more people experiencing this and is there something to do about it? The 3D image is gorgeous, if this could be solved than it would be a perfect 3D experience.

a_Tom
10-10-2011, 10:48 AM
make you have the latest FW (14.79) installed?

bluevoice
10-10-2011, 10:56 AM
Yes, I've installed the 014.079 software 4 days ago. I could not find any release notes about the things that have been fixed. Does it also address this issue?

smith
10-12-2011, 01:04 PM
I have also noticed a brief flickering on the 50PFL7956T/12 UK model but have not noticed a white
line.

Martien
10-17-2011, 08:43 AM
I have the same simular flickering problem on the 50PFL7956H/12 after installing firmware 000.014.080.000, 2011-10-11. With the previous firmware version I have no problem with flickering. Its appears on BlueRay 3D movies and half/SBS movies via mediaplayer.
To my understanding, the problem occurred after installing the latest firmware.

Does someone have a sollution for this problem?

Philips - Thomas
10-25-2011, 09:26 AM
Hi bluevoice,

please have a look into your PM's.

Regards
Thomas

bluevoice
11-10-2011, 12:25 PM
Hi all, I think I found the problem for this. I also had an Apple TV (1st generation) connected with a HDMI cable. I also had some other problems related to the Easylink connection and I thought I should try to disconnect all my other devices first. After disconnecting the Apple TV, I don't experience this problem any more. Looks like the Apple TV was "jamming" the signal some way.

I'll now investigate if it's the signal or the HDMI cable of the Apple TV that was the culprit.

bluevoice
11-14-2011, 02:37 PM
I'm not sure the Apple TV was the culprit anymore. Yesterday I started experiencing connection problems again, I suspect these are related to the Easylink somehow because I'm also experiencing resets with the tv sometimes when the TV gets a Easylink call from my HTS. I suppore there is a flaw somewhere in the firmware.