PDA

View Full Version : HTS9140 - doesn't start anymore since upgrade (sept 2011)



yoda68
10-17-2011, 06:15 PM
Hi,
Since I have upgraded online to the latest version of the firmware, I encounter many problems with the hts 9140.
- At first, the upgrade did not fill properly, and each time I tried to start the device, it tries to upgrade again. After calling support, I removed the network cable, restarted the device, and was then able to upgrade with firmware on a usb key.

Since this upgrade (can't remember the version, but it is today some weeks old, I would say the version from beginning of september):
- If the device is plugged in on network, I am unable to start a dvd/blueray disk, even not eject it ! I removed the net cable and then I am able to eject and play dvd/blueray discs again.
- Today (17.10.2011), our hts9140 just crashed on a mp3 located on the usb key and since then, I am not able to start the device again, with or without the cable plugged in !!! The device just keep saying 'starting' and no picture appears. You can remove the message while selecting a source, but nothing happens... no sound, no image, no dvd read, etc... argh....

Please help

kwinnie
10-18-2011, 06:23 AM
sorry i m not an expert but i have some questions:
1) can you confirm that the USB upgrade you did last time was completed and was successful?
2) the usb where the mp3 located is the same usb that contains the firmware and your firmware file is still inside the usb key?
3) when you plug in the mp3 located usb key in your device, was there any disc inside the disc tray?

yoda68
10-18-2011, 07:17 AM
Hi kwinnie,

1) yes, the usb upgrade complete properly
2) no, it's another usb key
3) I am not sure as I was not present, but I think there was no device in the blueray drive. (When I saw the issue, the drive was empty)

Thanks,
Yoda

Toengel
10-18-2011, 07:21 AM
Hi,

I suggest that you remove the power-plug for 2-3 minutes. Also a complete reset to factory defaults should be tested...

Toengel@Alex

@kwinnie - you have a full PM mailbox (again ^^)

kwinnie
10-18-2011, 09:05 AM
thanks Yoda,
i m just thinking if that s a software crashed.
maybe you tried Toengel's advice first... maybe you can go to advance> software version to see what version you are using and if that matches the one in web (as i can see that s v52.01)

hi Toengel,
it's weird that i have deleted some messages and i still cant see any incoming ones...

Toengel
10-18-2011, 09:19 AM
Hi,

@kwinnie
"kwinnie has exceeded their stored private messages quota and cannot accept further messages until they clear some space."

Maybe you should contact a moderator who can take a look at it...

Toengel@Alex

yoda68
10-18-2011, 11:27 AM
Hi,

I suggest that you remove the power-plug for 2-3 minutes. Also a complete reset to factory defaults should be tested...

Toengel@Alex

@kwinnie - you have a full PM mailbox (again ^^)

Hi, already tried power plug off (for 2 hours...), did not change anything.

I was unable to find how to factory reset... no button, nothing on screen...

yoda68
10-18-2011, 11:29 AM
thanks Yoda,
i m just thinking if that s a software crashed.
maybe you tried Toengel's advice first... maybe you can go to advance> software version to see what version you are using and if that matches the one in web (as i can see that s v52.01)

Hi, how could I without getting anything on screen ?

kwinnie
10-19-2011, 01:51 PM
yes nothing on screen... if you put a disc in, will the disc load?
i m just brainstorming ways to solve this... if a disc loads, maybe you can try downgrade solution/ try to burn the latest fw in a CD and let it load like you watch a dvd...

yoda68
10-19-2011, 02:16 PM
The disc just inserts, and nothing happens, even if you switch source to disk and hit play... and so on...

kwinnie
10-19-2011, 02:26 PM
ask more ...
1) how do you know there s a crash with the mp3 file? is there any error message?
followed by some stupid question:
2) you are using the correct source? on my tv: hdmi1; hdmi2; side hdmi
3) you plug in your hdmi cable or analogue cable firmly?

yoda68
10-19-2011, 03:49 PM
1) I haven't seen the issue, my wife reported it. The system just blocked while playing a usual mp3...
2) yes, double-trippled checked and tried on other hdmi source
3) yes, and tried with another hdmi cable as well...
gee...

Philips - Remko
10-21-2011, 10:54 AM
Dear yoda68,

please get in contact with your local call centre http://www.philips.com/

Regards,