PDA

View Full Version : can't install philips songbird!! help!!



wodnr2168
10-19-2011, 01:05 PM
i installed philips songbird with my muse sa3mus16s/37
but after i erased songbird. i tried to reinstall songbird, but it didn't work.
it keep saying
'an error occurred during the installation. please launch the installer again to install philips songbird'

after it goes over to 25%

i tried deleting philips in program files.
i tried deleting registry files.
someone help!!

i can't have my movies to muse.

kwinnie
10-19-2011, 01:11 PM
hmmmm let me guess what you have done...:

1) uninstall the songbird
2) delete the original songbird exe file
3) go to support website to download it again, for your case, it should be version 2.5.4: http://www.usa.philips.com/c/mp3-media-player/gogear-muse-16gb-sa3mus16s_37/prd/en/?t=support
4) install it and it doesn't complete?

kwinnie
10-19-2011, 01:13 PM
what formats are your movie files in? if that doesnt need to be converted, can you try drag & drop using just window explorer (i hate this term... i mean it's like you drag some files in your USB stick)

Cookie
10-19-2011, 01:28 PM
Did you run CCleaner (or similar), to get rid of all the leftovers?

wodnr2168
10-19-2011, 03:55 PM
hmmmm let me guess what you have done...:

1) uninstall the songbird
2) delete the original songbird exe file
3) go to support website to download it again, for your case, it should be version 2.5.4: http://www.usa.philips.com/c/mp3-media-player/gogear-muse-16gb-sa3mus16s_37/prd/en/?t=support
4) install it and it doesn't complete?

I did that. But it wouldn't complete
I used registry cleaner but just haven't used ccleaner

wodnr2168
10-19-2011, 03:57 PM
Well, after the update i can't drag video files to muse in explorer

kwinnie
10-20-2011, 03:11 AM
after the update?

wodnr2168
10-20-2011, 06:54 AM
didn't work

wodnr2168
10-20-2011, 06:56 AM
after the update?
yes after the update

scubaboyc
01-10-2012, 12:25 AM
So, did anyone figure out how to re-install?

I've run into the same problem.

Thanx

kwinnie
01-10-2012, 01:52 AM
hi scubaboyc, why you have to reinstall that? you cannot upgrade your firmware?

scubaboyc
01-10-2012, 03:08 AM
kwinnie,
To keep from reposting, below is the link to the other thread I started which details the issues I'm having.
I thought I was having a hardware issue, but I'm beginning to think it was soft(firm)ware.
I'm trying to reinstall before my new unit gets here to see if there was an issue with Songbird. I was on 2.5.6, but the download was for 2.5.4. I wanna play with it a bit just to see.

Thanks,
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?4049-Newbie-w-a

Philips - Katerina
08-24-2015, 09:28 AM
Hello participants of the thread and forum members in general!

Hopefully your issue was dealt with and you are no longer facing it. Since the thread has been silent for some time now, I will proceed by closing it. If you still have the same question about the same issue or any similar issues arise feel free to start a new thread or contact one of us moderators to open this thread again.

Kind regards
Philips Katerina