PDA

View Full Version : Firmware 14.84: Bugs, Feature Requests and needfull Featurs...



PaulPanzer
10-23-2011, 10:19 PM
Hallo,

i have replaced my LinVDR-Solution (PC with Linux, DVB-S and LinVDR) with a Philips 7606 (new Firmware).

But i'm missing some features, i have found a lot of bugs and other things...

External USB-Drives

- i must use two external Disks - one for USB-Recording, the other for my Data. Why Philipss doesn't use two different Partitions on the SAME Disk - Part 1 for USB-Recording, Part 2 for my own data
- now power down of the external Harddisk: The disk is always on (power) - with Powermanagement you can power down the Harddisk after 10 Minutes
- after the end Recording (via Timer) the TV is stil read/write to the USB-Drive

USB-Recording

- I cant switch to external Sources during USB-Recording - Why?
- Fast Forwad: I can only jump in 1s-Steps - please implement fast Forward or jumping to a specific mark

Usability
- Direct Acces for the Programguide on the Remote Control
- Missing a Channel editor for PC or export the list, edit with pc and import


Thanks!

Paul

Philips - Thomas
10-24-2011, 10:10 AM
Hi

We do not support Partitions but you are Free to use a selfpowered USB Hub with DIfferent Sticks or HDDs.
As long as the TV is in Stand By the HDD will not power down. The HDD will shut down if you switch off the TV directly (Hardware Switch).
The TV is allways active, also with its external components therefor read/write activities are normal.

For your Request, we will catch that up and see if there is anything we c an do on that Things.
But, no promises.

Regards
Thomas

PaulPanzer
10-24-2011, 05:22 PM
Hi

We do not support Partitions but you are Free to use a selfpowered USB Hub with DIfferent Sticks or HDDs.
As long as the TV is in Stand By the HDD will not power down. The HDD will shut down if you switch off the TV directly (Hardware Switch).
The TV is allways active, also with its external components therefor read/write activities are normal.

For your Request, we will catch that up and see if there is anything we c an do on that Things.
But, no promises.

Regards
Thomas

Thomas, Thank you for the response of my questions.

Yes, i know that i can use an external Hub to connect TWO Harddisks (but unneccessary noise, Power consumption, costs) - but with an adequate Design you can use Partitions. I must connect three different Types of Media to my Philip: one Storage for USB-Recording, one for my media and the third SD-Card for videos. That's not up to date....

Also your handling of "power down" of the harddisks - every actually OS shuts down unused Harddisks after a specific time (when you are using Linux as OS all these features - Power down, Handling of Partitions, etc. - is build in the OS)

Thanks

Paul

matthias
11-04-2011, 05:45 PM
Hi,

concerning partitions: haven't checked that myself, but you could try the following:

1. Let the TV format the harddrive for recording
2. Hook up the HDD to a Linux machine and check the partition type (e.g. with fdisk)

If it's anything familiar (ext2/3, reiserfs, etc.) you could
3. check if there are resizing tools, resize the partition and
4. create a second partition where you put your data.
5. check if the TV still accepts it both as recording and USB playback device

If it's anything RAW you could experiment: force it smaller with fdisk and create a 2nd partition, but expect your 2nd partition to be overwritten if you record large files.

Just an idea and dirty hack, but if you feel like, try it and let us know if it works ;-)

My guess is that NTFS write support is too slow and FAT32 doesn't offer large enough files, so the TV requires either RAW on sda1 or a common (fast) Linux filesystem.

Have fun!

matthias
11-04-2011, 05:49 PM
about the "power down" issue: I noticed that after switching to standby, the hdd remains powered up, but only a few minutes, and then powers down completly, including any USB device.

I guess this is related to the automatic scanning for channel updates.
when this is finished, even in standby, the hdd is turned of and beside the red LED, power consumption is <0.1 W (on my cheap Wattmeter).

ivan_stz
11-09-2011, 11:22 PM
Hi,

First thanks for adding support of usb subtitles!
Is there some possibility to add encoding for subtitle files becouse now when i watch some movie subtitles look like that " Икономическата криза продължава" :) I tried to conver sub file, but no success.
If character encoding is different from Ascii (in my case Cyrillic) no subtitles are loaded.
sorry if my question is not in the correct section.

Toengel
11-10-2011, 07:48 AM
Hi,

try to convert your SRT file to UTF8 - you can use Notepad++ for example. And please report back, if that change something.

Toengel@Alex

ivan_stz
11-19-2011, 04:46 PM
Nothing changed. i tried this previously. Encoding have to be Cyrilic. If UTF-8 subs don' t show up. And now i noticed that when i switch On tv after about 1:30h working, he turn off automaticaly. All auto tutn off settings are disabled. Any ideas?

Toengel
11-19-2011, 06:28 PM
Hi,

it's a known bug with 14.84...

Toengel@Alex