PDA

View Full Version : 32PFL5406H Digital tuner problems ?



VibSun
10-30-2011, 12:18 PM
I just upgraded the TV in the house from analog to digital, so we can optimize the bill for the big Danish cable supplier Yousee.

But since I got the new Philips TV, it have not been anything else than trouble. And I start to think that the Digital tuner in 32PFL5406H series is very bad.

My situation is that I got 1 new Philips TV to the living room (40PFL6626T), and it work perfect. But I also got 2 pcs. of 32PFL5406H to my children, there not is working OK.

The situation is that on the 40PFL6626T my signal quality is about 90%, but when I put the same cable into the 32PFL5406H it show 20-30% signal quality. And with the latest software it say about 46% signal quality, but still no picture - all time.
But can anybody tell me why 2 brand new Philips not report the same signal quality ?

When I then turn the 32PFL5406H to some of the analog channel from yousee, it show signal quality 100%. But I buy the TV to shift to Digital, but it tell me that there is something bad in the digital tuner.

I have 2 TV with the same problem, and I have got it shifted 1 time add the shop. So it must be a 5000-series problem ?

Have anybody else had problem with the digital tuner in 32PFL5406H ?

Because since I got this TV, by children have not had TV... WHAT TO DO ???

And the TV is sold as "Yousee Ready", so it must have passed some test ?

HELP !!!!!

Toengel
10-30-2011, 12:32 PM
Hi,

what digital tuner are you using? Cable or Terrestical?

Toengel@Alex

VibSun
10-30-2011, 01:42 PM
I'am using the DVB-C tuner, since I have cable TV from YouSee. And this is the problem.

Becouse when I look on the standard analog signal from the cable supplyer, it show 100% signal quality.

And I have checked the setting 3-4 times, with the Philips Support staff, from the hotline.

In fact I have so big signal problem with this 5000 serie TV, that I have to look for new channel 2-3 times, to find some...

And know 4 pcs. TV with same problem. And no problem 6000 serie, in the living room.

I get gray hair !!!!

hansje
10-30-2011, 08:59 PM
is the software uptodate for these tv's?
which software version is in the tv?

VibSun
10-31-2011, 02:51 PM
The software installed is the newest 2.18 from the website. And the one included on the TV, when delivered about 2 weeks ago was 2.12.

But the 2 versions give different reporting in Signal Quality.
The 2.12 give about 15-25% in signal Quality on the DVB-C and
2.18 give about 46%. But the result is the same, no stable TV. Sometime there is a picture, and sometime not.

But with the 2.18 is the analog Signal quality 100%...

a_Tom
11-02-2011, 08:38 AM
what happens if you connect the 5xxx on a completly different cable (not in your house)?

VibSun
11-02-2011, 03:31 PM
Have not tryed. Since I think when a 6xxx have no problem. A 5xxx must show the same.

a_Tom
11-04-2011, 10:23 AM
give it a try

VibSun
11-04-2011, 01:30 PM
I have asked the cable company to come and test my signal quality.

But as the TV dealer sayed, the Digital Tuner in 5000 serie, is not so good as the one in 6000 serie. And maybe the signal quality form the cable company, is not good. And becouse of a better tuner in 6000 serie, the picture is good there.

But let see, becouse the 5000 serie TV works like sun. Some time you can se it and some time not... And it is most NOT....

VibSun
11-07-2011, 10:54 AM
Know the cable company (YouSee) have bin here. And the test was:

MER 33-35 dbmv
dbmv 48-56
Ber <1-8

And this was what the teknical person called: God to perfect

So since the TV is tested as "YouSee Ready", I'am afried I have to say: Do not buy 5000 serie, since IT HAVE BAD DIGITAL TUNER.

The shop have with the new information offered a Samsung, with better digital tuner as thay say.

Is Phillips so bad quality ?

Philips - Thomas
11-08-2011, 11:29 AM
Hi

Please get in contact with your Local Call Center:
http://www.support.philips.com/support/catalog_selector.jsp?COOKIE=off

Regards
Thomas

VibSun
11-08-2011, 01:08 PM
I have contacted the Philips call center, and thay given up. And asked your local repair company to look on the TV.

But as the dealer say, if we send the TV to repair, and the result is that it is OK. It is your problem you can not see TV. Becouse then the Cabel Company and the Repair company say both it is ok.

So it start to look like the only way I can get a TV, there works every day. Is to accept a UE32D4004 Samsung TV, as the dealer ask me to do. Since the digital tuner is much better in samsung he say.

VibSun
11-30-2011, 09:53 PM
Repair take time... So know have the 32PFL5406H bin to repair, 2 weeks. Hope the teknical pepole find a solution. Since my children have know not had a TV about 2 mounth.

So my children is not so happy, about Phillips, Elgiganten and there Dad there give them 2 brand new TV.

I hope Elgiganten start to give customer service.

Hope to have TV there work this year...