PDA

View Full Version : IP-EPG usability (speed, font size, UI)



matthias
11-02-2011, 09:21 PM
Hi,

I'm not sure if there already is a thread for this. I tried searching for IP-EPG, found a lot of threads but no title seemed to be about actual usability. If I missed it, please merge ;-)

Got my new 32PFL7606K a few days ago, updated the firmware to 014.084.000 and really like it, despite a few "arrrggh" moments ;-)

The IP-EPG is a really good idea, because the DVB-EPG was never uptodate for all channels.
I like the channel images!

But I have a few remarks:

1. page-up / page-down with Ch-/Ch+
Scrolling through the IP-EPG is really painstakingly slow, compared to the DVB-EPG. It takes almost a second to scroll down or left or right. Also, I can also step channel-by-channel, not page-wise.
And on every "new-page", the refresh takes another 3-5seconds.

Is there ANY way of accelerating this? As it is currently, it's unfortunately really painful to use on a regular basis.
update: feels faster now. might be a server load issue at Philips side?

2. locate entry for currently selected channel for analog DVB-C channels
When watching an analog channel, IP-EPG always starts at channel 1, but it should jump to the channel I currently watch.
It works for digital channels.

3. show summary on listing page
Layout: Instead of the ad on the left, it would be great to have window with the summary - especially as saying "Ok" to get details takes another 3-5 seconds and another 5 seconds to go back to the list.
-> actually, with the faster speed, this was bearable now. might be difficult to cram into the layout...

update:
(4. Don't list "hidden" channels in IP-EPG)
When I have channels marked as "hidden" (e.g. because they are encrypted), the still appear in the list.
-> solved. "Reload page" in EPG is not enough. Requires poweroff to remove hidden channels from list

(5. Show channel number
A nice-to-have: I'd like to see the channel number in another column. Would help in walking through.)
-> yeah, agreed, not really important

Beside all that and except the speed - nice work!

6. bigger font size: It's almost Ok, but I'd prefer it a _little_ bigger on my 32PFL


Thanks,

Matthias

matthias
11-03-2011, 01:57 AM
Hmm, that's strange, I just tried it again, and the response is actually not bad right now for scrolling. For "Details", it's still lagging, but actually bearable. Very nice!

I'll keep watching if responsiveness changes again.

Toengel
11-03-2011, 07:46 AM
Hi,

to 2) of your list - this works for my - the IP-EPG jumps automatically to the actual channel... (2010 device, DVB-C + analog).

Toengel@Alex (Toengel@Alex)

smart
11-03-2011, 09:04 AM
Hello,

regarding point 1, I fully agree. This would be a really valuable improvement.
For point 2, it also works on my side 42PFL7695K/02 with DVB-C.
For point 3, sure this would be better. But where to locate the ad then? Without ad is also ok for me...
For point 5, why the need of channel numbers? I select the channel directly from EPG. Normally I do not really make use of all that channel numbers, I use the number key like favorite buttons and only know the first few channels by channel number. I select all others with the menu. There are so many channels, I can't remember them anyhow.
For point 6, I fully agree. I also wish a large font for the text.

matthias
11-03-2011, 02:43 PM
Ah, just found out why point 2) didn't work for me.
I'm using DVB-C with analog and digital channels, and jumping to the currently watched channel does only work for digital channels, not for analog.

I said "identify channel" on that EPG entry, so the program guide is actually showing correctly, and I can select that channel by selecting the station logo.

Just the other way round, it doesn't work for analog channels.

Toengel
11-03-2011, 02:50 PM
Hi,

I have digital and analog in one list (favorite list). And it works for analog as well as for digital channels. However, the order of my channels is the same for favorite list and overall list.

Toengel@Alex

matthias
11-03-2011, 02:54 PM
Hi,

hmm, that's interesting. I'm not using "favourite list", so I guess my order is the same as I didn't change it.

Still - just tried again, on my 32PFL7606K with Q5551-0.14.84.0_bld7a, analog channels (e.g. on 304) jump to the first IP-EPG entry.

Any ideas what else I can try?

Toengel
11-03-2011, 02:56 PM
Hi,

try to move the channels to the beginning of the (overall) list...

Toengel@Alex

matthias
11-03-2011, 03:12 PM
Ok, just tried moving 303 to the front (15), and tested it again.
Digital channel (14 and 16) jumped to the right location, the analog channel (15) jumped to 1.

Toengel
11-03-2011, 03:15 PM
Hi,

did you choose the overall list in TV mode? The IP-EPG only shows the order of the overall list... Maybe it only works if you fill the list from the beginning...

So try to fill the 1 to 5 and test again...

Toengel@Alex

matthias
11-03-2011, 03:27 PM
Not sure I understand. I have no list selected ("Liste wählen" -> "Alle")
In this list, all places (1-20) are filled, 15 is the analog channel, still 15 jumps to 1, the others are OK.

matthias
11-04-2011, 11:22 AM
Hmm, still not working. I did a channel rescan - didn't help,
did Reset NetTV - didn't help
then did a full reset ("Werkseinstellungen" then "Fernseher neu einrichten") - didn't help.

Digital channels map fine, analog DVB-C channels don't - no matter if they are at >300 or <10.

My feeling is that it is the combination of the 32pfl7606K and my firmware (Q5551-0.14.84.0_bld7a).

Can anyone try to reproduce point 2) on this combination or are there any other ideas?

Thanks,
Matthias

EdgarPrao
11-28-2011, 12:49 PM
1. page-up / page-down with Ch-/Ch+
I would really appreciate that!

5. Show channel number
I would really appreciate that!

6. bigger font size:
I would like a smaller font size to see more channels at once in the EPG on my 52" TV. Since the EPG pages know the TV model it would be fine to get the appropriate font size dependent on the size of TV the EPG is shown on.

matthias
03-12-2012, 11:21 AM
I'd like to bring this up again, as even after the update to gracenote, nothing has changed -
not even the bug (2. not jumping to analog channels in the IPG) has been fixed.

Please, Philips, at least fix that annoying bug!

(2.)locate entry for currently selected channel for analog DVB-C channels
When watching an analog channel, IP-EPG always starts at channel 1, but it should jump to the channel I currently watch.
It works for digital channels.

Thanks