PDA

View Full Version : BDP3000 Blank Screen for a few seconds when watching a DVD or Blu Ray



dogma
11-09-2011, 09:47 AM
I've a BDP3000 running the latest v1142.1 firmwareand am still experiencing a problem where periodically when watching any DVD or Blu Ray the screen on my TV (Sony LCD) will go blank for 2-3 seconds and then the movie will come back.

I can see there are numerous posts on forums on the Internet regarding this exact problem with this Blu Ray player and I've tried different HDMI cables and different resolution settings on the Blu Ray player but can't resolve the problem.

Can anyone at Philips confirm if this is a known issue or not?

I upgraded to the latest firmware hoping this would fix the problem but it didn't and the firmware release notes are extremely vague so I'm not sure what v1142.1 fixes anyway.

Any assistance on this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading this.

Oscar
11-09-2011, 09:56 AM
Have seen this before but only with Sony Tvīs and no others, did you try on another one also to see what happens??

dogma
11-09-2011, 11:32 AM
Hi,

Thanks for the reply - both my TV's are Sony unfortunately but I could see if I can test this on another one.

However, other posts I've found on other forums that indicate this problem aren't Sony specific

For example....

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-ray-dvd-players/1233993-picture-drop-out-bdp3000.html

kwinnie
11-10-2011, 07:52 AM
periodically means how frequent?

dogma
11-10-2011, 09:27 AM
It does it on every DVD and Blu Ray I've tried and it's typically every 20-30 minutes but does vary. I've tried setting the resolution to 720p, 1080i, etc on the player and it doesn't make any difference.

Pacman
11-10-2011, 10:51 AM
Did you try a different a different HDMI entry, instead of 1 on 2 ( if your tv has it ofcourse :) ), or did that not make any difference??

dogma
11-10-2011, 11:07 AM
Yes it has 3 HDMI inputs and it does it on all 3. I've also got other HD devices and they work without issue - I've also tried it with just the Blu-Ray player plugged in.

kwinnie
11-11-2011, 02:31 AM
sometimes, during play if it's blank out for 2-3 seconds (which i consider this to be quite long), this can be because of the memory usage... if there s not enough memory to process the files, the playback will be stopped so as to release more memory to load the file...

so what i suggest the following steps one by one...all steps helps releasing more memory for the player...
1) disconnect it from internet
2) disable the screensaver
3) try setting it to factory settings

dogma
11-11-2011, 01:26 PM
Thanks for your reply. The only thing I haven't done is turn off the screensaver (assuming it's on by default) so will try that. It's been at factory settings since I upgraded the firmware (although I have tried lower resolutions like 720p with no improvement). I don't have it connected to the internet.

This can't be solved with a firmware upgrade then I assume as it's the hardware in the machine that is the limitation/problem?

smp
11-12-2011, 12:17 PM
Most probably it's a bad contact in the player's HDMI port.

dogma
11-26-2011, 10:40 PM
sometimes, during play if it's blank out for 2-3 seconds (which i consider this to be quite long), this can be because of the memory usage... if there s not enough memory to process the files, the playback will be stopped so as to release more memory to load the file...

so what i suggest the following steps one by one...all steps helps releasing more memory for the player...
1) disconnect it from internet
2) disable the screensaver
3) try setting it to factory settings

Have been testing with these suggestions. As I indicated previously it's not connected to the internet and is running with factory settings. I've disabled the screensaver and it's made some difference. The player only shows a blank screen approximately every 50 minutes to 1 hour now so your suggestion regarding the player releasing memory periodically sounds correct. Will Philips be able to release an updated firmware to fix this completely or is the hardware the limitation? Seems a little crazy that it's not upto the job its designed to do. I'm wondering now if I should continue putting up with the annoyance or just buy a replacement brand.

kwinnie
11-29-2011, 06:14 AM
is your file that demanding i wonder that it shows blank screen 50 mins to 1 hour...
this to me is quite frequent.

can you advise more on the video that you play? is that a disc?

dogma
11-29-2011, 08:05 AM
If you are looking for examples I've recently seen the problem with Spiderman 3 (Blu Ray), Bridesmaids (DVD) and Star Wars Revenge of the Sith (DVD)

runes
01-03-2012, 12:16 PM
Hi,
I have exactly same problems with my new BDP7600T player connected via HDMI1 to Philips 47PFL7606T set. TV screen loose video signal for some seconds and this occur rather randomly. I have updated both sets with latest firmware and problem still occur. (use short high speed hdmi 1.4 cable) Any new updates on this issue?? Philips?

Latest BD movie with this problem : "Castaway on the moon"

dogma
01-03-2012, 12:36 PM
I'd also appreciate an update on this if possible?

shorts
01-04-2012, 09:46 PM
Hello there,
My Mum is suffering the same problem with her BDP3000 and a Samsung screen(LE37B652t4w), It goes blank for a few seconds and picks up where it stopped. This is most annoying I have tried different HDMI leads, different channels on the TV, updated to the latest firmware, but to no avail sadly.
Watching Sherlock Holmes BD it stopped three times in eight minutes, which is frustating this appears to be getting worse as the player gets older.

As previously mentioned in this thread it has been mentioned about the player running out of memory would a flashdrive being plugged help this solve this problem ?

This player is not connected to the internet

kwinnie
01-05-2012, 12:54 AM
hi shorts, you have tried all below?

1) disconnect it from internet
2) disable the screensaver
3) try setting it to factory settings

i dont think putting a flashdrive/ SD card helps, as this does not add up to the processing memory :)

shorts
01-05-2012, 03:40 PM
Hello kwinnie,

This player has never been plugged into the internet, I hadnt disabled the screensaver, so this has been disabled now and I have told my Mum to watch another film! many thanks for you quick reply.

Another point I wonder if it makes any difference this happens when watching Dvd's as well.

kwinnie
01-06-2012, 12:51 AM
usually when watching DVD, the memory needed to process the file is less when compared to that of Blu-ray.
so, if Blu-rays are fine, i guess DVDs will be fine also.

shorts
01-06-2012, 07:16 AM
Maybe its just a faulty machine and needs to be replaced, sadly it is out of warranty, any suggestions/reccomendations?

Pacman
01-09-2012, 07:52 AM
Hi Shorts, you have the latest FW on their I assume.

shorts
01-09-2012, 08:49 AM
Hi Shorts, you have the latest FW on their I assume.

Yes latest firmware is installed.

Pacman
01-09-2012, 11:47 AM
That doesnīt look good then.........

dogma
02-01-2012, 01:43 PM
Hello Philips

Will we ever get any feedback on these issues? It's clear I'm not the only one reporting this problem and I'd like to know if you've been able to reproduce it or not?

Pacman
02-01-2012, 02:20 PM
I see Samsung and Sony here. Shorts did you test on other tv sets to see if it happens there..

pfoomer
02-01-2012, 04:03 PM
Hi

I appear to be suffering the same problem, started a thread specifically as I have a BDP3200 and a 32pfl3605.

http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?4386-BDP3200-12-and-32pfl3605-05-intermittent-signal-loss.


Lets hope this gets fixed, and soon.:mad:

Philips - Remko
02-02-2012, 09:15 AM
Dear All,

As this looks like a defect in the BDP service intervention will be needed. In case you need more information on the service, please call your local call centre http://www.support.philips.com/support/catalog_selector.jsp?COOKIE=off

Regards,

pfoomer
02-02-2012, 09:45 AM
Dear All,

As this looks like a defect in the BDP service intervention will be needed. In case you need more information on the service, please call your local call centre http://www.support.philips.com/support/catalog_selector.jsp?COOKIE=off

Regards,

Please can you inform me as to what they can do over the phone?

Can I send the issue to them via email.

Are you suggesting the bdp3200 is defective?

dogma
02-02-2012, 03:00 PM
I'm also not clear on what you are indicating here. Are you indicating my BDP3000 is defective? Should I point them to this forum?

pfoomer
02-02-2012, 04:08 PM
Please can you inform me as to what they can do over the phone?

Can I send the issue to them via email.

Are you suggesting the bdp3200 is defective?

Having been on the chat line this morning and related the issue, Philips suggest it is the cable.

This I find a bit strange, considering other HDMI sources are working ok.:confused:

Philips would not recommend a cable to purchase therefore I intend to buy a Philips gold
plated cable, and try that.

If it still does not work, then as all the bits are Philips products, the ball is in their court.

The only item(s) in dispute would be the DVD's/BluRay's which in the case of the DVD's work
elsewhere on other non HDMI equipment.

Personally as there are other people with different models having issues I think its the firmware.

lucas1970
02-02-2012, 05:44 PM
You should always check with a different cable and on other hdmi connections, that is the first thing you always have to do. Asume you guys did that no?

Leveller
02-09-2012, 01:03 PM
Having the same problems with a BDP3000 and a Sanyo 42" lcd , the player was totally fine although it "seemed" to start playing up on the last firmware upgrade, did anybody get any feedback from philips regarding a fix..or not?

pfoomer
02-14-2012, 04:41 PM
Maybe its just a faulty machine and needs to be replaced, sadly it is out of warranty, any suggestions/reccomendations?

When did you buy it?, also you have rights under the EU Directive for consumers and the UK Sale of Goods act,
even after the warranty expires, provided you can prove its not fit for purpose.

Philips - Remko
02-15-2012, 10:28 AM
Dear users,

It is always important in these cases to check various things:

1) Try with a different cable
2) Try with a different HDMI entry
3) Connect it to a different Tv
4) disconnect it from internet
5) disable the screensaver
6) try setting it to factory settings
7) MAke sure latest FW is installed

If all this still does not solve the problems then as stated in an earlier post service intervention will be needed.
In case you need more information on the service, please call your local call centre www.philips.com/contact

Kind regards,

pfoomer
02-15-2012, 10:53 AM
Dear users,

It is always important in these cases to check various things:

1) Try with a different cable
2) Try with a different HDMI entry
3) Connect it to a different Tv
4) disconnect it from internet
5) disable the screensaver
6) try setting it to factory settings
7) MAke sure latest FW is installed

If all this still does not solve the problems then as stated in an earlier post service intervention will be needed.
In case you need more information on the service, please call your local call centre www.philips.com/contact

Kind regards,
Hi

While this is good advice, in my case it now looks like the expensive cable I originally purchased is not good enough,
as it is now causing a problem between the satellite receiver and the TV, this was not discovered originally as the problem is intermittent.

I am using the Philips cable now, and will report back if it fails to perform to my satisfaction, according to the specification it does everything apart from 3D.

While I do not expect Philips to provide a cable with the TV, I feel in the interests of customer satisfaction, that a cable that has been approved for use with the player should be included.

Then in all probability further problems would be with the TV, or set up.

This in my opinion, would raise Philips credibility in a time when it needs it most.

I hope this is passed on to the 'suits' in marketing and sales for consideration.

Added

see
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?4386-BDP3200-12-and-32pfl3605-05-intermittent-signal-loss&p=26576#post26576

re use of new cable and successful watching of dvd and blueray