PDA

View Full Version : Firmware upgrade for HTS 5,7 and 9 series (V53.02)



Philips - Remko
11-17-2011, 08:06 AM
Related Product Model:

HTS5560/12
HTS5560/51
HTS5560/98
HTS5580/12
HTS5580/51
HTS5590/12
HTS5590/51
HTS5590/93
HTS5590/98
HTS5590W/55
HTS7140/12
HTS7140/51
HTS7140/78
HTS7140/93
HTS7140/98
HTS9140/12
HTS9140/51
HTS9140/93
HTS9140/98
HTS9520/12
HTS9520/51
HTS9520/55
HTS9520/93
HTS9520/98
HTS9540/12

Latest software V53.02 solved the following:

-Unable to upgrade via USB if there is disc in the set
-Playability/ Dust improvement including BBC-Being Human Disc
-192KHz hang up
-Net TV (Videocity solution, Virtual keyboard - only applicable to HTS9540)
-Set went to auto standby after screen saver mode for 30 mins under external Coax and Opt input with tray open condition
-No audio/ noise after changing the source audio stream from PCM to Dolby under external Coax and Opt input.

Kindly download the latest software from P4C at www.philips.com/support

miro9000
11-17-2011, 11:47 AM
HTS5220/12 is not included ? In other upgrades yes.

Firmware upgrade for HTS 3,5 and 9 series ( V52.01)
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?1970-Firmware-upgrade-for-HTS-3-5-and-9-series-(-V52.01)&daysprune=365

Oscar
11-17-2011, 11:55 AM
Looks there is one but the release notes are different :


System Software Version 53.02
 Improved overall system performance
 Improved playability

miro9000
11-17-2011, 02:11 PM
Thank you Oscar. I have found it in the spanish web with the old versión number.

ArnoudAR155
11-27-2011, 04:50 PM
After applying the update my HTS9520 doesn't start up anymore.
It just keeps saying "starting". I can power down and restart it.
I also can change the source with the button on the device but I'm not getting any sound then. Changing source with remote control doesn't work.
Also the blue startup screen is just here. No matter what I do on the device or remote control.
Tried removing the power cable for a while but that didn't help.
I didn't see any error while updating.
Only thing is I forgot to take out a disc. (can't get it out anymore now). But in previous manuals there was nothing said about removing a disc.

kwinnie
11-28-2011, 07:09 AM
sad :( as far as I know, it is always reminded to take out the disc while upgrading.
if the disc is not removed... the player may risk corrupting...... (case for Blu-ray players, don't know if that's for Home Theatre as well...)

we have quite some similar issue here in the forum... you will hv to send it to service.... no other means :( *sigh*

Nettle
11-29-2011, 09:09 AM
I've just donloaded it.

I'll instal it this evening and I'll let you know.

regards

pablo.neves
12-11-2011, 12:54 PM
i have the same problem with my HTS7140

Can someone sent to me a old version of firware?
I will try do the downgrade.




After applying the update my HTS9520 doesn't start up anymore.
It just keeps saying "starting". I can power down and restart it.
I also can change the source with the button on the device but I'm not getting any sound then. Changing source with remote control doesn't work.
Also the blue startup screen is just here. No matter what I do on the device or remote control.
Tried removing the power cable for a while but that didn't help.
I didn't see any error while updating.
Only thing is I forgot to take out a disc. (can't get it out anymore now). But in previous manuals there was nothing said about removing a disc.

Nettle
12-11-2011, 12:57 PM
I've just donloaded it.

I'll instal it this evening and I'll let you know.

regards

Installed: the HTS7140 works fine.

regards

Thomas Kaul
01-07-2012, 01:31 PM
Hello all,

just to share experience. Overall have to say that HTS9540 is a nice product !!!

Yesterday I installed V53.02 on my HTS9540/12 (upgraded from V52.01). During the installation the software component "DOCK" seemed not to be loaded correctly (a message "not connected" appeared during the installation although DCK3060 was connected, iPod was not plugged into dock during upgrade activity).

Result was that I could not access to my iPod anymore via DCK3060 after the fw upgrade.

Solution: I re-installed again V53.02 (luckily this worked, although I was scared that the system would not allow a 2nd install because the versioninfo was already shown as V53.02)

On top, I had found out that e.g. the blue ray movie "Avatar, Extended version" worked well with 52.01 and now with 53.02 it seems that the movie stops after 8 seconds. Maybe the effect was in 52.01 as well but never recognized by me.

Solution: found in the web that with some new firmwares there are higher loading periods neccessary...so simply wait and don't get irritated that the player seems to hang at 00:00:08, after a while the movie starts.

Hope these insights might be helpful for others!

In any case what I miss is a workaround to downgrade the device to factory settings or previous firmware releases in case of unwanted system behaviour , does anybody has experience with that? Is there a kind of archive of firmware releases?


Best rgds,
Thomas

Nettle
01-07-2012, 03:22 PM
My current experience is that it is a good advice only to install fw upgrades if You have good reason to do so...otherwise parts of Your movie collection are under risk...

Thomas

100% agree with you.

Regards

Thomas Kaul
02-02-2012, 07:20 AM
Hi all,

just a short update, installed yesterday the new V54 firmware which was published last week.
Upgrade went seemless, quickly tested core functionality.

DLNA-Browser ok
Net TV ok
IPod-Dock ok
Play Blue Ray ok

The problem previously described about very long loading times for Blue-ray "Avatar Extended Directors Cut" remains, hence not solved by V54.

Question: in the Releasenotes there was something stated "play better Blue ray", but no more precise information. Does anybody know what was fixed or developed with V54 exactly.

Still have the opinion: HTS9540 is a fantastic product, great appearance of quality !

Kind rgds,
Thomas