PDA

View Full Version : MCi298/05 - which support link?



davium
11-22-2011, 08:22 PM
One for the support guys, if they are listening


I seem to have found two possible support links for the MCi298

http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/forumdisplay.php?119-Sound-Wireless-Audio-Systems


http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/forumdisplay.php?124-Sound-Streamium

Which is the official one?

Also, what happened to all the forum messages from the streamium cafe, they seem to have disappeared?

Also, any info regarding new firmware for the MCi298? My device consistently turns itself off (or enters eco mode) after a few hours, after which it needs to reboot, which renders the alarm function unuseable and is a PITA.

I live in hope
:(

Philips - Andrea
11-23-2011, 08:55 AM
Hello Davium,

In answer to your question about the links, both of them are part of our Sound support forum- however the Streamium sub catergory is a new one so there are no posts as yet but we will be migrating information across!

Your MCi298 will automatically go into the energy saving Eco- mode after a certain length of time in idle mode. However, I can reassure you that the Eco mode does not affect the alarm functionality- as this will still 'sound'.

I would like to find out more details about the re-booting you have to do once your MCi goes into Eco mode:

Once in Eco-mode is it unresponsive? If you press the stand-by button does this 'wake- up' the device?
Or, do you need to fully re-boot the MCi by unplugging from the mains?
Kind regards,

Andrea

davium
11-23-2011, 11:36 AM
Hi Andrea

Thanks for the quick reply

I wasn't sure it was entering Eco mode, but now you've confirmed it, I'll give a few more details!

With the alarm set to on, and set to play FM radio, the device will do one of three things within a six hour interval....

1) It might work properly occasionally! (Not very often)

2) It might re-boot? and display the Media Library icon. In this case the alarm does not work at all. (If it does this and I try to access the menus it re-boots and re-connects wirelessly. There is no problem with the wireless connection, the device is 1m away from the router, all other network devices are OK).

3) The alarm brings on the radio, but the radio seems to be detuned, and is sqwarky and unintelligible

In addition, if I put the device into standby for several hours, and then bring it out of standby, it re-boots before I can use it again.

It seems Eco mode is causing a lot of problems, not least the de-tuning of the FM radio and turning off the wireless transmitter.

How do I stop the damn thing from going into Eco mode????
Why aren't we given the choice???
Please, please fix. This device would be great if Phillips had tested it thoroughly before releasing it.

Kind regards

Dave Nash

PS While composing this message your system logged me out, can we have more time to compose messages?
Also, although subscribed to this topic I did not receive an email notification of your reply, I new of it only when I logged into the forum.

Philips - Andrea
11-24-2011, 11:05 AM
Hi Davium,

Thanks for sending more details.

One thing I would like to confirm is when you say the MCi 're-boots' do you mean that after the device comes out of Eco mode it 'wakes- up' and reloads? Or is the unit totally unresponsive and shuts down entirely- do you need to physically unplug it from the mains to get the MCi working again?

With regards to the radio being 'de-tuned' this to me sounds like a reception issue, have you tried it in a different spot? Or is the radio quality generally fine, except when it plays the alarm when coming out of Eco- mode?

The Eco stand-by feature has been designed for power saving reasons, as it reduces unnecessary power consumption for our users. The Eco power stand-by mode is automatic if the dock is not active for a period of time. With regards to being able to change this feature, we do appreciate your feedback and I shall pass this on to the development team.

Kind regards,

Andrea

davium
11-25-2011, 09:05 AM
Hi Andrea

The unit just re-loads, I never have to unplug it.

The radio is perfectly fine and reception is good, but on the occasions when it seems to wake up out of Eco mode it wakes up in a de-tuned state. When this happens, and I attempt to access the home screen via the remote or the units own screen it re-boots itself, presenting the normal splash screens as it does so. After that it's perfect again in every respect, until the next random sleep!

I understand the reason for Eco mode, but instead of the software designers telling us what we should have, wouldn't it be better if they gave us the choice. This is bad software design, especially since it doesn't seem to work!! Simple standby would suit me fine!

(I am able to have my computer never switch off, never blank the display, or at the other extreme, make it sleep in a low power state, at whatever intervals I desire. What's so difficult?)

If Eco mode is designed to save me money, it's my money, give me a choice. If Eco mode is designed to save the planet, that's fine, but I seriously doubt whether the energy saving from ALL the Streamiums for a year is noticeable compared to what industries waste in a single day.

Thanks for listening!

Kind regards

Dave Nash

PS Your system still logs me out before I can finish composing a reply - very frustrating!!

Toengel
11-25-2011, 09:26 AM
PS Your system still logs me out before I can finish composing a reply - very frustrating!!

Hi,

login without entering a name - then an error occurs, but now you can login and activate to be logged in permanently...

Toengel@Alex

davium
11-26-2011, 08:04 PM
login without entering a name - then an error occurs, but now you can login and activate to be logged in permanently...


If I log in this way I end up at the other link I referred to in my original post, which takes me to the "new" Streamium forum which has no posts!!

More time to compose is much simpler

Regards

kerneis
01-01-2012, 08:02 PM
Hello,

I bought MCI298 one month ago.
It has same problem as davium: it seems to go into standby mode and then there is bug and it restarts like if I had unplugged power supply. Then it works well.
Did you find any solution to this problem?

Thank you
Best regards.
D.KERNEIS

davium
01-02-2012, 11:58 AM
Hello,

I bought MCI298 one month ago.
It has same problem as davium: it seems to go into standby mode and then there is bug and it restarts like if I had unplugged power supply. Then it works well.
Did you find any solution to this problem?

Thank you
Best regards.
D.KERNEIS

Hi

I sent you a PM in reply to the one you sent me, but just in case you didn't read it.......
No, I have not found a solution, and I doubt that I will!
The latest firmware addressed other issues, so we'll have to wait for the next update and hope for the best. It's a pity, it's a nice piece of kit otherwise.

Regards

Dave

kerneis
07-25-2012, 07:57 PM
Hello,

I have news about problem I had with my MCI298.
I got a new router after changing of Internet provider. With this new router, it works very well! no more problem. that why reparing service couldn't reproduce the failure.

David

fröschl
08-04-2012, 03:59 PM
Dear Philips Support,

can it be that you never ever read the threads here in this forum? Have you noticed that a lot of users have exactly the same problem as the one davium is describing? Unsolicited restarts, freezing, etc.? We all wait for a fix of these errors since we own this device.

Thomas

p.s. referring to the router solution kerneis is proposing: I own a Fritz!Box 7390 which is one of the most popular DSL routers in Germany. If it should really be the case that the MCi298 reacts with reboots to the type of router it is connected to then I think somebosy at Philips should rethink the exception handling in their firmware.