PDA

View Full Version : Automatic shutdown every four hours...



hitman47
11-24-2011, 12:15 AM
Hello,

We are using a Philips TV for monitoring services, and it needs to be on 24/7. Problem is, every four hours when there has been no activity with the remote control, a message is displayed that says: "If no any operation,TV would shut down in 1 minute". At that point, the user will have to press pretty much any key, which will sort of reset the "cycle". This is quite inconvenient, and after thorough investigation throughout its menus, I could not find any option to disable it. Please advise.

Thanks!

Regards,
Bobby

Philips - Thomas
11-24-2011, 06:02 AM
Hi

To be able to help you you have to add the Model No, FW Status etc.

Thanks
Thomas

hitman47
11-26-2011, 07:54 AM
Hi!

Here is the info I was able to gather:

Model: 42PFL4606H/58
Release Version: TPM71E 2.05
PQ Version: PQ V0.03 110208

Let me know if anything else will be needed.

Thanks!

bulkin2000
11-28-2011, 06:28 AM
Hi!
I think, it's "auto-shutdown", you just need to turn it off from menu.
Press "HOME" button, then something like "Configuration -> Settings TV -> Preferred Settings -> Automatic Poweroff ", perhaps it's "ON".

hitman47
11-28-2011, 02:41 PM
Thanks for the reply! There is indeed such an option, however, it was always off (and now, too), and even if you turn it on, there is no option to extend it to four hours, which is the case here. I'm pretty sure there is no way to turn this feature off through the regular menus, that's why I'm trying to engage a representative from Philips on this matter.

hitman47
12-10-2011, 01:58 PM
Sooooo, Philips will remain quite on this matter? Is there any remote control combination (or anything of that sorts) that will allow us to disable the annoying setting? I mean....it wasn't me who designed the thing, right!?

hitman47
12-11-2011, 03:37 PM
after a little bit of digging, turned out that with version TPM71E_2.10 of the firmware, there is an addition, stating: " Allow users to disable the “4 hours automatic shut down” feature in the [Auto switch off] menu". Will be updating my firmware tomorrow.
Thanks for NOTHING, Philips support!

patrickbk
12-13-2011, 06:03 PM
Hi there Philips,

I have a 2011 tv (42PFL7606H/12) and the sleep timer is disabled yet the TV automatically switches off. This bugs the crap out of me. The firmware version is... 000.014.084.000, 2011-10-21

Please help.

Grtz,

Patrick Bos

Toengel
12-13-2011, 08:02 PM
Hi,

you can try firmware 14.88 which is available in the FAQ SECTION of your TV (support website). Search for 14.84 and ambilight problem. In that FAQ firmware 14.88 is linked...

Toengel@Alex

patrickbk
12-13-2011, 08:24 PM
I found it and I don't see that it should work for my specific model and the download link is freakishly slow:(

Are you sure that firmware should work for my model?




Hi,

you can try firmware 14.88 which is available in the FAQ SECTION of your TV (support website). Search for 14.84 and ambilight problem. In that FAQ firmware 14.88 is linked...

Toengel@Alex

Philips
12-13-2011, 08:41 PM
Guys,

Before start trying all kinds of tricky solutions: the new SW 14.91 is on the brink of release (update 14-Dec: it is available!).
I recommend to wait for that version. It will address several issues, incl. this 'going to Standby'.

Mind you, this version will first become available for the 8 and 9000 series, and probably a week later for the 6 and 7000 series (2k11).

So for the 4 and 5000 series, you still must wait for another update... (it uses another chipset). I do not have the schedule of that yet.

Regards,
JuAn

patrickbk
12-13-2011, 08:53 PM
Thx now I don't know what to do anymore and I'm thinking about chewing my own hand off. The hand I used to pay this TV.

My previous flat panel, a Samsung, NEVER needed a software update. I purchased a TV and I'm pretty sure a TV is for watching TV. Is no one here in any way asking themselves why a TV needs to be maintained like it's a Windows95 crappy clone pc?

I sure hope that the upcoming update fixes the issues or I'll exercise my right as a consumer and never purchase a Philips device again. I had that policy for 3 years since no Philips device I purchased lived very much longer than the warranty period and now I purchased a Philips TV and a couple of months and software updates along the way I still haven't got what I paid for, a TV working the way it should!? Am I a sucker for buying Philips or what?

So no, I don't want to wait. I've freaking crap paid almost a thousand Euro's for this 'TV'. If this were a car I would have driven it up the sales guy's but hole by now;)




Guys,

Before starting to try all kinds of tricky solutions: the new SW 14.91 is on the brink of release.
I recommend to wait for that version. It will address several issues, incl. this 'going to Standby'.
Mind you, this version will only become available first for the 8 and 9000 series and later for the 6 and 7000 series (2k11).
So for the 4 and 5000 series, you still must wait for another update... (it uses another chipset).

Regards,
JuAn

groenduiven
12-13-2011, 09:19 PM
Since few days I have 37PF7606 and also powerd off after 4 hours.
Reading manual: Press GREEN button and uncheck "Automatisch uitschakelen" , guess in english something like Automatic Power Off. In the dutch manual it is mentioned on page 16.

Donald

patrickbk
12-14-2011, 04:59 AM
Thx and makes no difference since pressing the green button shows 'automatisch uitschakelen' is disabled already! As is 'scherm uitzetten.

Btw.... my TV came without a manual. It was a surprise to me and the box was new, no tape was added, no tape was damaged etc and the shop told me that this is the new Philips. Download your manual on demand?!




Since few days I have 37PF7606 and also powerd off after 4 hours.
Reading manual: Press GREEN button and uncheck "Automatisch uitschakelen" , guess in english something like Automatic Power Off. In the dutch manual it is mentioned on page 16.

Donald

Tarrie
12-14-2011, 09:10 AM
Same here. Mine came without a manual as well. Just a bunch of 'warranty' papers as far as I know (which is a good thing, because I'll sure be needing them!)

So far, my purchase is a big disappointment. Like patrickbk said, it's completely rediculous to have your TV treated like a Windows PC. As a Dutchman, normally I'm proud to see Dutch products used internationally. In this case, I feel embarrassed.

Toengel
12-14-2011, 09:19 AM
Hi,

see: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?3650-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0.14.91.0-for-8000-9000-and-21-9-series-(2011-models) and try...

Toengel@Alex

markus
12-20-2011, 10:18 AM
Hi,

you can try firmware 14.88 which is available in the FAQ SECTION of your TV (support website). Search for 14.84 and ambilight problem. In that FAQ firmware 14.88 is linked...

Toengel@Alex

Hi Alex

Thanks for the tip but unfortunately now my 55PFL6606K/02 doesn't show any picture at all. Not even the Philips logo at startup. Any ideas besides switching the TV off completely and disconnecting power?

Thanks
Markus

markus
12-20-2011, 01:10 PM
That was probably pretty risky but I managed to downgrade to 000.014.084.000 blindly. Picture is back.

Blackeye
01-09-2012, 11:59 AM
@ Markus: I have a 37PFL6606 that was switching itself off without warning every two hours or so. The latest firmware (14.093 released late December) has now cured that. With my model, I downloaded onto an otherwise empty USB-drive and plugged it in while the TV is on. It 'loaded' twice and then said the job was complete. The TV stays on continuously now. However, I have found a couple of other small problems with the GUI that I'll discuss in another post.

markus
01-09-2012, 12:12 PM
Yes, 000.014.093.000 solved that issue for me too.