PDA

View Full Version : Player cannot handle restart of internet connection



paulja
12-01-2011, 07:56 AM
Hi,

from time to time i need to restart my router or I sometimes turn the router off overnight and start it again in the morning. I keep the player in standby mode, so do i all other dlna devices (SONY TV, iPhone, PC). All other devices can be used immediately after the router is back. The philips player however cannot handle this. I have to switch off power and restart the device (sometimes repeat this a couple of times) to get the player running. I assume the network protocol used is responsible for this. This is very annoying, and it would be nice if you could look into this.

Thanks, Paul

Philips - Gary
12-01-2011, 01:47 PM
Hi paulja,

I'm sorry to hear you're having some issues with your network player.

We will definitely look into this issue for you, while we do this if you could just check a couple of things and feed back the findings it would be much appreciated.
When the player prompts you for your network details try cancelling this and see if the player can connect to your router anyway - Possibly the player detects the router is missing, creates a dialogue, then finds the router again but does not close the dialogue.
Is the firmware up-to-date? If you can provide the firmware version you are currently running this can help us to find a solution for you. You can find the firmware version in the menu [Settings] > [Device ID and information].
Kind regards,

Gary

paulja
12-02-2011, 09:29 AM
Hi Gary,

i checked your proposals:

1. firmware is up-to-date. I checked this already beforehands.
2. I cancelled during the prompt, but that connection could still not be established.


I'd like to reiterate that it would be nice to get a firmware update for this problem. I think it's a key capability of the streamium products to provide wireless music experience. If such a key capability does not work properly this should not be solved by a workaround. Especially if you consider that the other DLNA products I own do not have such an issue at all.

Thanks, Paul

lucas1970
12-14-2011, 03:51 PM
I have never seen this on my NP and I switch of my router every night though. What kind of encryption ae you using? Fixed or autochannel? Are you very far away from your router with the NP? Any firewalls hoping around that might cause issues?

paulja
01-08-2012, 12:27 PM
Hi,

well i use wpa-psk and tkip. as i said no issues with other devices. The issue is also reported by other users:

see on amazon feeback: http://www.amazon.de/product-reviews/B004RE660I (user A. Straeter).

Actually it is even documented by philips (unfortunately in german). See last question in the faq section (see links below). It says once a router is switched off you need a hard reboot...i can't believe that this is true. So please philips, let me know whether this is really the case, why this the case, and why all my other products from other vendors do not have this problem.

Regars, Paul


http://www.philips.de/c/audioprodukte/streamium-np3700_12/prd/;jsessionid=107B6DC71FC111C399E64FE198EDDB76.app10 2-drp1?t=support

Muss ich die WiFi-Netzwerkeinstellungen auf dem Gerät neu einstellen, nachdem der Router abgeschaltet oder die Verbindung unterbrochen wird?