PDA

View Full Version : [SA3VBE04KS/02] Firmware



BenoitSvB
12-01-2011, 06:11 PM
My SA3VBE04KS/02 came with firmware 2.08

After 2 days of playing and experimenting I decided to start all over again; as I had experienced some freezes (which I solved with the Reset button), I decided to start my "clean start-over" with a Repair my Philips Device from the tools menu in Philips Songbird version: 2.5.6 Build: 5.6.2119.

This "repaired" my device flawlessly to firmware 2.02

Philips Songbird version: 2.5.6 Build: 5.6.2119 does not find a newer firmware, nor a newer version of Songbird.

So actually my device is downgraded.

How to restore it to its 2.08 state?
1. Where do I find firmware 2.8?
2. How do I install it on my device, with Songbird version: 2.5.6 Build: 5.6.2119?

kwinnie
12-02-2011, 01:41 AM
have you tried firmware?
1) start up songbird
2) plug in your player to PC
3) click on your player in the left player pane
4) click on tools tab
5) check for new firmware ?

there's no? and to me the latest one seems 2.12 not 2.08?

BenoitSvB
12-02-2011, 03:39 AM
Thank you for your response

Yes, I have tried all steps 1-5 and Songbird tells me the firmware on my device is already the most recent.
So my Songbird does not know of later FW than 2.02.
I know 2.08 because it was on my device when it arrived.
2.12 is completely new to me: where can it be found?

BenoitSvB
12-10-2011, 04:49 PM
Manually found firmware 2.12 in folder http://download.p4c.philips.com/files/s/sa3vbe04ks_02/
As Songbird does not find this file, where should I unpack sa3vbe04ks_02_hf1_aen.zip to (path e.g. C:\Documents and Settings\Benoit\Local Settings\Application Data\Philips-Songbird\Profiles\5moiur3t.default\firmware_cache\ ??????\?????
for Songbird to find it?
Or does anyone has a better suggestion for the firmware upgrade?

Philips - Andrea
12-12-2011, 12:20 PM
Hi BenoitSvB,

Sorry to hear about the problems you are having. In this instance I would please suggest that you please uninstall Songbird and then re-install it using the link below directly from the Philips website:
http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=GB&slg=ENG&sct=PORTABLE_VIDEO_PLAYERS_SU&cat=MP3_AND_MEDIA_PLAYERS_CA&session=20111212071645_85.90.232.145&grp=SOUND_AND_VISION_GR&ctn=SA3VBE04KS/02&mid=Link_Software&hlt=Link_Software

I think this way you are able to start over and again update the software for your GoGear Vibe to the latest v2.12.

Please let me know how you get on.

Kind regards,
Andrea

BenoitSvB
12-12-2011, 02:28 PM
Hi Andrea,

Thank you for your suggestion.

Just to be complete for the record: my device was replaced last Friday (Nov 9th) by Philips e-shop for other reasons than this firmware issue (great customer service!).

The new device shows firmware 2.06 natively; Philips Songbird shows it as 2.05 (!).
Songbird reports: my device has already newest firmware.

Uninstalled Songbird (and deleted after restart residual Philips Songbird registry keys, Program File folder and User Profile folders);
installed Songbird from link in this thread;
upgraded Songbird to 1.9.4;
upgraded Dutch language pack;
upgraded Songbird to 1.9.6;
needed reboot; Songbird refused partial update and Songbird updater automatically downloaded and installed complete 1.9.6;
rebooted;
checked firmware: Songbird declared my firmware (2.06 in device, 2.05 in Songbird) as most recent.

Conclusion: your suggestion did not result in getting 2.12 on my device. :(

I look forward to your advice!

kwinnie
12-14-2011, 03:08 AM
though it sounds a bit not cohesive... the 2.05 and 2.06 thing... :)
but to my understanding they are the same... just when communicate it's always in even number...

BenoitSvB
12-18-2011, 07:03 PM
:confused:
strange...
But how does it help getting 2.12 on my device?

Philips - Andrea
12-20-2011, 10:10 AM
Hi BenoitSvB,

I am sorry that you are still having problems.

We are in the process of re- uploading the firmware to our website, if you could please allow 24 hours for this to reflect online.

Please then try upgrading your GoGear Vibe after this time. Let me know if you have any further difficulties/ how you get on.

Kindest regards,

Andrea

BenoitSvB
12-21-2011, 11:54 AM
No change at all: Songbird does not find a firmware later than the one on my device (2.05/2.06).
Nor does Songbird find an update for Songbird (current version Philips Songbird version: 2.5.6 Build: 5.6.2119) or for the Philips GoGear Device Manager extension (current version 1.1.2.2119).:(

Philips - Andrea
12-21-2011, 12:15 PM
Hi Benoit,

Thanks for letting me know you are still having the problem.

I will pass the details to the software team and get back to you with more details.

Kindest regards,
Andrea

BenoitSvB
12-21-2011, 01:01 PM
Quote from private message exchange :


Re: SA3VBE04KS/02 firmware 2.12

Quote Originally Posted by BenoitSvB
thnx for the message; the problem seems to be that Songbird does not see the firmware (which I can see is there).
Hi Benoit,

Are you able to try updating again today? The reason that Songbird is unable to see the firmware is due to a communication failure between the software and our Philips website where the update is located.

The update should be available now, if you can please let me know how you get on?

Thanks,

Andrea


Your remark about communication failure made me remember a typical Songbird behaviour:
When, freshly installed and updated, you ask for a firmware, it hangs on the pop-up "checking for new firmware"; after you cancel this, from thereon the response always is "the firmware in your device already is the newest". I have seen this behaviour each time after a fresh install (I remove all Philips and Philips Songbird folders from my XP profile after an uninstall); once I kept Songbird "hanging" all night...
I retried it now: it still hangs for 15 minutes now; my tcp-monitor (TCPView) shows no external activity for Songbird anymore: only connected to 4 ports on 127.0.0.1
I will cancel now...
Check for firmware again... there is an immediate response that my firmware is the most recent already...

So it looks as if something goes wrong in the first try after a fresh install...

Philips - Andrea
12-23-2011, 09:15 AM
Hi BenoitSvB

Thanks for the feedback, I have replied to your PM if you could please check your inbox. I think it would be great if you can share with the community how you resolved this issue. :)

Many thanks,

Andrea