PDA

View Full Version : BDP3100/05 or BDP3100/12??



androo
12-03-2011, 10:15 PM
Hi Guys,

On the back of my blu ray player it says BDP3100/05 but in the Version Info tab in Settings it says BDP3100/12

Whats the difference between them and why is mine showing two versions?

The reason I'm asking is I'm having issues playing a Blu ray and was looking to upgrade the software (which currently shows as 1.42) to see if doing that makes a difference.

Cheers

Andy

kwinnie
12-05-2011, 02:05 AM
well this is quite strange :) not heard of it before...
the stroke number implies they are sold to diff markets...
/05 mainly the UK version and /12 is Europe version ... there should be no difference in SW. the plug is different if it is a 05 version.

i guess the plate on the back is just like a sticker... if in the future you hv to refer it , you can name it /12?
just to cross check... if press 8520 ... what does it show?

androo
12-06-2011, 08:33 AM
I stay in the UK so it would make sense if it was /05. If there's no differences between 05 and 12 other than which markets they are sold in I'm not too fussed. The disc playing issue must be related to something else.

When should I press 8250?

kwinnie
12-06-2011, 09:12 AM
does it work in home menu? the 8520 code?

androo
12-06-2011, 10:15 AM
When I do 8520 it comes up as a /12.

Must say I'm a bit annoyed at having issues playing a bluray disc in a bluray player and it doesn't work but does it a PS3!

kwinnie
12-07-2011, 01:58 AM
androo, i hate to say this, but this is quite known

since Sony is one of the main disc manufacturer, it will make disc that compatible with its device. and sometimes which i m dismayed also the disc creates troubles to other player manufacturer as some code is not supported...

for philips, they collect the affected EAN, test it, reproduce problem and try solving through FW... maybe you can leave the EAN also