PDA

View Full Version : 40PFL8605, Upgrade firmware with USB-stick not working



haan72
12-13-2011, 10:12 AM
Hello,

Since I upgraded my TV (PFL8605) with the firmware version 144.040, I can not upgrade to the new firmware 144.044 via a USB Stick. When I insert the stick the TV it does not recognize the the autorun.upg anymore, instead it displays the content of the stick as it would do normally. Tried it with another USB stich as well.

Is there a way to hard reset the TV ? I've tried the 123654, red button etc. option but this does not work, please advice because I am not able to upgrade the TV anaymore.

Thanks in advance

Nettle
12-13-2011, 10:35 AM
Dear haan72,

I've performed the same upgrade on my 37pfl 8605 and everything went well.

the file was recognized immediately.

regards

Toengel
12-13-2011, 11:08 AM
Hi,

reformat your USB stick (FAT if possible) and extract the autorun.upg - try again... If this does not work try the "downgrade method" (try search in forum for "downgrade") with the 140.44 firmware...

Toengel@Alex

rollufje
12-13-2011, 06:06 PM
Hi haan72,
I tried to download the 140.44 from the dutch website (I see you're from NL also).
Problem is that the site states the FW 140.44 can be downloaded. Only thing is the zip you download contains the older version (140.40).
Toengel pointed out that I could use the FW from the UK site. Et voila, the TV wants to update...

Rolf

Guguito
01-16-2012, 11:07 AM
Hi Rolf,

Same problem from Spain with the FW for 40PFL8605H/12. Even tried downloading it from the UK site. No way.
Is there any other alternative?

Thanks

Gug

Toengel
01-16-2012, 11:24 AM
Hi,

what do you mean with "No way". The downloads for 140.46 are up on the servers and are ok (from my point of view). Just download the file, extract and copy the autorun.upg to the root of an empty FAT formatted USB stick.

Toengel@Alex

Guguito
01-16-2012, 11:43 AM
Hi Toengel,

I mean, I have done all through as you indicate and the tv displays: "there is no file in the USB stick (translation from
spanish)" I have used a stick provided from Philips NL

gug

Toengel
01-16-2012, 11:49 AM
Hi,

try that to update: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?966-Is-there-a-Guaranteed-way-to-downgrade-140.XX-software&p=3176&viewfull=1

Toengel@Alex

Guguito
01-16-2012, 12:02 PM
Hi Toengel,

Thanks but it seems somehow risky to downgrade, if i take into account the Philips warning

Gug

Toengel
01-16-2012, 12:10 PM
Hi,

you could try to update via the downgrade method. It's the only suggestion I can give you, if the normal way does not work. If you don't want to try this method you need to call service for help/repair. As far as I know, we are both out of options ;-)

Toengel@Alex

Guguito
01-16-2012, 12:31 PM
thanks Toengel. Shall keep you posted.

haan72
01-17-2012, 07:44 AM
Hi Rolf,

Same problem from Spain with the FW for 40PFL8605H/12. Even tried downloading it from the UK site. No way.
Is there any other alternative?

Thanks

Gug

Are you sure you have the _eng file ? It worked out for me as well. Try another language, all files are multi-langual. It is just a matter of Philips is using the same file name again. Proxyservers keep the older version (same filename), that means that you indead download the older version.

Guguito
01-17-2012, 09:05 AM
Hi,

I'm using the .eng file and have downloaded it from several Philips sites such as Uk, France, etc. and is still not working. In the meantime I have contacted the after-sales Philips service and it seems that the problem is in the TV set itself that has a failure in the motherboard. They are going to take it to their workshop for repair.

Thanks for your help

Gug