PDA

View Full Version : Missing feature for SAT models: direct switch to SAT tuner



kllei
12-18-2011, 02:17 PM
Hello,

I wonder all the time why it is not implementet to have a dircet switch to the SAT tuner from remote control or eg. MyRemote App. (Instead switching to the DVB-T tuner)

My TV is a PFL7655.

There is a solution if you have a learning remote Control to switch to DVB-T (IR Command 0x9F)

Is it possible to add a direct switch to the SAT tuner with Software? (instead going to Home > cursor to SAT > Enter ?

Whould help a lot for creating "Functions" on a learning remote (eg. SRT8215)

Is there a way to add this function? Could be implemented with a new remote Code or with choosing the default Tuner (DVB-T / SAT / whatever) in the TV setup.

Thanks for a comment and support,
Klaus

kllei
01-09-2012, 07:45 PM
No one else missing this?
Not worth a comment from Phillips? (possible/not possible/forgotten...)
Or no SAT Models around?
Thx,
Klaus

Toengel
01-10-2012, 07:38 AM
Hi,

I think this is due to the "bad implementation" of the DVB-S tuner in 2010 models. For example, no IP-EPG is available for these models. The DVB-S tuner is only a "small" add-on and not really implemented in the overall system.

Toengel@Alex

kllei
01-10-2012, 10:52 AM
Hi Alex,

Thanks for your reply. I see this for different functionality like NET TV, but the switch to the SAT Tuner is possible going through the Menu, so it should be possible to put a "shortcut" in the Software and the IR Remote part.
BTW it is possible to switch to any HDMI / SCART / and DVB-T Tuner, should also be possible to the SAT. This is the same for the TV-Remote App, all Sources except SAT Tuner are direct adressable.
I expect this was forgotten to implement in the remote Part and only build into the Menu, and there is no technical reason.
Is this still the same for the 2011 Models? So it may be wotht the work to put this into the Software.

Hopefully one of the Philips Members is having a look on this.

My 2 cents,
Klaus

Philips - Thomas
01-27-2012, 12:25 PM
Hi

Sat Tuner can not be accessed directly. Only via the menu, if you want to have a shortcut, try to create a Macro(if your Remote supports that) including the Steps to get to that Point.

Regards
Thomas

kllei
01-27-2012, 02:05 PM
Hi

Sat Tuner can not be accessed directly. Only via the menu, if you want to have a shortcut, try to create a Macro(if your Remote supports that) including the Steps to get to that Point.

Regards
Thomas

HI Thomas,

thanks for having a look at this.
Sure, that can be done by a macro. The sequence is: press TV (which is DVB-T), wait, press "Home", wait, press "Cursor right", wait, press "OK" as a macro. But beside of seeing all the actions on the screen during switching, with the SRT8215 I can use macros only as "actions". which means I have to change Menues and click around.

Also it is not possible to use macros on MyRemote.
So, not a satisfying situation.

This was postet some time ago, so I see this is missed from others too...
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?1426-My-Remote-App-no-direct-access-to-SAT-Tuner-for-46PFL9705K

I can't belive that it is not possible to implement this in Software as for all the other HDMI sources. And it seems that is not available for newer models also. For me a clear feature request to the Software developers.

Best Regards,
Klaus

humbahe
02-06-2012, 09:09 AM
Hello,

I'm also missing a direct switch to the SAT Tuner. The macro described by kllei is only an unsatistfactory workaround, that I've implemented, too.

Especially when you try to build a macro including starting TV and other devices you will first of all reach the - by the way incomprehensible - limit of 12 steps. Secondly you can't even adjust an always working timeout between the single steps, because the TV doesn't start always in similar space of time (or you set the waiting time to a minute or more).

I can't understand, why it might be so complicated to implement this function...

If a TV firmware upgrade could fix it / is required, perhaps you could forward the problem to the responsible people.

Regards
humbahe