PDA

View Full Version : Philips GoGear MP4 Player SA2VBE04K/37: File System Error & lack of reformat feature



GoGear_flea
12-26-2011, 02:11 AM
I'm getting this "File System Error" thing with my player in spite having updated its firmware and reinstalling its drivers.
I'm thinking of reformatting it via Songbird but for some reason it (the Philips Songbird software) doesn't have any
feature in it to reformat the storage area. How can I go around this?

Kindly help me with this concern the soonest.

stealyothread
01-03-2012, 04:44 AM
um....... hey. sorry to steal your thread, but i need some help and I happened to find this on google.
Long story short, i unplugged the usb cable connecting my laptop to my gogear SA52XX because windows explorer started to freeze while i was trying (over and over) to copy some songs to it. Dumb move on my part I know. This thing was a buggy piece of junk to start with ( freezing while looking at photos, freezing while updating library/player, NO WORKING SPEAKERS) but now its just completely scrambled save for like 3 songs. Know im not going to find a way to get the files back, but is there any way to get this thing back to out-of-box working condition so I can start putting songs back on it? Like a system restore or a reboot or something? plz help, and thank you for letting me steal your thread :).

GoGear_flea
01-03-2012, 10:49 AM
um....... hey. sorry to steal your thread, but i need some help and I happened to find this on google.
Long story short, i unplugged the usb cable connecting my laptop to my gogear SA52XX because windows explorer started to freeze while i was trying (over and over) to copy some songs to it. Dumb move on my part I know. This thing was a buggy piece of junk to start with ( freezing while looking at photos, freezing while updating library/player, NO WORKING SPEAKERS) but now its just completely scrambled save for like 3 songs. Know im not going to find a way to get the files back, but is there any way to get this thing back to out-of-box working condition so I can start putting songs back on it? Like a system restore or a reboot or something? plz help, and thank you for letting me steal your thread :).

LOL! It's okay - actually, I spoke with a Tech support agent via chat regarding this concern and he says it's totally useless.
The only solution is to have it replaced within its warranty period.

How long have you had it? Better have it replaced via a Philips center near you. Just prepare an official receipt to facilitate
the replacement.

Personally for me, I believe this is just reformatting the storage space. "File system error" messages would mean it has to be formatted to the file system concerned.

I'll try using some software for this - maybe it can help...

Do try to pull in knowledgeable people here though - they may know some ideas that we ain't aware of.

Happy New Year, chap! Bless ye :-)