PDA

View Full Version : Was willst du mir erzählen Thomas?!



Stoebi
01-04-2012, 08:33 AM
Firmware Downgrade

Wenn eine vorherige Software einwandfrei funktionierte, kann ein Upgrade und
anschließendes Downgrade nicht zur Zerstörung des Fernsehers führen. Wer hat
dir so einen <zensiert> erzählt?

Peter Schulz

Toengel
01-04-2012, 09:38 AM
Hi,

the firmware is not the only software which runs on your TV - e.g. the standby software is also part of the TV's operating system. Both need to be in line. If you downgrade it could happen that the firmware does not work well with the standby software...

This is what I heart...

Toengel@Alex

Philips - Thomas
01-04-2012, 10:06 AM
Hi

First of all, this Forum is in English Language so if you raise a Question, do it in English.
Next is the way you communicate. Even if you are not satisfied with the Answer you got or with a Post on the Forum this is not a reason to blame someone.
At last i will repeat myself. A downgrade can possibly damage your TV.

Regards
Thomas

Stoebi
01-04-2012, 10:21 AM
Komm Thomas, "Blame" sieht anders aus. Habt ihr beide (Alex und Thomas) schon einmal selber programmiert?
Wohl eher nicht. Aber ich, seit über 15 Jahren (Syrcon Marketing Services in Berlin Torstr), und ihr beide
möchtet mir erzählen, das eine vorherige funktionierende Software den Fernseher "zerstört". Ich bitte euch beide,
haltet ihr "eure" Kunden wirklich für so verblödet?

Philips - Thomas
01-04-2012, 10:26 AM
Hi

I wrote before that this Forum is English so i will leave it up to you to edit your Posts, otherwise i will delete them.

Regards
Thomas

Stoebi
01-04-2012, 10:31 AM
Before you delete, 1000 others read this before. We are not idiots Thomas, do you understand? I've wrote facts, not lies!

Philips - Thomas
01-04-2012, 10:33 AM
Hi

Its good to see that you are able to follow up. So at next you can translate your Posts before so the others can really follow up. :)

Regards
Thomas

smart
01-05-2012, 09:05 AM
I think, there is a valid reason, why a downgrade can be problematic. Toengel described that there might be firmware and standby software out of sync.

Another reason, why Philips officially says, that it can damage the TV, might be because they can not guarantee that it does not damage the TV. If you want to guarantee that, downgrades have to be tested as well.
Since you are also experienced in software developement, it should be clear, that every functionality has to be tested to ensure it works.
In case there is a problem with the downgrade, service has to debug and help which will also be an extra work package which has to be done.

You can never generally state, that a downgrade will work, since you have to look at all details on how the downgrade is done and on how it has to be done, before you can conclude a final statement. If you do not know all the technical details, you should not make such a statement if you want to be serious.

Many members here are working in software/hardware companies as engineers, I think there is a very high level on support you can get here.

Stoebi
01-05-2012, 09:20 AM
If a previous version not damage your TV, a downgrade to the same version can not damage your TV.
Another answer is political company "blabla"

Freddy
01-05-2012, 11:42 AM
Well... kinda scared to put myself in this heated discussion... :p

I will try to make everyone understand each other. :rolleyes:

Of course Stoebi is right when he says that "If a previous version not damage your TV, a downgrade to the same version can not damage your TV."

However the question is: can a "downgrade to the same version" be done exactly?... What happens exactly during an upgrade and again, what happens during a downgrade?... Will, after all this up- and downgrading, every bit of data in the TV be the same again as before, or are there still remnants of the original update?...

Of course this could - and should - work correctly but, as smart pointed out, this has to be tested first and apparently they chose not to do that.

The stories about the problems in this respect with a wrong combination of firmware and standby software are questionable, to say the least, however, as that could only cause problems when going back to a firmware version that's older than the one the tv came with when bought, so...

And even that could be done of course, by asking a technician to downgrade the standby software for you. You just have to find the appropriate version. Ali?... Did you try that already?... ;)

smart
01-06-2012, 09:05 AM
There might be also a change in the way settings are stored. Let's assume, a setting is stored as integer, with a new firmware the setting is converted into string. Then there is a string stored and if you keep the settings, when going back to older firmware, the old firmware might crash, due to reading a string instead of integer.

So, if going back, make sure the stored settings are correct for the old firmware.