PDA

View Full Version : Wi-Fi MediaConnect: could not get respond from TV



stexi
01-10-2012, 08:14 PM
I own a Philips TV 46PFL9705H/12 and have installed latest firmware version 140.46.0.
The TV is connected to our home network wirelessly.

I am trying to connect and run Wi-Fi MediaConnect software (v. 1.6.43) to my laptop which I also connect to the same wireless network.

I select option "Start Projecting" from the Wi-Fi MediaConnect menu and the application tries to connect to the TV, showing the following message:
"Still waiting for TV to reply...."

A few seconds later the process stops with the below message:
"Could not get respond from TV. Refer to online Wi-Fi MediaConnect FAQ"

I have tried to do the same connecting both devices ( TV and laptop ) using ethernet cabling but in this case, the menu option "Start projecting" in Wi-Fo MediaConnect application, is NOT enabled.

Note that NET TV works fine using both networking options ( wired or wireless)

Please advice.

Philips - Thomas
01-11-2012, 10:46 AM
Hi

What kind of Security Software have you installed on your PC?
Which OS is running on that PC?

Regards
Thomas

stexi
01-11-2012, 01:13 PM
Hi Thomas,

The security software of my laptop (business one) is Symantec Endpoint Protection and it is operating in Windows 7-64 bit.

Please note that we tried to connect with another laptop (running in Windows 7-64 bit) of a friend of mine who has the same TV model (same TV software update) and same Wi-Fi MediaConnect software installed in his laptop and it works fine with his TV, but not with my TV. We were getting the same message: "Could not get respond from TV. Refer to online Wi-Fi MediaConnect FAQ".

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Philips - Thomas
01-11-2012, 01:16 PM
Hi

So when you use the Wifi Media Connect Version from your Friend, what happens then?

Regards
Thomas

stexi
01-11-2012, 01:21 PM
The TV icon which is shown in the bottom right corner of the laptop becomes 'active' (same as in my laptop), then we have a window message informing us that the TV is recognized and is trying to connect... (same as in my laptop) and after 4-5 seconds we have the message:"Could not get respond from TV. Refer to online Wi-Fi MediaConnect FAQ".

Philips - Thomas
01-11-2012, 02:07 PM
Hi

Just deinstall the Security Software and make sure the Windows Firewall is disabled in the Service menu.
Then try it again.

Regards
Thomas

stexi
01-11-2012, 02:22 PM
Hi Thomas,

I cannot deinstall the security software because it is a business laptop and it has to be 'active' always and I do not have admimistration rights in order to make changes in the setting menu. However, only to remind you that the other computer that we tried to be connected is also a business laptop with same security software (aleays active as mine with no disabling windows firewall) which could be connected in another TV of same model as mine, but it could not be connected with my TV.

Please consider another alternative solution.

Philips - Thomas
01-11-2012, 02:28 PM
Hi

In this case there is no alternate way.

Regards
Thomas

FrTed
01-11-2012, 09:07 PM
Hi stexi

Have you tried connecting with a cat5 cable to the TV as opposed to wireless?

Thanks
T