PDA

View Full Version : HTS7202/12 losing easyLink - Settings



pjaquet
01-17-2012, 08:49 AM
Hi there,
I have the following problem: I have a HTS 7202/12 connected to a PHILIPS TV with HDMI ARC. Easylink is enabled on both devices and is working.

However, as soon as I choose a source from the HTS (Blu Ray or NetTV) and turn off both devices (via easylink from the TV), the easylink settings are somehow lost, the HTS won't start or shutdown with the TV any more (but the other HDMI-CEC-Settings work, like using the TV's remote to control the HTS). I have to disable easylink on both devices and to re-enable it in order to fully restore the easylink connection.

Anyone else encountered this problem? I have returned my HTS to my vendor because of this, but I am awaiting a replacement and would like to know if the problem is likely to occur with the new HTS.

(Oh, and by the way: both HTS and TV firmware are up-to-date, and I already tried another HDMI cable)

pjaquet
01-19-2012, 07:59 AM
Problems persist with the new HTS. Anyone knows if this might be an issue of the TV?

Philips - Remko
01-19-2012, 09:41 AM
Hi pjaquet,

We have noted your issue & are currently looking into it.

We will update you as soon as we have more concrete information. Thank you.

Kind regards,

pjaquet
01-19-2012, 09:42 AM
Thanks. If you need any more information, please contact me. I'd be happy to provide anything I can to solve this issue!

pjaquet
01-26-2012, 02:29 PM
Any news on that one?

lucas1970
01-27-2012, 11:48 AM
If they have noted the issue a week ago donīt count on a solution that fast. Things have to be tested and developed and that does not work in one signle week....

pjaquet
01-27-2012, 11:55 AM
I sure know that. I'm not expecting a solution right now, but any news (even like "still looking into it") would be appreciated. I still have a few days left to return the device to the vendor...

Philips - Remko
01-27-2012, 12:33 PM
Hi pjaquet,

Indeed we are still looking into it. I cannot give you any further feedback yet but hope to come with more details as soon as possible.

Thanks for your patience and understanding.

Kind regards,

pjaquet
01-27-2012, 12:33 PM
Thanks!

Kiro
01-27-2012, 12:37 PM
Hi pjaquet,

just a detail: did you properly set the Audio Input Mapping?

And also on the Philips TV what are the preferences for "TV speakers"?

Thanks

pjaquet
01-27-2012, 12:44 PM
Hi Kiro,

Yes, I did set the Audio Input Mapping properly. On the Philips TV, the TV speakers are disabled as long as the HTS is active.
As soon as the error occurs, the TV tries to start the HTS with "connecting to HTS..." and then "failed! using TV speakers instead" (don't know the exact wording, as my TV is set to German Language), which is normal even when the HTS works properly (as the HTS needs time to boot up). However, the HTS doesn't start and the speaker settings are set to "TV Speaker". When this happens, I have to dis- and enable easylink on the TV to restore the settings. The audio settings of the TV in easylink are then set to "easylink" instead of "easylink - autostart". Changing this starts the HTS immediately.

Kiro
01-27-2012, 02:06 PM
Well... you really do it completely!

I was hoping (for you) that perhaps it was due to a bad setup... but it is not....

Let's see what comes from Philips.

Regards,

Andrea

bartvanolmen
01-29-2012, 12:30 PM
Having the same issue with my HTS7202 since the last software update.

Hope that Philips will come with a solution as soon as possible

pjaquet
01-31-2012, 08:31 AM
bartvanolmen: Do you have a Philips TV? Or does this happen with a different TV?

Best regards,
Philipp

bartvanolmen
01-31-2012, 08:52 AM
I have a philips TV. It was working perfect, but after the latest software update on the HTS7202 the issue was there.

pjaquet
01-31-2012, 08:56 AM
Okay. I called Philips Customer Care the other day, they were convinced that this is an issue from the HTS. However, they weren't able to reproduce the issue and offered to check the TV (since the HTS has already been replaced by a new one).

Which TV do you have? I have a Philips 42PFL5405 H .

bartvanolmen
01-31-2012, 09:33 AM
I have a 40pfl6626h LED TV

Philips - Remko
01-31-2012, 09:43 AM
Hi bartvanolmen,

Can you give a clear description of the steps done on the HTS and TV? What are the setting values between the various steps?

As already said to pjaquet we are looking into it but all possible input is more than welcome.

Regards,

bartvanolmen
01-31-2012, 09:53 AM
Hello Remko,

Please take a look in my support call 50-904388698.

The call was closed in december, but will ask philips to reopen the call.

Bart

Philips - Remko
01-31-2012, 10:05 AM
Hi bartvanolmen,

Please check your inbox I have send you a personal message.

Rgds,

bartvanolmen
01-31-2012, 10:06 AM
I have reopened my support call 50-904388698.

Service center will pickup my HTS7202 on thurday

pjaquet
02-02-2012, 10:33 AM
I noticed yesterday that the HTS resets the zoom settings to "zoom to max", which ignores the original screen ratio, resulting in a streched image. This is true for all settings available in the HTS. I can switch the TV back to another setting, but the next time the HTS starts, it resets the setting again :-(

Toengel
02-02-2012, 12:13 PM
Hi,

do you have a Philips TV? If yes - I have the same issue with my 21:9 TV when I start my BDP - sometimes the TV zoom to max...

Toengel@Alex

pjaquet
02-02-2012, 12:23 PM
Yes, as mentioned before, I do have a Philips TV. However, the issue is not only that the TV zooms to max, but also that the setting is set to "zoom to max", and it stays that way until I change it back manually

Philips - Remko
02-08-2012, 10:09 AM
Hi pjaquet and bartvanolmen,

You both have recieved a personal message. Please check your inbox.

Kind regards,

Remko

pjaquet
02-08-2012, 10:13 AM
My Inbox is empty...

Philips - Remko
02-08-2012, 10:15 AM
Please check again

Douglaswilson
02-09-2012, 12:05 PM
Hello, is there a estimated resolution time for the easylink connection loss between Philips devices ? Despite strong advice not to go with Philips devices due to such issues, i opted to take them which im starting to regret. Initialy all was workinng as designed until i perfored the software update that was previously stated in this communication. Your feedback is highly appreciated!

Pacman
02-09-2012, 12:36 PM
So for all it worked ok before with the earlier software version but after upgrading to the latest it started to fail? Is there somebody out there that does have the earlier SW lying around?

Bye

pjaquet
02-09-2012, 12:43 PM
I had the latest FW shipped with my HTS. I have sent my HTS back to Philips, as the Hotline, the Mail Support, the Chat Support and the Forum Support have looked into this and could only suggest to replace / repair my HTS.

Douglaswilson
02-09-2012, 04:27 PM
Is returning the HTS the only option? This is known issu from what I read so a fallback due to regression should be considered. Or is a date available for the next software patch?

PineMangoes
08-19-2012, 10:39 PM
I have a similar issue with my HTS7202/12. It is connected to a Philips PFL7406 TV set. Sometimes, when i switch sources on the television Easylink functionality is lost. The sound is no longer routed through and the HTS does not show up in the TV home menu.

Also, the HDMI connection is no longer recognized on my HTS (via the 'Audio input' scanner). I'm reluctant to return it for servicing as this is my second HTS7202 device (the first had so many issues it was unbelievable).

andrio
08-25-2012, 03:54 PM
Does any owner know if the easylink problem was solved by Philips engineers? I intend to purchase the Hts 7201 model and I would like to know if this issue was examined and solved. Can you, please, refer any other drawbacks (if any) of the model?