PDA

View Full Version : Wifi Media Connect for Mac OSX



Crick
01-21-2012, 03:39 PM
Hello,

are there any plans by Philips to release a version of Wifi Media Connect for Mac OS X?

Philips - Thomas
01-23-2012, 10:01 AM
Hi Crick

no there are no plans to have this Software also for OSX.

Regards
Thomas

mike tv
01-27-2012, 03:35 PM
Not sure what WiFi Media Connect is but if its free DLNA software for the Mac you're after then there are a couple I know of: Serviio (http://www.serviio.org/) and PS3 Media Server (https://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/).
I have installed Serviio recently and its pretty easy to set up and has a good support froum. I haven't tried PS3 Media server yet but I'm planning on doing so.

There is also MediaTomb (http://mediatomb.cc/) but that might be a little more difficult to install on the Mac [it involves something called Fink]

classicmds
05-30-2012, 02:44 PM
Hi Crick

no there are no plans to have this Software also for OSX.

Regards
Thomas

Hi - I'm confused, as on this web page <http://www.usa.philips.com/c/televisions/4000-series-32-inch-class-po-32pfl4907_f7/prd/en/> it says that WiFi Media Connect is for both PC and MAC, but other things I've found say it is not available for MAC. Am I missing something? Thanks

Philips - Benedickte
05-30-2012, 03:09 PM
Hi - I'm confused, as on this web page <http://www.usa.philips.com/c/televisions/4000-series-32-inch-class-po-32pfl4907_f7/prd/en/> it says that WiFi Media Connect is for both PC and MAC, but other things I've found say it is not available for MAC. Am I missing something? Thanks

Hi,
I can understand you're confusion, I just want to inform you that the statement are meant for European models only, not US models.
I would advice you to contact your local costumer service.

Regards
Benedickte

classicmds
05-30-2012, 03:31 PM
Hi,
I can understand you're confusion, I just want to inform you that the statement are meant for European models only, not US models.
I would advice you to contact your local costumer service.

Regards
Benedickte


But the statement is made on the US website. This should be taken down or else it is false advertising.

Also, another moderator said specifically that "we do not program Software for specific country's and as long as Windows is the Main OS on the PC Market we will concentrate to deliver the Software to that Users."

<http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?4179-Media-Connect-on-a-Mac>

Philips - Alex
09-11-2012, 02:56 PM
classicmds - What Benedickte was refering to is that this Support Forum is only for the Euro Philips TVs. The USA TVs are a little differerent. Some of the Internet connected USA TVs do support MediaConnect for Mac. Please see this FAQ for more details on which models will work for Mac.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=US&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20120911155505_12.237.41.102&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=AEN&ctn=50PFL3807/F7&dct=FAQ&refnr=0093277&faqview=1

classicmds
09-11-2012, 03:53 PM
classicmds - What Benedickte was refering to is that this Support Forum is only for the Euro Philips TVs. The USA TVs are a little differerent. Some of the Internet connected USA TVs do support MediaConnect for Mac. Please see this FAQ for more details on which models will work for Mac.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=US&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20120911155505_12.237.41.102&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=AEN&ctn=50PFL3807/F7&dct=FAQ&refnr=0093277&faqview=1

Yes, but my point was that the main US website (not this forum) for these TVs has a blanket statement on its front page that it has MediaConnect for Mac which seems at best confusing, at worst misleading. Have a look, at http://www.usa.philips.com/c/televisions/32-inch-class-po-32pfl4907_f7/prd/en/

You can see it says "Connect your PC or MAC wirelessly to your television with Media Connect." It is a large, headline statement, and it appears to be wrong, or at least not universally applicable for US TVs. So I was simply asking: why is it there on the US site?!

I didn't realize this particular forum was only for Europe as I came here from the US support site, and don't see any mention of this being European only discussion.

classicmds
09-11-2012, 03:58 PM
Also, it seems from the statements made on these forums that this feature is not supported anywhere in the world.
In this forum, Benedicte stated about my enquiry about WiFi media connect for mac that: "I just want to inform you that the statement are meant for European models only, not US models.

And on another discussion thread on this forum, s/he has stated:

"For your information that WiFi Media Connect is not supported on Europe models. When it comes to USA models these are supported."

So...it is supported nowhere, but advertised everywhere?!