PDA

View Full Version : 32pfl4606 channel default audio setting issue



panamea
01-26-2012, 08:34 AM
Hi,

what i'm presenting below is a very annoying issue which obviously is a software bug: any channel (digital/analogic) has the worst available sound setting as default, that is for a digital channel between the dolby and "non-dolby" the latter is chosen, while for an analogic channel between stereo and mono the latter is chosen.
the option to change between them is deeply buried in the settings->channels menu, and you have to do it for each channel!!!

therefore, this is a very annoying issue...while the TV should automatically chose the best sound source for each channel, the user has to do it individually for each channel... imagine the trouble for a big number of channels > 100...and i don't even know if the setting is persistent.

Philips Support Team, can you please fix this obvious issue in a new firmware release? or maybe there is a setting i've missed that covers this issue?

BTW, the firmware i'm using is the latest available 2.18.

thank you beforehand.

Philips - Thomas
01-26-2012, 10:17 AM
Hi

who decides which is "the best". Dolby does mean that there is more details in the sound but does that mean that it is better then "normal" stereo?
For you personally, it seems so, for other it is not. So we leave it up to the User.

Regards
Thomas

panamea
01-26-2012, 12:09 PM
Hi Thomas,

Thank you for the answer. I find your explanation reasonable for the digital sound option, but please note that I never encountered a receiver that chooses stereo rather than dolby as default...so Philips must stand out from the crowd in this regard :).
Then, once the user decides which is the best option, shouldn't the choice be persistent? It is currently not, it is always the default!

How about the analog channel? You did not say anything about that...or there are users out there which find mono better then stereo?! Could be so, but then the option to chose from mono and stereo should not be buried in the menu and the option should be persistent (the persistency for analog sound option is something that i still have to check).

Looking forward for your answers, and maybe you can check before i do the persistency of analog sound option..

Regards,
Mike

Philips - Thomas
01-26-2012, 02:09 PM
Hi

like i said before, the only one who decides which is the best sound for the TV Show you watch right now is the User itself.
We can and will not say that "this option is the best so we make it default". Why does it not save the settings, simple, at least for the providers i know, every single TV Show has its own Sound-feeling, depending on that feeling i decide if Stereo, Dolby or even mono is the right one.
Experiencing Sound is a very personal thing, like experiencing Video.
So we don't go there and say whats the best for you, you have to decide that on your own, not only one time but always.

Regards
Thomas

panamea
01-26-2012, 02:29 PM
hi Thomas,

please do not make fun of the CUSTOMER!

what you are trying to say in the last reply is that if i watch channel no. 1, set the audio option to my desire, then change to channel no.2 and back to no.1 i have to set the audio option again to my desire.

"So we don't go there and say whats the best for you, you have to decide that on your own, not only one time but always."
are you kidding or what???
this setting has to be persistent, if not for all channels at least for the channel i set it for. this is the reason to have persistent settings: anytime the user needs to change an option is able to, but not be forced by the manufacturer when to do the actual change. right now, you are forcing me to change the option whenever i turn the tv on and/or change the channel!.

please provide a reasonable answer or forward this to your firmware engineer for further actions.

Thank you for understanding.

Regards,
Mike

Philips - Thomas
01-26-2012, 02:39 PM
Hi Mike,

that you don't understand or accept the answer does not mean that the answer is not reasonable.
You are not the only one who has a Philips TV so we take all the costumer needs into concideration on how we create our Television.
Im fine with your Opinion that there should be a preset, on the other way we also have costumers who say the there should not.
So, who gives you or someone else the right to decide whats good or bad for all Users?
None should do that so we dont do that and leave the choice to you, while watching TV.

Regards
Thomas

panamea
01-26-2012, 02:48 PM
Thomas, i don't want to start to argue, but your answer was really foolish. To prove it was not, please provide 1 (one) example of a setting that the user makes and it is ok for the product (tv in this case) to discard it by itself upon restart (or channel change back&forward for that matter).

How come the audio option is not persistent in this product, but the image settings are?!

For your information, I am a embedded software engineer and really do understand the purpose of persistent user information in an embedded product.

Thank you for understanding.

Toengel
01-26-2012, 03:29 PM
Hi,

I think you both are talking about some different things:

1) choose the best audio stream (in terms of "quality)
2) remember the setting of the choosen audio stream

=> 1)

Thomas is right, that no one can really say, what's the best. It's a personal descision.

=> 2)

panamea want an option that the TV safe the setting (the choosen audio stream). The TV seems not to remember the choosen setting. However, the TV remembers e.g. the image settings. Remember = restart TV and have the same setting as before restarting.

Hope this helps in your discussion ;-)

Toengel@Alex

Philips - Thomas
01-26-2012, 04:00 PM
Hi



panamea want an option that the TV safe the setting (the choosen audio stream). The TV seems not to remember the choosen setting. However, the TV remembers e.g. the image settings. Remember = restart TV and have the same setting as before restarting.


Well, for Video we are talking about (depending on the TV you got) ~10-35 settings.
For Audio we are talking about 2 Settings.

Sorry but i really don't see a Point here ;).

Again, I understand whats is requested but we also have a philosophy in creating our TVs and Menus, that "let the users decide".
So simple answer is, no such an option, will not come.

Regards
Thomas

panamea
01-26-2012, 04:17 PM
hi again,

i have further info on this issue (BUG) that will really help Philips decide if a fix is needed or not. i am simply asking you to pass this info further to your firmware engineering...

analog channel, option is buried in the settings->channel settings->languare->mono/stereo : this isa persistent setting, as Toengel mentioned kept between TV restarts and even channel browsing (OK).

digital channel, option is buried (less) in the options->audio language: this is not persistent at all, it is always the first option as default after channel browsing or TV restart (NOK).

this is rather a basic setting than a complex feature...fixing it will help me decide if to keep this new TV set or return it to the shop.

thank you for your support.

a_Tom
01-26-2012, 04:26 PM
i like to have no default audio option. there are lot of known problems on forward sound to hats, receivers whatever. that might does not bother you but it bothers me and other users so philips leave it like it is!

panamea
01-26-2012, 04:39 PM
i like to have no default audio option. there are lot of known problems on forward sound to hats, receivers whatever. that might does not bother you but it bothers me and other users so philips leave it like it is!

no disrespect a_Tom, but you did not understand what this post is about, you must read the entire thread...it is not about the default audio option (having or not having), it is about the user audio option being always the default on digital channels....so currently yes, there is a default enforced :)

my understanding is that you don't want a default option enforced, so you would support having a fix for this BUG.

a_Tom
01-26-2012, 04:50 PM
i would support having the audio options like they are now

easy enough for you to understand?

panamea
01-26-2012, 04:56 PM
i would support having the audio options like they are now

easy enough for you to understand?

it is very clear that you would like to have no improvements in the current software, which is different statement than your original post...let's keep a polite behavior on the support forum, shall we?

also, a fix for this BUG would not affect your default audio preference once you don't change it! so i see no point for your activity on this thread.

btw...this is a support forum, therefore the place for people to ask support team for help; if you want to help the people with your knowledge, you are free to do so, but please do not break the rules of this forum which you must have read carefully when you joined.

panamea
02-01-2012, 07:03 AM
hey Philips Support Team, do you have any update on the issue of TV not keeping the digital audio language setting?

Philips - Thomas
02-01-2012, 10:25 AM
Hi

you might want to have a look into my former Posts in this Thread?
f.e. this one (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?4295-32pfl4606-channel-default-audio-setting-issue&p=24182&viewfull=1#post24182)

Regards
Thomas

panamea
02-01-2012, 11:24 AM
hi Thomas,

under no doubt, what I am asking about is a BUG.

prove is that for analog channel the issue is non existent.

so you have to do something in the end, either fix it for digital or make it the same for analog.

i am not sure that you got what the issue is: the audio language setting, which is kept for analogic but erased for digital channel.

i really don't think that Philips's philosophy in creating TVs is to force the user into setup the TV every time it changes the channel...
so just do me a favor as your customer and forward this information to your firmware engineering, it should be sufficient and i would be satisfied:
the audio language setting, which is kept for analog but ERASED for digital channel.
TV model:32pfl4606, firmware version: 2.18 (latest)
thank you beforehand.

Regards,
Mike

panamea
02-09-2012, 12:40 PM
hi there,

for all users of digital broadcasts on this TV set, there is an option that can help workaround this BUG, just in the case that your digital channels do not have too many audio streams to chose from.
the option is deeply buried in the settings->channel settings->preferred audio language, first language option and second language option; by playing with them you might get the TV to chose the desired audio stream.

again, this is not a replacement for the fix of saving the audio language, not even a complete workaround, is just an option that can help reduce the inconvenience of not having the fix (e.g. if you have >3 audio streams for a channel it wont help in automatically choosing the one other than set in the above mentioned options).

Regards,
Mike