PDA

View Full Version : Poll: Now/next box when zapping



Erikrijnders
02-02-2012, 08:37 PM
Do you want a now/next box when zapping on your 2010-model Philips tv like on all other brandmarks nowadays ?

matthias
02-03-2012, 06:06 AM
I'd actually like to have it on my 2011 model as well.

Maybe Philips can just offer something like a plugin-interface, where people can download additional functionality from external sources. This would allow others to develop functions like this, and Philips would not run into patenting/licensing issues.

IronJack
02-03-2012, 08:28 AM
definetly something that i really want and would much appreciated (i think its really usefull)

theflyer1972
02-03-2012, 09:30 AM
forget it, philips never implement this function for 2010 models

Leonos
02-03-2012, 10:45 AM
Nor will it be on the 2011 and future TV's.

Get an external receiver for watching your digital channels.

smart
02-03-2012, 11:43 AM
As far as I know, this was removed/is not available because of patent issues.

I did a search and found this one:
http://www.google.com/patents/US5343300

Seems that Thompson is owning this patent.
As referenced in the U.S. patent, there are european patents, which should gate us here. But I did not find any information on them.

The US one was filed in Nov 1991 and the date of patent is Aug 1994. Wikipedia says, the maximum lifetime for patents is 20 years in german right. So not sure if the patent will last until 2014 or if it ended last year.

Does anybody have some knowledge on it?

Would it be possible for Philips to activate that feature with the ending of the patent? Something like: prepare the functionality in the background and activate it on ending of the patent lifetime.

Goforit
02-04-2012, 04:03 PM
i have choosed YES. I dont want to hear about patent issues. i dont care because no other brands make problems about that and offer the now/next box.

IronJack
02-05-2012, 07:59 AM
i have choosed YES. I dont want to hear about patent issues. i dont care because no other brands make problems about that and offer the now/next box.

totally agree. I've got a small and cheap Telefunken and yeah it got it too. And a 52' brand new philips it doesnt......dont think its pretty normal.

westpaket
02-05-2012, 10:33 AM
oh damn,
i bought a tv without this fuction ...
i'm nut's.
:mad:
greatings

bmandersen
02-05-2012, 08:27 PM
I vote yes.

I’m pretty sure Philips have their share of patented cheep obtained “inventions” that they milks their rivals with.

Eugène
02-12-2012, 07:09 PM
Yes Yes Yes
Incredible that Philips does not support it. Every other brand does.
Because of this i don't buy any Philips product anymore. I just don't thrust them anymore.

Nettle
02-21-2012, 10:53 PM
This is maybe the oldest feature that we "beg" for our Philips TV in this forum!

Regards

Philips - Thomas
03-02-2012, 02:51 PM
Hi Guys

I'm sorry to say but I have to inform you that this function will not come anymore.
We have decided not to work on this feature anymore for actual or "older" sets, so we can put as much effort as we have into our new ranges and major updates for the actual TV's.
I know this is sad for all of you, but we had to make decisions. I guess you will understand that this function is not critical for the use of the TV while others are, and there we need to focus on.

Regards
Thomas

Nettle
03-02-2012, 04:29 PM
Dear Thomas,

you're missing to report the reason of this decision.

Royalties or what?

Honestly I was not confident at all (and many other forumers too) in a different end of this saga.

Where're begging it since years and the realization is, you'll be agree with me, trivial!

Deeply disappointed! :mad:

Regards

aard01
03-02-2012, 05:09 PM
Geen Now-Next informatie..... Ongelofelijk!!

Philips WAKKER WORDEN!!!

Waarom heeft mijn simpele Samsung Settop box (en ook alle andere TV's) dit wel??????

Lassy
03-02-2012, 05:37 PM
Philips has been lacking in customer relations lately.
I've lost my faith completely and I'll never ever going to buy a Philips product again.
And no, this is not just because this basic feature is missing on this pricy TV.
Philips acts way too cocky and thinks customers will remain loyal.
Other brands are trying to help out their clients with all kinds of updates, even on their older models.
Philips is just thinking about their profits which has been disappointing in the last view years. Guess why...:rolleyes:

Eugène
03-02-2012, 06:57 PM
Philips sucks. But i already said that before. But now philips confirms that.
No more Philips for me anymore.:mad:

Erikrijnders
03-02-2012, 07:26 PM
Hi Guys

I'm sorry to say but I have to inform you that this function will not come anymore.
We have decided not to work on this feature anymore for actual or "older" sets, so we can put as much effort as we have into our new ranges and major updates for the actual TV's.
I know this is sad for all of you, but we had to make decisions. I guess you will understand that this function is not critical for the use of the TV while others are, and there we need to focus on.

Regards
Thomas

THIS IS TOTAL LACK OF COSTUMER CARE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DAMN! I BOUGHT A VERY VERY VERY EXPENSIVE TV AND I EXPECT THIS FEATURE ON MY 2010 TV.
This is total arrongance on the part of Phllips, reason I will never ever buy a philips tv again.

No way in hell Philips can do this to their customers. This is a feature that should be working on this kind of expensive tv, and I expect it to be there. If this wasnot mentioned in this forom two years ago, i would think Philips didnot know that customers want this feature. But donot come two years later that you are not willing to implement it as there have been a lot of complaint in this forum about this ESSENTIAL missing feature.

WE DEMAND IT. This feature should be on this tv in the first place, as I expected it to be on board when I bought the tv (because every brand has it). So when it doesnot function I think I have the right to exchange the tv with Philips for a 2012 tv which does have it on board.

AND YES THIS IS A CRITICAL FUNCTION BECAUSE EVERY TV OFF ALL OTHER BRANDS HAVE IT. If it wasnot a criticalo function we wouldnot have to SCREAM AND BEG for it in all these two years. Look at all reactions and questions about this feature on this forum AND YOU KNOW THIS IS CRITICAL for A LOT OF customers. So donot talk shit and MAKE THINGS BETTER. So we donot understand this decision because its a total wrong one and a prove of you ignorance, arrogance and total lack of customer care.

Nettle
03-03-2012, 08:04 AM
Hi Guys

I'm sorry to say but I have to inform you that this function will not come anymore.
We have decided not to work on this feature anymore for actual or "older" sets, so we can put as much effort as we have into our new ranges and major updates for the actual TV's.

Regards
Thomas

Sorry Thomas,

one clarification more: are you meaning that the 2013 Philips TV families will be equipped with the now/next feature and the older families not ????????

If yes, this is not a "royalties" reason, isn't it?

If you decide to insert this feature in the next tv Philips models (N.B. only software, not HW implementation in it for sure), it means that the "now/next" feature is not trivial for you.

Now/Next feautre is considered important from Philips to offer a competitive product that could leave the customer satisfied (and not envious of the LG, Samsung, Panasonic, etc... flat screens of the neighbors), isn't it?

Are we (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012) Philips TV purchaser so insignificant?

Which is thew reason of this scandalous decision?

Please give us a feedback on it.

Thanks. Regards

IronJack
03-03-2012, 09:56 AM
Shame about that.
We were asking something not impossible. Also with the latest upgrades we havent seen anything new (except fixing something broken with another upgrade).

So can we finally see something usefull and/or important in the future upgrades? One of those would be the one in the thread. Please consider that another time.

Thanks

Goforit
03-03-2012, 11:17 AM
I am not suprised, i already discovered Philips is a stupid company.

No more Philips TV for me again.

Bye.

matthias
03-04-2012, 05:56 PM
I'm sorry to say but I have to inform you that this function will not come anymore.
We have decided not to work on this feature anymore for actual or "older" sets, so we can put as much effort as we have into our new ranges and major updates for the actual TV's.


Too bad, but I think it's good to concentrate on things which cannot easily be added through remote Jointspace.

Still, with an extension to the remote Jointspace API, this could still be realized by a third party, e.g. by running a program on an external box (PC, DSL router, IPhone, ...).

The problem is, two basic functions are still missing to realize this:
1) Remotely listening to events/key presses to catch key presses&channel change events
2) Showing an overlay without stealing the focus of the current application or possibility to pass events to the underlying window.

Thomas, could you please pass this request to the Remote-Jointspace dev. team?
(see also here (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?4870-Feat.Req-Enable-Action-listener-and-Overlay-without-Focus))

Erikrijnders
03-04-2012, 06:12 PM
Too bad, but I think it's good to concentrate on things which cannot easily be added through remote Jointspace.

Still, with an extension to the remote Jointspace API, this could still be realized by a third party, e.g. by running a program on an external box (PC, DSL router, IPhone, ...).

The problem is, two basic functions are still missing to realize this:
1) Remotely listening to events/key presses to catch key presses&channel change events
2) Showing an overlay without stealing the focus of the current application or possibility to pass events to the underlying window.

Thomas, could you please pass this request to the Remote-Jointspace dev. team?
(see also here (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?4870-Feat.Req-Enable-Action-listener-and-Overlay-without-Focus))

This is no pattent-question at all as in all other tv's of all other brands this function is there in the software. Philips must deliver this within the new software. We demand this for two years now, tis time Philips comes to action instead of ignoring us.

Nettle
03-04-2012, 06:17 PM
it's good to concentrate on things which cannot easily be added through remote Jointspace.


Sorry Mathias but what Philips is claiming is only a palliative in my opinion: the now/next feature is trivial to be added and the effort necessary was nothing compared to other issues.

Several forumers were asking for it from the beginning of this forum.

Considering the the 2009-2010 models don't have several features (due to different hardware implementation) as usb recording and external keyboard, etc.. the now/next rejection for out TV models sounds like a pure teasing.

Furthermore the now/next feature will be added to the recent Philips 2013 models. Second teasing! Besides insult to injury.

The reason is only "business" without additional justifications (sorry, regretfully, etc...).

The Philips managers should seriously consider the benefits that this decision will lead to brand reputation.

For sure it's sinking.

Regards

cyberstorm
03-04-2012, 09:26 PM
So guys this is the demonstration that what customers says = 0.
What would you expect? You have given your precious $$$ to philips, they already took it and they are happy of this.
Adding a new feature to existing customers will not increase their earning :)

Just spread this behaviour of Philips on all the TV forum...tell the people Philips just wants your money not your satisfaction.

k_ralf
03-05-2012, 06:30 AM
Hello,

I'm really disappointed that this very useful functionality will not be implemented for the 2011 models. A lot of other TV's and receivers are offering this "now/next" informations since a long time ago.

So please Philips, change your decision and give us an update with this functionality.

Regards
Ralf

matthias
03-05-2012, 07:01 AM
The Philips managers should seriously consider the benefits that this decision will lead to brand reputation.
For sure it's sinking.


Agreed.
But in my opinion, there are worse decisions than that.
I've sort of given up on PHilips when I read that most of the new 2012 model will replace the current matt/nonglare panels with glare Samsung&LG panel (src (http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/Philips-Fernsehsparte-stellt-sich-neu-auf-1437015.html)).

For me, the reason to buy a Philips was Ambilight and the matt panel (I hate the reflections on the Samsung).
And I thought of upgrading my Philips once the new 6007 series is out - but I won't do that with a glare panel.
I'll just keep my 7606 for now and hope to get at least the stuff working for this one and maybe more hooks to add own stuff. I have the feeling, we'll never see a file sorting, reliable USB recording and a stable media player for 1920x1080 content on 2011 TVs before Philips drops bug fixing and support for 2011 TVs.

My only hope is that Philips left a path open to shell access to at least have something to play around with. But from what I've seen so far, Philips put A LOT of work in securing Linux on the PNX. I wish they had put their effort on stability and UI instead. Or Now/Next.

hihiman
03-05-2012, 05:38 PM
...I guess you will understand that this function is not critical for the use of the TV
Sorry this not a critical but is a basic function (like displaying the actual channel)! And it is working well in 2009 series TV-sets.

This is definetly not the way of satisfying consumers needs! The competitors will be happy about rising sales!!!

Nettle
03-05-2012, 06:57 PM
I guess you will understand that this function is not critical for the use of the TV.

Regards
Thomas


"Excusatio non petita, accusatio manifesta". :mad:

Erikrijnders
03-05-2012, 07:07 PM
Sorry this not a critical but is a basic function (like displaying the actual channel)! And it is working well in 2010 series TV-sets.

This is definetly not the way of satisfying consumers needs! The competitors will be happy about rising sales!!!

Indeed. Philips must not think we will buy a 2013 tv set because that one has a now/nect function. I HAVE HAD IT WITH PHILIPS, AND AFTER THIS SADNING AND VERY DISAPPOINTING NEWS I WILL NEVER EVER BUY A PHILIPS TV AGAIN! THIS IS NO CUSTUMER CARE AT ALL!

This is a prove that Philips doesnot listen to their customers. Total arrogance, ingnorance and lack of customer care.

PHILIPS RETHINK TIS BECAUSE THIS IS NO WAY TO TREAT A CUSTOMER THAT SPENT A LOT OF MONEY FOR A TV SET THAT DOESNOT HAVE THE CRITIVAL AND BASIC FUNCTION OF A NOW/NEXT BOX WHEN ZAPPING!

petasis
03-05-2012, 07:55 PM
A sad decision to hear, but I am not surprised any more. For almost two years now, Philips has failed to enable DVB-T EPG for Greece, despite my many complains.

Having upgraded my TV with all firmware updates, I don't remeber any real improvement. There was a change in NetTV, and a few countries got a DVB-T update, but apart from that, nothing new.

This suggests that, if something does not work as expected when you buy a product, don't expect that it will be fixed. Even if it is a simple software fix...

Erikrijnders
03-10-2012, 08:26 AM
Well well, and now we have to much critisism, Philips is deleting posts they donot want to see on this forum (read the annoucement).

Is this the way Philips is going to act now? Delete wat you donot want to hear ?

We are upset abouw this disicion, but Philips doesnot seem to understand !!! What kind of manufactuerer and producent is Philips ???? Certainly not one that understands their custumers.

Erikrijnders
03-10-2012, 08:27 AM
http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/list_messages/1387831/last

Philips read this forum also.

Toengel
03-10-2012, 08:30 AM
Hi,

they deleted SPAM messages. Yesterday evening (and the days before) we had massive Philips unrelated posts/threats.

Toengel@Alex

Toengel
03-11-2012, 05:58 PM
Hi,

the interessting thing is, that on 2009 devices Now/Next is working (e.g. 32PFL8404H/12 with FW Q5481-0.26.75.0).

Toengel@Alex

Nettle
03-11-2012, 07:13 PM
Hi,

the interessting thing is, that on 2009 devices Now/Next is working (e.g. 32PFL8404H/12 with FW Q5481-0.26.75.0).

Toengel@Alex

Dear Toengel,

are you meaning that in the 2009 models you don't need to access to the submenus to watch the program actually transmitted (as 2010-11 models need to do)?

If yes I would say "shameful". :mad:

Regards

Toengel
03-12-2012, 06:59 AM
Hi,

I'm not sure with the Firmware version, however, the changelog states the following of the mentioned TV:

Q5481_0. 26.33.15

To disable Now and Next program banner after channel change. This is a new EPG
(Electronic Programme Guide) requirement.

Toengel@Alex

Nettle
03-12-2012, 09:02 AM
This fact shows that the Philips Decision "2010-2011 TV models without now/next feature, 2009 and 2012 models with it" is a pure mockery.

Shameful for the Philips brand recognition!

hihiman
03-15-2012, 05:05 AM
Hi,

the interessting thing is, that on 2009 devices Now/Next is working (e.g. 32PFL8404H/12 with FW Q5481-0.26.75.0).

Toengel@Alex
Hi,
Yes - Toengel got the information from me. My Brother-in-law has the named 32PFL8404H/12 and he ALWAYS gets information about the actual broacast (time from - time till & Title) approx. 2 sec. after switching the channel in the headline of the screen.

I feel very disappointed as already posted in Toengels blog (in German) because I believe that the function is meanwhile state of the art and not a "uncritical functional" which is not worth to work on. The 2009 series shows that Philips had already a working alternative!

Every No-Name SAT-receiver has the function mostly even with a column to visualize the remaining playing time. It is definately a shame not to offer such a function. Why do I need a triple receiver, if I still have to use my external receiver to use the Now/next function???

Best regards
HiHiMan

gad
03-18-2012, 08:53 AM
I have been waiting eagerly for this functionality for 2 years now!

To find out that Philips won't be providing such an easy to add feature, is absurd and preposterous!

I have been buying Philips TVs for the last 30 years and most of my home electronics products are from Philips:
- Many TVs (highest end)
- Pronto remote - most expensive model
- DVD Recorders (high end)
- Speaker sets
- PC Monitors
- LivingColour Lights
- LivingAmbiance Lights
- Beard Trimmers
and the list goes on.

I used to be a very big Philips fan!

Also I have a very influential business position where people regularly ask me which TV to buy.
My recommendations result in hundreds of sales.

This recent decision, of Philips, to completely ignore us, is the final straw!

Unless Philips reconsiders this decision, I will not ever buy a Philips product again, nor recommend a Philips product ever again.
I will turn my back and will go to Korean/Japanese manufacturers that seem to care more.

I have sent hundreds of thousands of euros worth of sales to Philips, but these stop here and now!!!

I have had enough!


I suggest the following:

An online petition is started to loudly voice our complete and utter disgust with this decision, to the Philips management.
A letter is drafted explaining our position and intense disappointment. This letter can then be signed and send by ordinary post to Philips Headquarters by each and every member here who are upset with this.

Nettle
03-18-2012, 06:10 PM
I have been waiting eagerly for this functionality for 2 years now!

To find out that Philips won't be providing such an easy to add feature, is absurd and preposterous!

I have been buying Philips TVs for the last 30 years and most of my home electronics products are from Philips:
- Many TVs (highest end)
- Pronto remote - most expensive model
- DVD Recorders (high end)
- Speaker sets
- PC Monitors
- LivingColour Lights
- LivingAmbiance Lights
- Beard Trimmers
and the list goes on.

I used to be a very big Philips fan!

Also I have a very influential business position where people regularly ask me which TV to buy.
My recommendations result in hundreds of sales.

This recent decision, of Philips, to completely ignore us, is the final straw!

Unless Philips reconsiders this decision, I will not ever buy a Philips product again, nor recommend a Philips product ever again.
I will turn my back and will go to Korean/Japanese manufacturers that seem to care more.

I have sent hundreds of thousands of euros worth of sales to Philips, but these stop here and now!!!

I have had enough!


I suggest the following:

An online petition is started to loudly voice our complete and utter disgust with this decision, to the Philips management.
A letter is drafted explaining our position and intense disappointment. This letter can then be signed and send by ordinary post to Philips Headquarters by each and every member here who are upset with this.




Agree! :mad:

sony66
04-11-2012, 07:50 AM
It would be nice if philips releases a SDK so we can develop these features ourselves.

Michel.

matthias
04-11-2012, 09:34 AM
Well, there is at least the beginning of an SDK. If you look at the OIPF specifications (Volume 5 - Declarative Application Environment) and on www.yourappontv.com, you'll find it should be possible.

Unfortunately, it seems DAE is not fully supported according to standard, or Opera doesn't allow this by default. I think, the commands are there, because I guess IP-EPG is implemented that way.

I tried the ITV test suite from mit-xperts, and playing video and stuff works fine, but access to TV functions (get/set channels & lists, USB recordings, time shift, access to DNLA functions, etc) does not work.

It seems the default Opera Internet widget blocks access to these functions or they are not implemented or documented.
Using JSON is also not possible for the same reason - XMLHttpRequest/POST cannot be used for cross-site access (localhost and Now/Next-App server) without relaxed security settings in the widget.

Philips would have explicitely allow Cross-Host scripting for the NetTV widget, or allow us to define our own widget configs.

It's really a shame we have such a nice TV and platform but not the appropriate access to do cool things with it.

Matthias