PDA

View Full Version : Problems with HDMI connection



Per
02-20-2012, 10:14 AM
I have a PFL479732D/10 (SW: Q581E-064.14.22) that has always worked just fine. I have now bought a new primary TV set, and moved my PFL47 to the childrens' room where they play Xbox and watch DVDs. Since I have connected more gadgets (the Xbox) I am for the first time using all 3 HDMIs on the TV. And this has rendered some problems.

Here is how I have connected things:


HDMI 1: Philips HTS8100 (DVD / home theatre system), my reason for choosing HDMI 1 for this is that HDMI 1 has audio sync, I have earlier had problems with severe async when watching DVDs via this HTS8100 on this TV.
HDMI 2: Digital set-top box (Sagemcom RT90-160 HD).
HDMI 3: Xbox 360.


The problem occurs when I try to watch my digital set-top box. When switching to HDMI 2 the TV just displays a bright blue screen. First when I turn on the Xbox (just power it on, no changing input on TV) the signals from the set-top box reaches the TV. But then with the wrong scaling (4:3, 16:9, auto etc.) / resolutions. And when I turn the Xbox off the blue screen comes back again.

I have switched locations between the set-top box and the Xbox (HDMI 2 vs. HDMI 3) but the problem stays. I have not wanted to connect either the set-top box or the Xbox to HDMI 1 since I want the audio sync for my DVD.

Any ideas what can be wrong? I'm normally quite good at error resolution on my own, but this one beats me.

Thanks in advance.

Philips - Thomas
02-22-2012, 09:23 AM
Hi



•HDMI 1: Philips HTS8100 (DVD / home theatre system), my reason for choosing HDMI 1 for this is that HDMI 1 has audio sync, I have earlier had problems with severe async when watching DVDs via this HTS8100 on this TV.


Sorry but i really dont know which Option your referr to...

Regards
Thomas

Per
02-22-2012, 09:49 AM
Sorry, I confused things. The HDMI 1 input is just another HDMI input just like HDMI 2 and HDMI 3. The audio sync confusion stems from the digital audio output that sits next to HDMI 1 (with the label "audio sync").

The problem is however the same regardless of where I put my gadgets (I have tried all combinations). The signals from the set-top box doesn't reach the TV unless:

I power up the home theatre system OR the Xbox (i.e. having these powered on somehows activates the set-top box HDMI)
Or I pull out the HDMI cables for the home theatre system OR the set-yop box from the TV


Having the other HDMI cables connected (while the´gadgets are switched off).

Ideas on solutions?

Per
02-22-2012, 10:41 AM
What about making a full factory reset of my TV, would that change anything?

Philips - Thomas
02-22-2012, 11:06 AM
Hi

the only thing you could do is to make sure that xbox and receiver and not connected to the same power outlet.
Also you should make sure that you have all devices up to date.
If that does not help either i can not help you further, sorry.

Regards
Thomas