PDA

View Full Version : IP-EPG: Speed improvement with increased usage?



smart
03-01-2012, 11:18 AM
Hello,

I read the message: "The IP-EPG is solved. The more frequent you use it, the faster and better the performance gets."

I would be interested in the performance increase by frequent usage. Was there some caching implemented on EPG servers? Was the website improved to allow better caching in the net? Is the caching on the TV improved?
What gives the speed increase when it is used more often?

Can you give a glimpse on that? I'm interested in the technical aspects.

Any other ideas, what might have been done?

Thanks and Greets

Niels
03-01-2012, 06:00 PM
Hello,

I read the message: "The IP-EPG is solved. The more frequent you use it, the faster and better the performance gets."

I would be interested in the performance increase by frequent usage. Was there some caching implemented on EPG servers? Was the website improved to allow better caching in the net? Is the caching on the TV improved?
What gives the speed increase when it is used more often?

Can you give a glimpse on that? I'm interested in the technical aspects.

Any other ideas, what might have been done?

Thanks and Greets

I was also triggered by this message.
I do not expect caching in the TV is improved. Shouldn't that require new TV Firmware?

Hopefully the servers can deal with all the traffic this message causes!
Or we will soon see the message: 'server too busy' :)

Niels

Philips - Mark
03-02-2012, 02:13 AM
At frequent use, (> once a week), the TV will always automatically load the first 3 pages with IP-EPG program data in the background when the TV is active. It will keep the pages standby and up to date.
This will give you fast access to the IP-EPG.

miro9000
03-02-2012, 07:17 AM
Great improvement !! Now i can see faster than ever this sentences : No imformation and Search the channel. Wow!

smart
03-02-2012, 07:29 AM
I just used the EPG, maybe it was a really low load time, but the speed to navigate between the pages was amazing. This is really a good improvement. EPG is much more fluent and speedy.
So there is kind of caching enabled on the TV.

Erikrijnders
03-02-2012, 01:45 PM
No improvement in the Netherlands. info of 90% of the channels is still not there. Loads of channels are not available or incorrect. When is this solved ?????????????????

Edgar
03-02-2012, 03:44 PM
At frequent use, (> once a week), the TV will always automatically load the first 3 pages with IP-EPG program data in the background when the TV is active. It will keep the pages standby and up to date.
This will give you fast access to the IP-EPG.

What means "TV is active"? Live viewing TV or is "TV active" also during recording. For example during a 3 week holiday you will do a recording lets say once a week. Is there an improvement of the recording function with the new cache-function?

Niels
03-02-2012, 05:21 PM
No improvement in the Netherlands. info of 90% of the channels is still not there. Loads of channels are not available or incorrect. When is this solved ?????????????????

Erik, are you sure? I am in the Netherlands too and my IPG shows information for NL 1 to 3, RTL 4, 5, 7, SBS 6, Net 5, etc. No problems at the moment.

I am not completely convinced about the speed improvement due to caching.
The first time I started the EPG today it took quite some time, but later it is faster.

Niels

Erikrijnders
03-02-2012, 06:27 PM
Erik, are you sure? I am in the Netherlands too and my IPG shows information for NL 1 to 3, RTL 4, 5, 7, SBS 6, Net 5, etc. No problems at the moment.

I am not completely convinced about the speed improvement due to caching.
The first time I started the EPG today it took quite some time, but later it is faster.

Niels

Well what about the following channels:
RTL Lounge
RTL Crime
Eredivisie Live 1, 2, 3 and 4
Film 1 Premiere (Dutch version)
Film 1 Series (Duch version)
Film 1 Action (Dutch version)
Film 1 Sundance (Dutch version)
HBO-channels (Dutch version)
TV OOST
TV Gelderland
101TV
Best24
Cultura
Zappelin24
Geschiedenis24
HollandDoc24
13th Street (Dutch version)
SciFy Universal (Dutch version)
Foxlive HD (Dutch version)
PebbleTV
Animal Planet AND TLC (Dutch Version)
Nickelodeon (Dutch version)
Comedy Central (Dutch version)
Comedy Central Family (Dutch version)
OUTTV
BravaNL
Nick Toons
JimJam (Dutch version)
TV538
192TV
Sport 1 Channels (Dutch)

Where are the channels and the program info ????
So indeed 90% of te channels and the info of those channels are not there

Niels
03-02-2012, 09:34 PM
Erik, you must have a lot of free time to watch all these channels ;)

I guess you are right that all this channel is not available, but:
1) I doubt Philips is able to arrange this, since they provide the EPG, not the content
2) Far over 90% of the customers that buy a Philips TV with EPG are satisfied with the current content (people I know do not even use it, or only use it for about 10 channels (NL 1/2/3 RTL 4/5/7, etc)

Niels

Erikrijnders
03-03-2012, 07:45 AM
Erik, you must have a lot of free time to watch all these channels ;)

I guess you are right that all this channel is not available, but:
1) I doubt Philips is able to arrange this, since they provide the EPG, not the content
2) Far over 90% of the customers that buy a Philips TV with EPG are satisfied with the current content (people I know do not even use it, or only use it for about 10 channels (NL 1/2/3 RTL 4/5/7, etc)

Niels
I donot agree with you. When you service an EPG it must be complete.

miro9000
03-03-2012, 09:26 AM
I donot agree with you. When you service an EPG it must be complete.
I agree with you Erik. My TV is Philips, and the EPG is Philips, I donīt blame to third parts.
And, Niels, I am also a rare user that likes to have information about the all the channels broadcast. We are four people at home with very diferent likes. The ten percent of info is not enough for us

Sundancer
03-03-2012, 10:57 AM
Erik, Miro same annoying problem here.
Niels, I don't care if 90% of the users only watch 10% of the channels.

I bought a Philips tv with Philips EPG, so i expect this to work properly.
The IP-EPG system is useless with only 10% info on all channels available.

So Philips, get your act together and solve this problem, please.

smart
03-03-2012, 01:12 PM
Hello,

I have opened this thread to discuss and talk about the announced speed improvement, the user experience with that changed behaviour and applied technical insides.

I can fully understand, that many people might be annoyed, if the IP-EPG content is missing on their end. But I don't think, you all should spam every thread with that problem. I'm asking me, why I read so many posts on that missing content again in a thread who has a completely different dedication.

So please, if there is content missing on your side in the IP-EPG: Open a thread for that topic and issue in case there is none open until now. Use the threads dedicated to that topic and keep posting there.

In case you want to post regarding the speed improvement, please feel free to do so!

To make it short: Back to topic!

Greets

DerShortyy
03-03-2012, 05:07 PM
Hi smart,
i can not confirm speed improvement of the IP-EPG. Maybe its related to the speed of my internet connection ( only 6 Mbit/s)